We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Military Intelligence Museum
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
One of the best military museums I have visited

The museum is not large but it is well laid out.There is a tour guide who takes you around the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
wingate
,
London, United Kingdom
Well worth a visit

We enjoyed a really informative and interesting visit to the museum yesterday. There were six of us... read more

Reviewed November 1, 2018
B5301DYclaireh
,
Wrexham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
14
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display in advance main gate an active military base interesting exhibits armed forces on arrival cold war couple of hours analysis knowledge passport curator interpretation assistant talks passes
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 18 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2017

The visit must be booked in advance and when booking one must provide certain personal information in order to gain security clearance, as the museum is inside a secure military establishment. On arrival, one has to report to the guardhouse and passes are issued. Your host/guide for the visit then escorts you to the museum, provides a very informative tour of the exhibits and then escorts you back to the main gate for departure.There are lots of very interesting exhibits and the visit in all was about 2 1/2 hours. The only disappointment was that one was kept moving and there was not enough time to look in detail at the exhibits or have another look round unaccompanied at the end of the tour. An enjoyable visit.

Thank Venusbeachreturners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet H, Public Relations Manager at The Military Intelligence Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Thank you for reviewing the museum, and we greatly appreciate all feedback to help us improve your experience. If you wish to provide more feedback, then we have created a survey on SurveyMonkey. If you have time then it would be really helpful for the staff to learn how to make the visit as enjoyable as possible. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2017

Submitted prior personal details prior to visit, as instructed. The simple entry procedure is standard for most military bases and ensures the safety of all concerned.

We were escorted from the main gate and then given a good briefing into the role and scope of the museum, followed by a short video and quick walk-round of all the areas. The lady who provided this was very enthusiastic and full of knowledge of all activities.

We were then left to go round all the displays in our own time. There are a wide range of topics covered, supported by well produced displays with ample descriptions

The overall picture of the dedicated work of the intelligence branches, their personnel and their braveness in the field was outstanding. Outside the service, few can appreciate the essential work being done to ensure world peace.

I must thank the museum staff for making the visit so memorable. I will return.

Thank lk2010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet H, Public Relations Manager at The Military Intelligence Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Hello and thank you for providing a review of the museum! We greatly appreciate all feedback and if you don't mind providing more, then we have a survey on SurveyMonkey which is simple and easy to fill out. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you can come again! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We had a very interesting tour of this museum. I had a tour through work and enjoyed it so much that I booked to take my family. Takes about 2 hours

Thank Holsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2016

This is an interesting but hard to access museum. You need to book in advance by email with passport or other details. On arrival you show your passport and are photographed as if you were going into a foreign country. As you are then accompanied to the museum and back out by a member of staff, you are unlikely to drift off so the whole palaver is over the top. We were received by an officer at the reception desk who was surly and hard to understand. The actual museum is comprehensive and interesting. It is also free. It would benefit from a bigger building as interesting information is crammed too tightly. We were shown round by a volunteer guide but as the display is self explanatory, you would do as well following it on your own and taking time to look at more than he directs you to. He was, however, very knowledgable. This museum deserves more custom buti T would need to make itself more accessible.

2  Thank DaoHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet H, Public Relations Manager at The Military Intelligence Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Thank you for your museum review, all feedback is very important to staff here at the museum. Access issues are quite difficult for visitors, and we understand the problems that can be faced with signing in, but unfortunately we are hindered by the security of the MOD site. We are making plans to move off site to a place near Woburn Abbey, which will remove any access issues visitors have at the moment. It will be a bigger space with a more spread out history of intelligence. We hope that you return once the new museum is built, and have a more enjoyable experience. Thank you, Harriet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2015

Booking in advance is essential and following the instructions. Once there we were welcomed and enjoyed fascinating talks and tours of the museum. One can only feel humbled by the stories of the men and women involved in all aspect of keeping this country safe. Allow 3 hours at least, but you could easily spend longer.

1  Thank Aurorachichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews