We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Castillo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabinas El Castillo
Ranked #5 of 5 El Castillo B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would go back”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Very nice accommodation, we were staying for 2 nights, friendly and helpful staff. It is good to know that they have changed their name to Hotel El Castillo so we had to ask our way but find fairly easily even at night. Room was clean, big balcony with stunning view on the volcano. We also did their morning boat tour on the lake. It is very close to the sky tram. The last night they even gave us (free) 2 glasses and some ice for the bottle of wine we had bought! Didnt try the restaurant. Oh and major thing that we discovered once there.....the volcano isnt active anymore and so for the last past year so dont expect to see the volcano with lava (I was quite disappointed about that).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    20
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

What a charming little place. In the middle of nowhere, but close to Butterfly and Serpent houses. Amazing views .of Arenal and surrounding countryside. Birds took no notice of me sitting there watching them up close and personal. Only eat once so can't comment on food, but looked nice enough. (Was only there for a couple of days.) Place was very clean. Would definetly go back if in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

As other reviews state, it is very basic but clean. We stayed in the two story building and rooms were very large as was the balcony. Very remote, there is one soda in town and the other choice is the hotel restaurant. The restaurant was a bit dissapointing; looking for some typical food but got a bit of an attempt at upscale version of chicken and rice which was a dry chicken cutlet and a tiny bit of beans (which were good) and a little volcano of white rice. View is spectacular; unfortunately the volcano was very quiet when we were there, local commented it had been that way for a few weeks. Oh well, can't schedule mother nature.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_J588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

OK., it is pretty basic. Just a spotless somewhat narrow bed and a bathroom but the view over Arenal volcano and Arenal lake as well as the village and surrounding countryside is breathtaking. If you are lucky the cabinas offer a spectacular view onto the erupting volcano. For a bit of extra you can have air conditioning but in our experience in was not really necessary. The cabinas and the hotel modest restaurant are situated on an elevation and have huge windows offering romantic evenings. Food is good if not exactly cheap, though I would not recommend their house wine; better have a bottle of your choice if you so wish. In the village 3 min. away there is a fine butterfly(+ frogs) centre set up in a lovely, overgrown garden as well as serpentarium(snakes & reptiles; we did not visit this one). Just walking through the village we spotted humming birds and squirrels. On the downside: the road leading to El Castillo is just a dirt road meaning a tedious 20-30 min. drive from La Fortuna but the village itself is quiet and still unspoiled. Better use 4x4 and do not drive at night; the sun sets at 18.00 at the latest. The staff hardly speak any English but somehow it was not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwiewiorowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We booked this hotel/cabin based on a recommendation from Lonely Planet. Upon our arrival (about 40 minutes from La Fortuna) we thought the place was great. The view of the volcano was amazing. However, we when checked into our cabin we noticed many strands of hair on the pillows, and the sheets were dirty. We asked for some new sheets and just tried to make the best of it for the night.
We were starving so we ate at the restaurant. The steak that they served us was raw, so needless to say we didn't eat there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melis47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Castillo hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, just days ago. The hotel is very cute, clean, and basic. The views are a.m.a.z.i.n.g. If you're coming to Arenal and want to see the lava, you gotta stay on this side, and I guarantee no one else on this side has these views for the price. For us, unfortunately, it was clouded in the whole time so we didn't see any lava or the top of the volcano at all, but the stay was still totally worth it.

Large rooms, clean, plenty of hot water, close to the park, restaurant has good food at a reasonable price. My only suggestion would be to add some more furniture. Our room just had 2 beds and 1 small table with drawers. A couple more smaller tables would have been fantastic. Also a rug or mat for when you walk in the door. It rained the whole time and the floors are tile, having something to wipe our feet on would have been great.

Also, be warned that the road here is a long, very rough ride. Its worth it though, for the views and isolation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StunGunAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We read a lot online about needing to stay on the south-west side of Arenal if you want to see lava, so we booked into this place, having read good reviews. We were really pleased - the cabins are basic but good, with plenty of hot water, and the most amazing views of the volcano from the large windows. On our last night we could watch lava from our bed!

You do need a car if you're staying here, as it is about a 30-40 minute drive out of La Fortuna (where banks, petrol, car hire etc are) but El Castillo is a cute little place and much nearer all the volcano-related attractions. Plenty of parking by the cabins.

Breakfast is a bit of a mixed affair - french toast was fantastic one day and rubbish the next, and some things came out cold, but very good orange juice and prompt service. We ate in the restaurant one evening and had a really good meal. Amazing views from there too of the volcano. Regular hummingbirds flitting around too. Would definitely stay here again if we went back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helliebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Castillo hotels
0.0 km away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
670 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
208 reviews
0.0 km away
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 8 in El Castillo
310 reviews
0.0 km away
Nepenthe B&B
Nepenthe B&B
#2 of 5 in El Castillo
172 reviews
0.0 km away
Cabinas Los Tucanes
Cabinas Los Tucanes
#2 of 8 in El Castillo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Castillo

Property: Cabinas El Castillo
Address: El Castillo Village, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Castillo Hotel El Castillo
Cabinas El Castillo Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing