We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
35
16
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
16
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking facilities are basic large tv living room pool area meters tavernas
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 58 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2017

We paid just under £1K for 2 weeks accomdation, for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Apartments are probably a little cramped for families of our size and our (118) patio area was rather small. Friends stayed in apartment above us (218) and had a larger patio. Cooking facilities are basic, but enough to do a couple of nights in where you don't want anything to fancy i.e. spag boll. Aircon a bit tired and takes a while to get going and can be a bit noisy. They did try to fix it but id didn't make much difference. Cleaning was excellent, done everyday bar Sunday. Pool is compact, but is clean and good enough to cool off in. We found that if you rent 2 beds + parasol on the beach (5 euros) you can use the lovely swimming pool at Marinos Hotel. The combination of the beach, our compact pool and the Marinos pool was just about spot on. Staff seemed friendly enough and the bar area had a nice atmosphere in the evening and severed cocktails and desserts. Nice ice cream parlour directly across the road. Lots of restaurants near by and all pretty good. Decent supermarket just a couple of mins away. All in all quite a nice place to holiday, it's basic and compact, but clean and in a great location. No complaints here

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank swin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

The apartment was very clean to say the least and the staff very helpful. I couldn't believe the value for money. Very spacious. The swimming pool may be small but is very clean as well. If you get a room at the front, you'll find the street is noisy in early evening. Parking is a bit of a hassle too. Nevertheless, a great choice!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
3  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2016

The staff were friendly and helpful and the apartment was clean and spacious.
The pool was lovely and clean and quiet with plenty of sun loungers.
The bar was great, with an excellent cocktail waitress.
Very well located for the long beach, restaurants, supermarkets and gift shops.
A really lovely relaxing place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 355susie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

Clean, secure, quiet apartments, close to the beach and good restaurants. Polite and helpful staff. We were a group of 7 with 5 adults and 2 kids - stayed for a week and it is well setup. Cooking facilities are basic but enough if you were set on self catering, the bar offers drinks and deserts in the evening. The aircon is a little tired but managed to cool the rooms when we were there. The apartments were cleaned every day bar Sunday which is a blessing if you are treking in from the beach every day

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Hugh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

We were a little apprehensive as it was our first visit to Crete and there was one particularly terrible review of the apartments. When we arrived, late at night, we were pleasantly surprised by the apartment and there was a nice friendly welcome by the manageress. The apartment was spacious, clean, with a nice kitchen area and large balcony with table and chairs. There is a very nice private pool and pool area and a very pleasant, comfortable bar downstairs, where you can relax and watch the world go by. There is free wi-fi and they tell you its only available in the bar area, but it is possible to connect from apartments just above the bar. The apartments are right in the centre of Platanias and pretty much everything you need is within strolling distance, including the endless sandy beach. There are two good supermarkets right opposite and they are open until very late. Lots of restaurants, souvenir, gift, clothing, leatherware shops that line the main street right outside the apartments. If you walk to the beach down the street to the right of Marem restaurant, there are blue sunbeds, with canopies (5euros per day with free wi-fi) and a really good beach cafe with all day breakfasts. We were so comfortable in the immediate area of the apartments, that we only ventured out to Rethymnos on the bus once. I would recommend Marem restaurant, very nice garden setting, service good (dont expect fast food). There are several restaurants will people trying to entice you inside, but we found them to be a little too pushy, trying to up sell staters and wine etc. Whereas Marem is more laid back and always give you a free jug of ouzo with the bill...we will be going back next year and would have no hesitation in recommending Katarini.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank travla_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews