We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, welcoming and beautiful”
Review of Nepenthe B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nepenthe B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 El Castillo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2014

Nepenthe is a relaxing and welcoming B&B that has a spectacular view and is located right on the edge of the rain forest which enabled us to see a large variety of monkeys, birds and butterflies from the comfort of hammock chairs. Agustin is a knowledgable and hospitable host who helped us plan and book several excursions in the area that suited our interests. Odilie and the other ladies working at the B&B were cheerful and welcoming and prepared delicious breakfasts in a lovely family style eating area. After a day of hiking in the rain forest you can relax with a swim in the infinity pool or, if you plan ahead, finish the day with an excellent massage at the on-site spa. We enjoyed two full weeks at Nepenthe and enjoyed every minute of it. Thanks Agustin and all of the staff for such a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2014

It wAs 2 days in Arenal and it was a great stay . First of all great mention to Agustin the ownr/manager Who was great and very kind in each request from the directions to get there to the dinner arranged out of time . The panoranme is fantastic expecially in the morning when the Sun rises and you can enjoy the colours and the view relaxing and having a bath in the pool. The breakfast delicious and generous. The room spacious and clean but also very silent. The position Frankly not very easy to find cause located in el Castillo which is 30 min from la fortuna . The road to get there is the only bad point cause you should Have a whale drive otherwise it' s a great problem. On the other hand is colse to the main attractions and activity es of the Arenal park such as osservatore lodge and Sky adv . They Have also a little restaurant where you cantaste local food fresh prepared.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank salvatore l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The view from Nepenthe is incredible, but the ride to the hotel is long, unpaved and rocky--it cannot be reached without four whee drive. There were some issues with the rooms--curtain rod fell, forgot to put sheets in our room for an extra bed, etc--but it is a nice spot. You just need to be ready to be well off the beaten path. The restaurant at the hotel, Tres Cabras, is delicious--but the menu is prix fixe, so make sure to let the owners, Rebecca and Ryan, about food allergies before booking your reservation.

Room Tip: If you are in the cabinas at the bottom of the hill, you'll need ot make sure there's a flas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Casey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

You really have to want to get to Nepenthe because you have to drive on difficult roads for over five miles. And that five miles can take half an hour! But when you get there, the view is simply breathtaking, the stillness causes you to relax instantly, and there is Augustin at reception to give you a warm greeting and answer any questions you might have. He was extremely welcoming and even sought us out later on in the day to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. It was. The rooms are very nice, the shower is huge, the bed comfortable, everything was nicely decorated, and it was extremely clean. (My only criticism of the entire visit is that there is no way to read in bed--bedside lighting would be fabulous.) The pool was immediately outside and it is beautiful, although it was rainy and too cool to make any use of it. Augustin's wife, Krisia, has a spa at Nepenthe and you should do yourself a favor and pay her a visit. She is a lovely woman and, more importantly, an excellent masseuse. The spa itself is simply lovely, the Swedish massage was accompanied by hot oil, hot towels, and aroma therapy--not the garden variety massage I've grown accustomed to. A small fitness room is being organized at the spa with a hot tub and a couple of pieces of equipment. That will be a welcome addition since the extremely hilly terrain makes other exercise quite difficult. Finally, there is the restaurant, Tres Cabras. Ryan and Rebecca,the two Canadian ex pats who operate it, are fabulous. The prix fixe dinner menu is fabulous, with at least one option to suit everyone. All of the choices appealed to me!!! Oh--did I mention that you get a free welcome glass of wine or beer when you arrive at the hotel? This gives you an opportunity to go to the restaurant, review the night's menu, and decide if a reservation is in order. I highly recommend it. Ryan is a good conversationalist and enthusiastic supporter of Rebecca's good cooking. Rebecca was busy doing what she obviously does extremely well--making wonderful food. We all had pasta dishes and none of us was disappointed. Breakfast was served the following morning at a different location (Tres Cabras serves only dinner). Although I didn't partake, my husband thought it was excellent. Unfortunately, we had to leave after only one night. We shall return!!!!!! Finally, and importantly, this is a pet friendly hotel and our dog had a fabulous time!!!!! Another finally, and importantly: Great value!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We originally stayed at Arenal Observatory Lodge, but when we decided to stay another night we came here, and it was so worth it! The view of the volcano and Lake Arenal is beautiful and the pool and restaurant overlook the wilderness and the lake out to the next volcano. Sunsets are awesome here. Wifi is available at the top house, restaurant, and pool. Also, the food was terrific. Resident chef Rebecca and host Ryan both make terrific foods and also make great conversation. If you're lucky, you might see their pet goats they get milk from while you're here. Though the drive up is a bit winding, Nepenthe lives up to its name and lets you forget all your worries.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank travelista35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens and silver , serene lake and Arenal Volcano. The room was very clean and comfortable. Tres Cabras Restaurant owners, Ryan and Rebecca are attentive and friendly and the food is awesome!! Augustine is very helpful and readily available with travel advice. You can't go wrong

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at Nepenthe!

The first stop on our Honeymoon, Nepenthe was the best accommodation we had of our entire trip.

While it is a bit of work to reach Nepenthe due to shabby roads leading off of the main paved road, it's totally worth it. The view is stunning. Volcano Arenal to your right and the Laguna Arenal down below.

The host Augustin was very friendly as were the 2 restaurant managers, a couple, Rebecca and Ryan.

The small intimate restaurant was of great quality cooked by Rebecca herself and a great value at $20pp (beer, wine included).

We particularly loved sitting on the front deck watching the sun go down over the lagunea and eating breakfast while the animals all around entertain you with their morning activities.

It truly felt like a piece of paradise!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.9 km away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
697 reviews
9.0 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
836 reviews
2.4 km away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 8 in El Castillo
319 reviews
1.1 km away
Essence Arenal Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nepenthe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nepenthe B&B

Address: | 100 M East And 1.6 Km From The School, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in El Castillo
Price Range: $79 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nepenthe B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nepenthe Bed and Breakfast is Beautifull piece of paradise located in the little town of El Castillo of La Fortuna in Costa Rica. Surrounded by the rain forest and exuberant wild life, you can appreciate the magnificent Arenal Volcano and the mistic Arenal Lake, enjoy beautifull sunsets from our infinity edge pool or relax in the jacuzzi or with a Massage in The Blue Lagoon Spa after a day of adventures and fun in the area. ** Also, the Phoenix Restaurant at Nepenthe is located on the grounds of Nepenthe and serve a daily dinner menu with handmade food and fresh local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Nepenthe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nepenthe B&B Costa Rica/El Castillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing