We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hummingbird Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hummingbird Nest
Ranked #4 of 5 El Castillo B&B and Inns
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Perched on the side of a hill, this is a great retreat. Ellen is a knowledgable host, and breakfast was always delicious. There are only two rooms, so you can't beat this place for quiet. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and look out on a garden. From the upper deck, outside the kitchen, there are also views of the lake and volcano.

Room Tip: There are only two!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    25
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
20
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Down the end of a long dirt road, just the experiance I was seeking. The volcano view was fantastic, the population of birds a treat, even Ellen's "pet" parrot was "free-ranging". The room accommodated the three of us, the breakfast was delicious, the short walk to the butterfly conservatory a joy. I got to spend some time with Ellen, friends and family, what a gracious host.
Ellen provided a tour to the "local" yoga class, cocktails and dinner @ "The Ranch?" Maybe there was even a little tango lesson in the bar.
The hot tub was an excellent location to view the night skies and the hanging chairs the perfect viewing spot for the sun rising and early morning bird activities in the garden.
Upon departure Ellen provided many contacts for rooms, shuttles and tours per our inquiries.
Did I mention "EL" is "babe-a licious.?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsk-xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

beautiful views, quiet, lovely room, huge breakfast, very accommodating, very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnowak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed for four nights. The room we stayed in was nice enough but would benefit from more complete curtains - breakfasts were excellent. The views of Arenal Volcano from the upstairs terrace are stunning. For us El Castillo represented a much better option than La Fortuna. It is at the end of a 10km dirt road and very quiet. Spent quite a lot of the time we stayed in El Castillo walking the trails at the Arenal Observatory Lodge - wonderful for birds and fantastic Volcano view. We also went to the nearby butterfly garden - pleasant enough but nothing special - particularly when there are so many beautiful butterflies to see in the wild in Costa Rica. The property is up quite a steep incline from the carpark but it is accessible on a level from the nearby hotel - a couple with a baby used that route during our stay. Recommended

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Ellen is a most gracious hostess. The grounds are a delight. The rooms are very comfortable with views of the gardens, Lake Aranal & the volcano. The hot tub is a nice plus as are the hanging chairs. Breakfast is tasty local food which gives a feel for the area. We spent 3 nights there (and went to Pizza Johns 2 of the nights) and will go back.

Room Tip: There are only so. Both are great. We stayed in the one nearest to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Nice hidden place with spacious and beautifully designed rooms, facing the garden. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub at night and trying to figure out where Arenal Volcano might be hidden behind the clouds. Great breakfast in the kitchen upstairs with even a better view. It was a bit pricy, though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moyie Springs, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband, I, and our three teenage children stayed at this location for two nights in December 2011. The weather was horrible, but it was a nice get-away. We enjoyed the natural and commercial hot springs, visited the Butterfly Conservatory, enjoyed an evening with Pizza John, and did some hiking. Ellen was not on location and although her staff was nice, it was difficult to communicate. Luckily our son studied Spanish and was able to interpret. My daughter discovered a few bugs in the shower and was not impressed, but after all we were in the forest of Costa Rica. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of foods to please everyone. We rented both rooms; one for ourselves and the other for our children. The curtains in our room did not close completely which was a bit unnerving, but both rooms were clean and orderly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellyh_413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.5 km away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
10.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
0.2 km away
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel
2.2 km away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 7 in El Castillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Nest

Property: Hummingbird Nest
Address: El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Hummingbird Nest B&B)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, private, 3 bedroom home nestled among the trees w/ lush vegetation, immaculate gardens buzzing w/ hummingbirds & butterflies...direct views of Volcano Arenal & panoramic of Lake Arenal...soak at night in the hot tub watching the volcano and sounds of wildlife. We have a spa onsite with holistic services and massage for your convenience. We can book all your tours to local attractions. Central to the village of El Castillo, just a short drive from La Fortuna. We have restaurants close by and many activities and tours to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hummingbird Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Nest Hotel El Castillo
Hummingbird Nest Bed And Breakfast
Hummingbird Nest Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing