We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
123
47
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
47
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaarenal lodgela fortunahot tubspectacular viewswheel drivehowler monkeysfried plantainssteep hillpolloaugustojunglelakeroadvolcanorainbowhammocks
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 192 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2014

It wAs 2 days in Arenal and it was a great stay . First of all great mention to Agustin the ownr/manager Who was great and very kind in each request from the directions to get there to the dinner arranged out of time . The panoranme is fantastic expecially in the morning when the Sun rises and you can enjoy the colours and the view relaxing and having a bath in the pool. The breakfast delicious and generous. The room spacious and clean but also very silent. The position Frankly not very easy to find cause located in el Castillo which is 30 min from la fortuna . The road to get there is the only bad point cause you should Have a whale drive otherwise it' s a great problem. On the other hand is colse to the main attractions and activity es of the Arenal park such as osservatore lodge and Sky adv . They Have also a little restaurant where you cantaste local food fresh prepared.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank salvatore l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The view from Nepenthe is incredible, but the ride to the hotel is long, unpaved and rocky--it cannot be reached without four whee drive. There were some issues with the rooms--curtain rod fell, forgot to put sheets in our room for an extra bed, etc--but it is a nice spot. You just need to be ready to be well off the beaten path. The restaurant at the hotel, Tres Cabras, is delicious--but the menu is prix fixe, so make sure to let the owners, Rebecca and Ryan, about food allergies before booking your reservation.

Room Tip: If you are in the cabinas at the bottom of the hill, you'll need ot make sure there's a flashlight in your room for walking back and forth to reception, but its worth it for the kitchenettes inside.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Casey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2014

You really have to want to get to Nepenthe because you have to drive on difficult roads for over five miles. And that five miles can take half an hour! But when you get there, the view is simply breathtaking, the stillness causes you to relax instantly, and there is Augustin at reception to give you a warm greeting and answer any questions you might have. He was extremely welcoming and even sought us out later on in the day to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. It was. The rooms are very nice, the shower is huge, the bed comfortable, everything was nicely decorated, and it was extremely clean. (My only criticism of the entire visit is that there is no way to read in bed--bedside lighting would be fabulous.) The pool was immediately outside and it is beautiful, although it was rainy and too cool to make any use of it. Augustin's wife, Krisia, has a spa at Nepenthe and you should do yourself a favor and pay her a visit. She is a lovely woman and, more importantly, an excellent masseuse. The spa itself is simply lovely, the Swedish massage was accompanied by hot oil, hot towels, and aroma therapy--not the garden variety massage I've grown accustomed to. A small fitness room is being organized at the spa with a hot tub and a couple of pieces of equipment. That will be a welcome addition since the extremely hilly terrain makes other exercise quite difficult. Finally, there is the restaurant, Tres Cabras. Ryan and Rebecca,the two Canadian ex pats who operate it, are fabulous. The prix fixe dinner menu is fabulous, with at least one option to suit everyone. All of the choices appealed to me!!! Oh--did I mention that you get a free welcome glass of wine or beer when you arrive at the hotel? This gives you an opportunity to go to the restaurant, review the night's menu, and decide if a reservation is in order. I highly recommend it. Ryan is a good conversationalist and enthusiastic supporter of Rebecca's good cooking. Rebecca was busy doing what she obviously does extremely well--making wonderful food. We all had pasta dishes and none of us was disappointed. Breakfast was served the following morning at a different location (Tres Cabras serves only dinner). Although I didn't partake, my husband thought it was excellent. Unfortunately, we had to leave after only one night. We shall return!!!!!! Finally, and importantly, this is a pet friendly hotel and our dog had a fabulous time!!!!! Another finally, and importantly: Great value!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We originally stayed at Arenal Observatory Lodge, but when we decided to stay another night we came here, and it was so worth it! The view of the volcano and Lake Arenal is beautiful and the pool and restaurant overlook the wilderness and the lake out to the next volcano. Sunsets are awesome here. Wifi is available at the top house, restaurant, and pool. Also, the food was terrific. Resident chef Rebecca and host Ryan both make terrific foods and also make great conversation. If you're lucky, you might see their pet goats they get milk from while you're here. Though the drive up is a bit winding, Nepenthe lives up to its name and lets you forget all your worries.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank travelista35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens and silver , serene lake and Arenal Volcano. The room was very clean and comfortable. Tres Cabras Restaurant owners, Ryan and Rebecca are attentive and friendly and the food is awesome!! Augustine is very helpful and readily available with travel advice. You can't go wrong

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews