We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
123
47
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
47
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaarenal lodgela fortunahot tubspectacular viewswheel drivehowler monkeysfried plantainssteep hillpolloaugustojunglelakeroadvolcanorainbowhammocks
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 192 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabinas for 3 nights. The rooms were clean, comfortable, with amazing views of the volcano and Lake Arenal. We got massages by the hosts' wife which were amazing. Breakfast was eggs, gallo pinto, fruit, coffee, pancakes - delicious. Very helpful host Agustin who knows all restaurants and sights in the area and is very helpful with suggestions. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay. The pool and hot tub were lovely!! If we ever find ourselves back in El Castillo or near Arenal we would go back here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This was an unexpected gem. At the top of an unpromising drive, we found a little piece of heaven. Up in the hills overlooking Lake Arenal, we were treated to wonderful service, excellent accommodations and home-made food to order. Agustine, our host, was friendly and helpful. He even lent us his own phone so we could have Internet WIFI. The serenity and beauty of the setting sun, over the lake, which we enjoyed from our veranda, was just what we needed after a long drive. We extended our stay and were sorry to leave at all.

Room Tip: We liked the cabinas at the bottom for the view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in Sept 2011. Amazing location at the top of a dirt track about 10mins out of El Castillo; I know it's subjective but we drove a 4x4 up at night and found the track to be easy, especially if you are used to driving on dirt roads.

The owners had kindly left some cold beers in the fridge which were very welcome. The rooms were simple and clean. Great views to the lake and the volcano. The location is within a 20 mins drive of Sky Trek (Zip Lines), The Arenal Observatory Lodge and of course the famous Pizza John's.

The breakfasts were excellent and both the owners and manager were very kind and friendly people. We'd certainly come back some time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdSturdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2011

As others who have written reviews for Nepenthe, we found this place by accident. One of the guards at Arenal Observatory Lodge gave us a brochure when we were told the Observatory Lodge was booked. We felt we had nothing to lose, so we proceeded in our car that was NOT a four wheel drive. For the faint of heart, if you do not have a four wheeler, be forewarned that it is a bit scary...(no AAA in Costa Rica to help you if you have trouble); but you are rewarded with amazing views the whole way up and the whole way down. The drive up the mountain at night however is not recommended. I don't care if you have four wheel drive or not. There are no lights to guide you, unless you count lava from the volcano. (There was none when we were there). We literally had the place to ourselves, so it felt like our own hacienda on the mountainside. The goats that are the natural lawn-mowers lend to the charm as well. The rooms were clean, charming and comfortable. Yes, there is no TV because you have your own Discovery Channel right outside your door. We bought some wine in Arenal and enjoyed the nature outside our door. Slept restfully with the rain falling gently on the mountainside and woke up to a delicious Costa Rican breakfast. We felt very at home here. We would have stayed a second night but because we were going to the hot springs the next day in the evening, didn't really feel like driving back up the mountain in the dark after having cocktails at Baldi. I would come back here, but only with a four wheel drive.....great place, good price, fantastic breakfast, great views, and the swing chairs were clean. Everything was clean and fresh. Maybe they read some of the previous reviews because we found no problems here other than rain, which was compliments of Mother Nature.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at Nepenthe on March 23, 2011 and were greeted warmly by both Nancy and Gordon, the owners, with complimentary drinks upon arrival and who later placed complimentary beers in our fridges! Situated high on a hill with panoramic views of Lake Arenal and Arenal volcano it also was a birder's paradise including sightings of the keel-billed toucan. The rooms were clean, well decorated and spacious and took full opportunity of the vistas. Both the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. The large bathroom was clean and the shower worked perfectly. One only has to pull the handle forward to operate it. Breakfast was delightful and substantial. Gordon even cooked omelettes for those who wanted them. One companion took advantage of the 50% price reduction for guests for an hour massage and stated it was the best she had ever had.. The service was excellent, the hosts charming and the location fantastic. We all considered our selves fortunate to have stayed there and were reluctant to leave. We would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nainandtaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews