We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
23
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 25 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble, even welcoming the dogs ! Lovely comfortable bed and super breakfast. Whole place tastefully furnished and yet very homely. Everything you could wish for in the bathroom, and well stocked hospitality tray and tv in bedroom. a great bonus wi fi also.
It really felt you were staying with friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molliepoopoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Fern Cottage last week. We were delighted with our room and with all the little touches that make a B&B special: spotlessly clean, generous hospitality tray, complimentary robes, great selection of toiletries in the bathroom. Heather and Peter were relaxed and so easy to talk to, we felt very welcome and comfortable. This is a gem of a B&B. I am certain we will return and I urge you to give it a try!

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms in this b&b - both very comfortable!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithk31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wanted to stay at a traditional B&B and we found it. Heather was very welcoming and we were offered tea and cake on arrival. We stayed in the blue room, very cosy. Faclities provided were excellent, including the refreshments tray in our room and the bathroom just across the landing. Breakfast was lovely and a very leisurely, no rush and at whatever time suited. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billiebutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Heather and Peter very friendly and welcoming with a cup of tea instantly offered (and accepted!). Had comprehensive knowledge of local eating places and phoned ahead to book a table for me. Excellent night's sleep on the water bed with attractive white linen. Lots of choice for breakfast and beautifully presented table. Quiet village on a Friday night. Very convenient for Burton on Trent, M42 and Repton School. Would visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wormbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have stayed at Fern Cottage 4 times now and have been very impressed on each occassion. The Owners, Peter and Heather, are most welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The accomodation is superb, with many nice touches, often only found in large, impersonal hotels! I stayed in the Green Room, which benefits from a "wet-room," en-suite shower and had every amenity that I would want including tea/coffee making facilities, tv/dvd player,and ample wardrobe space. This is a very high quality B & B at a very reasonable price, which cannot be faulted. The breakfast is stunning, with a varied choice of options available from a menu. This alone sets Fern Cottage apart from other venues. Peter and Heather are very hospitable, and I was made to feel like a member of the Family. I will definately be visiting again in the future, and would highly recommend this accomodation if you intend to stay in the Swadlincote/ Burton on Trent area. As a bonus, there is a superb pub (The Black Horse) a short walk away which has an excellent range of very well kept real ales. There is also an excellent Indian Restaurant in the village.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews