We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Un Jardin dans la Falaise
Ranked #2 of 2 Cabrerets B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Place”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed only one night on our way from Paris to Toulouse. This was a great place to stay, the onle downside is we made it out there at night.. therefore, the drive was a little scary.. it's a good hour drive from the expressway... you see a lot of animals at night. Try to make it before sunset and everything is fine! the hosts were awesome, they had food prepared when we arrived. Great dinner and awesome breakfast the next morning. Allow youself time to explore the surroundings, there is so much to do and see... take a hike around the B&B... that's what we did and we able to take some nice pictures. I will definetely come back and after showing the pictures to my family, they are wanting to go out there and stay here. Wonderful Place!! :D

Room Tip: if you are staying one night only, the path room is perfect! Clean, comfortable and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaP05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
40
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed for three days our first week in France and for four the next, all in the Garden Room, and found our visit to Cabrerets all we’d hope it would be. The setting is unusual and dramatic, the rooms lovely, comfortable and beautifully kept, the breakfasts plentiful and delicious, the table d’hote at once homey, relaxed and generous – and exquisite eating. Magali and Simon are wonderful hosts, managing to do all the hard work to maintain this unique vacation spot, parent two fine boys, and be cordial friends to their guests. There are several highlights of the town and the region we would have missed without Simon’s enthusiastic encouragement. And he went out of his way to drive us to some unusual, and unusually beautiful sights on the ridges across the river.

Even with our modest language skills, conversation was genial and free-flowing with our fellow guests. There is no lack of conversation in the dining room where we all met, overlooking the sweep of the valley and immersed in the echoing birdsong way up in the corner of huge cliffs at once high in the air and deep in time. A place to visit and to revisit!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cskeele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
197 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We chose this B&B primarily to be close to Pech Merle, and it is very close-by. The location is beautiful, under a rock overhang along the river. Dinner at the B&B, as others have noted is excellent. I was very happy it was offered as it was raining, and there did not seem to be any other obvious places to eat close-by. Breakfast was typical with good bread, jams, little crepes, good coffee, juice, fruit, etc. It was served at 8:30 and, even though our room included a little kitchenette, there was no good coffee--only instant in the room--available prior to breakfast, which is disappointing.

Our room was fine, good views over the river; however no AC. This would be a problem in hot weather; in May, it was not yet very hot out, but the room is basically an attic room and it was quite warm in the room. We did not want to open the windows with no screens and with mosquitoes in the area.

Parking is somewhat problematic. The B&B is along a very narrow one way street, with no on-site parking, only parking further down the narrow road alongside a rock wall, or even further away in a campsite.

All in all, if you want to visit Pech Merle first thing in the morning and if you can have dinner here, I would recommend this as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

. . . better than the first because we stayed twice as long (four nights). Everything we said the first time (a 2009 review) still goes. All the raves you see on this site -- all true. My wife and I have enjoyed our stays in many chambres d’hôtes, but the welcome we have felt here is very rare. It is this couple -- Simon and Magali -- talented and sympathique. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrcjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2011

In a unique small village on the pilgrim path to Santiago de Compostela this Chambre and Table de hotes is just fantastic. Small place 4 rooms only, very well equipped, terrace and garden plus very good breakfast and excellent dinner made it a womderful quiet place for holiday. Fantastic view, unique village. Family of 4 with 2 friends were all very grateful to have found this pearl of holiday place. Absolutetly worth a detour! And stay several nights. Very friendly family runs the place so well!

Room Tip: Evenings with view of the river, village, birds singing, frogs sounds but no other sounds except bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecilia_ryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
950 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Absolutely loved our stay. We had the garden room and when we walked in, I immediately started to think of reasons to stay longer. Ikea furnishings, all clean and new. And it even had a kitchenette. Breakfast included cut fruit. Definitely planning a return. Only downside was spotty Internet connection because the house is right under a cliff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My sister and I stayed with Magali and Simon on our trip through France. The area surrounding Un Jardin intrigued me and based on the other reviews, decided on this location. Neither the room or the views disappointed. Un Jardin is located in the very small town of Cabrerets, off the beaten path but close to Rocadmadour and other larger towns. Be aware...there is no ATM and limited other amenities, so plan accordingly.

We arrived in the late afternoon and since the sun was up for a while longer, took a hike up a trail close to the B&B. The trail was well marked and the scenery was amazing...it was a great way to spend a couple of hours. We had a fairly large lunch in Sarlat, so had picked up some bread/cheese/fruits/wine/etc for dinner, which we enjoyed on the patio overlooking the town and cliffs. It was perfect!

We stayed in the Path room, which was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed a great breakfast and wish we could have stayed a few more days to relax and soak up the ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabrerets
0.5 km away
Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle
4.4 km away
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
#1 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
942 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Les Falaises
Hotel Les Falaises
#1 of 1 in Bouzies
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Auberge de la Sagne
Hotel Auberge de la Sagne
#2 of 2 in Cabrerets
58 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel-restaurant Du Causse
Hotel-restaurant Du Causse
#1 of 1 in Saint-Cirq-Lapopie
71 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Les Gabarres
Hotel Les Gabarres
#2 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Un Jardin dans la Falaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Un Jardin dans la Falaise

Property: Un Jardin dans la Falaise
Address: Lieu Dit Bout du Lieu, 46330 Cabrerets, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Cabrerets
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cabrerets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management : From the 1st of July 2013 we are going to follow a new path... but the B&B will continue under the management of Laura and Mathieu, a young couple from the Lot. They will be happy to welcome you into our beautiful 'Garden in the Cliff'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Un Jardin dans la Falaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Un Jardin Dans La Falaise France/Cabrerets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing