We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esmeralda Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Plantation(Orient Bay)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Orient Resort(Orient Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Orient Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alamanda Resort(Orient Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Privilege Resort(Anse Marcel)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
165
174
52
30
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
174
52
30
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco beach barprivate poolastrolabe restaurantgrand caseorient beachbeach boysindividual poolsst martincroissantssuperior roomcontinental breakfastmain restaurantonsite restaurantthe air conditioninglaid backcloser to the beachate there twice
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 432 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2017 via mobile

This is a unique resort on the French side of St.Martin. It is comprised of a group of individual buildings each housing 4 units with their own pool. I believe there are 18 buildings over a few acres. In the middle of the compound is a restaurant which provides breakfasts and also open for dinners.
The individual units are clean and spacious and we noticed a few upgrades have been done since last year. The units have a small kitchenette with fridge and microwave and sink however with so many places to eat we have never used this facility.
Guests of Esmeralda have access to lounges on Coco Beach. The beach is at one end of Orient Beach, well known to the cruise ships. A 10 minute walk gets you to shopping, restaurants, and water activities.
We have always rented a car but you don't really need one as Esmeralda is a 10 minute walk to the village which has approximately a dozen different restaurants to choose from, all of them my favourite !
With a car you have about a 10 minute drive to Grand Case, which is an old fishing village that has about two dozen restaurants and some shopping. It is always so hard to choose a restaurant. If you are a "foodie ", this trip is a must.
Esmeralda always has it's fair share of feral cats hanging around and I'm a sucker for feeding them.
My only complaint would be the lack of electric plugs in the bathroom. Very hard for a woman to get ready for a night out when she can't use her hair utensils!
I believe this is our 10th year back at Esmeralda , and looking ahead to more. We have never been disappointed.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CanadianBeachFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudie N, General Manager at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

we thank you very much for your nice comments this will help a lot of futur guests.
for electric plug in bathrooms, French laws are very strict, it's the reason why we cannot have 220 volts in bathrooms.

we our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

We stayed at Club Orient and was not impressed with our stay there. After staying at the Esmeralda Resort we found that there is a much better place to stay to be close to the orient beach and be nude. Although Esmeralda is not a nude resort, they are open minded.... They also have TVs in the rooms (helps a lot for rainy days), very clean rooms, pleasant employees to greet you, and a fabulous breakfast that comes with your stay. We will return for a longer visit next time.

Stayed: April 2017
2  Thank Sindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudie N, General Manager at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

thank vou very much for your kind comments. you are welcome to come back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2017 via mobile

Not a 5-star hotel, but a good place to stay if you want the French side of the island. Centrally located, convenient to Grand Case and Orleans, and the ferries at Oyster Pond and Marigot.
The grounds and facilities are in need of a bit of TLC to make it a lot nicer, but all in all it's good. Yes, Eli is very cheerful and helpful, always smiling, and a true wealth of information on any question. The nicest person we met on the French side!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017

As soon as we landed in St. Maarten (Dutch side), we felt welcomed. The shuttle was waiting for us to take us to The Esmeralda (we paid ahead of time for the shuttle.) When arriving at Esmeralda, we were immediately welcomed by Eli in the reception area. He checked us in and gave us directions and advice to where to have dinner. This resort is quiet and so relaxing. We loved having our own swimming pool to come back to after a day at the beach. Whenever, we had a question or a concern Eli was awesome to work with. The rooms are a nice size with small kitchenettes. The beach is just a short 5 minute walk. We ate the free (it was good) continental breakfast each morning. (Which included a fruit cup, bread and juice. You could eggs and other items for a small fee) Since returning home, people have asked, would you go back..Absolutely!! Loved it!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank bobbik8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2017

First and foremost: The staff. The front desk is usually staffed by only one person, and for the times we had the most questions it was Eliu who attended us. He serves as the receptionist, operator, concierge and shop clerk. He manages to do all of the above exceptionally well, which is rare in the hospitality industry. He has managed to plan out all of our dinners (including a last minute birthday dinner) and day trips while being attuned to whether we looked exhausted or awake enough for a full day trip or half day, dinner in another town or local on the beach. We have travelled A LOT and have yet to see hotel staff of this caliber anywhere else.

The hotel is sprawled out on the northern section of Orient Beach.
Rooms: designed as small private cottages. They each have a coffee maker, small fridge, sink, glassware (including wine and champagne glasses), silverware, bottle openers (love the priorities!). The lovely front porch walks out to the small pool in front of the cottage. There is seemingly little shade. The rooms have been updated with french colonial chic furniture and art, coupled with unexpected Hansgrofe bathroom fixtures (think rainshower and shower wand in bathroom). Despite the updates, they kept details like the original door key (no cards) which resemble more of a melee weapon or a preview of the beach (see pics).

Breakfast: if you are a member of the no carb left behind club this is for you. Protein will cost you extra. (see pics)

Towels: you get a card for each towel if not returned it is $30 per towel.

maid service: came every day. They did have some beaten up baskets in which they carted the linens around that could use updating or burning?

grounds: the cottages all face quaint gardens with palm trees , flower bushes, cacti, cacti with flowers, and chirping birds. One sounded like a squeaky door and the immense ruckus came out of a tiny sparrow sized yellow bird. We saw tons of dragonflies and hummingbirds. The cats are adorable and friendly. Cute little whimsical details in the gardens that make it look like a drunk Frenchman has been decorating it with sea shells at night.

Beach: it is partnered up with Coco Beach restaurant. The beach chairs with an umbrella are free for hotel guests. The full cabana is $17 euros. The cabana has no curtain on its back end so when the sun sets in the afternoon you will get direct sun on your face and back. A Beach pareo hung on the back would remedy that. You can charge drinks and food directly to the hotel. We brought water shoes and did not need it on this beach. The water can get a bit rough as you do face the atlantic. The one gripe I have is there is no place to wash the sand off the feet once entering the resort back form teh beach- which you inevitably end up carrying into the room. huge pet peeve...

transport- any taxi to and from airport is $35. most destinations on island are $20. there is ample parking at hotel.

Nearby: Orient Village has a small supermarket and and small shopping cul de sac with several great restaurants. We ate at La piment (Eliu's recommendation) and had what was one of the best steaks in our life. The beach has a fantastic little silver jewelry shop - Sexy fruits- at the southern end of the beach. We haven't encountered any beach vendors.
The hotel shop has 1-2 types of red and white wine, some rum and votka with a couple of different types of juices. if you get creative you can actually make a good drink out of the store contents.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank diverUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudie N, General Manager at Esmeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

we thank you very much for your descriptive comments. this will help a lot of guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews