We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

Essence Demo Cuisine
Ranked #11 of 15 Restaurants in El Castillo
Price range: US$0 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Essence Demo Cuisine is a meat free restaurant that gets everyone involved with the food. We show our international guest about local products and present them in a non-traditional way. Our chef Isaac Welivér ("Le Cordon Bleu" of Chicago) prepares 3 gourmet vegetarian dishes not only in your presence but with your participation. Unique location overlooking the Arenal volcano on its lava flowing side.
Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

Previously reviewed under hotel. Really good experience and meal. Need to check menu since it is fixed each night. Watch or help prepare the meal of items locally grown.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Bestof47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 26 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

We stopped by here for Christmas dinner. I loved the food and that the chef was a few steps away and interacted with the customers. I believe it is all vegetarian or at least or dinner was. We had a four course meal for a great price of $18 per person. All the food is overheard was grown on the property.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank 817kailia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

This place has everything! They are cooking typical Costa Rican food in front of you. For dinner they have special food nights, we tried the Mexican one which was wonderful. The morning yoga is fantastic! Outside under a roof but in the rain forest. We practised while it was raining which was a cool experience.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Sofia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2015

The cuisine is awful no kindness the two other cook look always grumpie the cook look not happy and the food is not good for the price what are they waiting to fire the chef I ll be embarrassed to call that a chef
The owner is nice and deliver a good service but not in the kitchen
The volunteers are great hard worker And anyone outside this kitchen

Date of visit: March 2015
1  Thank Gigififi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a great option for vegetarians and non ! It is somewhat far and off the unpaved, potholed roads of El Castio but still a great experience. We got to learn to make sushi and eat it too ! Their appetizer course of spring rolls with the special sauce was quite good too. Great effort on the dessert but we didn't like it much ! Maybe that's just us !

Date of visit: July 2014
Thank vechog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Essence Demo Cuisine also viewed

El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Essence Demo Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing