We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay - nothing overlooked, or too much trouble!”

Fern Cottage Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coton in the Elms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fern Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at Fern Cottage on Friday evening prior to competing at the British Flyball Championships at Catton Hall. Very friendly welcome and B&B in a nice location. As per previous reviews we found that the attention to detail was superb - we stayed in the Blue Room and everything was very clean and comfortable, with our hosts ensuring we were well looked after. We had a good night's sleep and enjoyed a DELICIOUS breakfast the next morning. Had to stop my husband from stealing the two resident cats who are totally adorable! Have heard the owners are moving to larger premises soon and not surprised as they deserve every success in this line of business. If we are competing up in Derbyshire again next year we will most certainly be looking for their new B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSDTRKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here June 2013 exceptional hosts, would love to return in the future. Very friendly people made to feel at home immediately, breakfast plentiful and cooked to order, would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: chose the room with en suite wet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaygirl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Thank you to you both for a lovely stay last Saturday evening whilst we attended a family party in the village.

The room (and water bed!) was very comfortable and breakfast was simply delicious.

With many thanks

Lucy and James

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucypowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Comfort and attention to detail made this B+B one night stay something really special. All credit to Heather and Peter for their relaxed approach yet obvious commitment to the care of their guests. The beds are really comfortable and the breakfast freshly cooked + locally sourced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonJS154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Nothing was too much trouble, even welcoming the dogs ! Lovely comfortable bed and super breakfast. Whole place tastefully furnished and yet very homely. Everything you could wish for in the bathroom, and well stocked hospitality tray and tv in bedroom. a great bonus wi fi also.
It really felt you were staying with friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molliepoopoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at Fern Cottage last week. We were delighted with our room and with all the little touches that make a B&B special: spotlessly clean, generous hospitality tray, complimentary robes, great selection of toiletries in the bathroom. Heather and Peter were relaxed and so easy to talk to, we felt very welcome and comfortable. This is a gem of a B&B. I am certain we will return and I urge you to give it a try!

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms in this b&b - both very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithk31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Wanted to stay at a traditional B&B and we found it. Heather was very welcoming and we were offered tea and cake on arrival. We stayed in the blue room, very cosy. Faclities provided were excellent, including the refreshments tray in our room and the bathroom just across the landing. Breakfast was lovely and a very leisurely, no rush and at whatever time suited. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billiebutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fern Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Fern Cottage Mill Street, Coton in the Elms DE12 8ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Coton in the Elms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Coton in the Elms
Price Range: $60 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our period cottage on the village green with its brook and resident ducks at the heart of the National Forest. All rooms are well appointed with very comfy beds (one being a water/mud bed), en-suite or private bathroom, hospitality tray, TV with free view, CD/DVD, hairdryer & free reliable WiFi. Enjoy delicious breakfasts with plenty of choice including local and organic produce and homemade preserves.Visit Britain 4 Star Rated + Breakfast AwardConvenient for - Swadlincote, Burton On Trent, Tamworth & Lichfield. We are close to Rosliston Forestry Centre, National Memorial Arboretum, Catton Hall, Conkers, Twycross Zoo, Whitemoor Lakes, Curborough Sprint Track and more ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing