We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absorbing insight into the spying game.”

The Military Intelligence Museum
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Shefford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Our museum wants to share the secret of military intelligence from the Boer War to the present day! Learn about espionage and secrets, and see how they played a major part in some of the biggest wars in history!
Reviewed August 9, 2017

I spent an absorbing two hours, in a group of eight, learning intriguing details of the history of intelligence since the beginning of the twentieth century to the present delivered by two enthusiastic and knowledgeable guides. Whatever you think you already know you will be amazed how much more you don't. This museum is a gem, a must visit for all those who have been thrilled by spy stories over the years, and the tour fills in many of the missing pieces. Yes, you do need to book in advance, and go through security checks, as the museum is within secure MOD Intelligence based property. Few of us can appreciate just how much has been done, and is still being done, by brave men and women to gather information about actual and potential enemies. From their work analysis has enabled the decisions and measures that have been taken to keep the world in relative peace. I urge you to make a visit.

Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet H, Public Relations Manager at The Military Intelligence Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Hi Robert, thank you for taking the time to review the museum! All feedback is greatly appreciated, and we do have a survey on SurveyMonkey if you wish to answer some more questions for us. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"on display"
in 3 reviews
"in advance"
in 4 reviews
"main gate"
in 2 reviews
"an active military base"
in 2 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 2 reviews
"on arrival"
in 2 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 2 reviews
"analysis"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"interpretation"
in 2 reviews
"assistant"
in 2 reviews
"curator"
in 2 reviews
"talks"
in 2 reviews
"passes"
in 2 reviews
"camera"
in 2 reviews
"branch"
in 2 reviews
"history"
in 4 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2017

The visit must be booked in advance and when booking one must provide certain personal information in order to gain security clearance, as the museum is inside a secure military establishment. On arrival, one has to report to the guardhouse and passes are issued. Your host/guide for the visit then escorts you to the museum, provides a very informative tour of the exhibits and then escorts you back to the main gate for departure.There are lots of very interesting exhibits and the visit in all was about 2 1/2 hours. The only disappointment was that one was kept moving and there was not enough time to look in detail at the exhibits or have another look round unaccompanied at the end of the tour. An enjoyable visit.

Thank Venusbeachreturners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet H, Public Relations Manager at The Military Intelligence Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Thank you for reviewing the museum, and we greatly appreciate all feedback to help us improve your experience. If you wish to provide more feedback, then we have created a survey on SurveyMonkey. If you have time then it would be really helpful for the staff to learn how to make the visit as enjoyable as possible. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2017

Submitted prior personal details prior to visit, as instructed. The simple entry procedure is standard for most military bases and ensures the safety of all concerned.

We were escorted from the main gate and then given a good briefing into the role and scope of the museum, followed by a short video and quick walk-round of all the areas. The lady who provided this was very enthusiastic and full of knowledge of all activities.

We were then left to go round all the displays in our own time. There are a wide range of topics covered, supported by well produced displays with ample descriptions

The overall picture of the dedicated work of the intelligence branches, their personnel and their braveness in the field was outstanding. Outside the service, few can appreciate the essential work being done to ensure world peace.

I must thank the museum staff for making the visit so memorable. I will return.

Thank lk2010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet H, Public Relations Manager at The Military Intelligence Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Hello and thank you for providing a review of the museum! We greatly appreciate all feedback and if you don't mind providing more, then we have a survey on SurveyMonkey which is simple and easy to fill out. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you can come again! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We had a very interesting tour of this museum. I had a tour through work and enjoyed it so much that I booked to take my family. Takes about 2 hours

Thank Holsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2016

This is an interesting but hard to access museum. You need to book in advance by email with passport or other details. On arrival you show your passport and are photographed as if you were going into a foreign country. As you are then accompanied to the museum and back out by a member of staff, you are unlikely to drift off so the whole palaver is over the top. We were received by an officer at the reception desk who was surly and hard to understand. The actual museum is comprehensive and interesting. It is also free. It would benefit from a bigger building as interesting information is crammed too tightly. We were shown round by a volunteer guide but as the display is self explanatory, you would do as well following it on your own and taking time to look at more than he directs you to. He was, however, very knowledgable. This museum deserves more custom buti T would need to make itself more accessible.

Thank DaoHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet H, Public Relations Manager at The Military Intelligence Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Thank you for your museum review, all feedback is very important to staff here at the museum. Access issues are quite difficult for visitors, and we understand the problems that can be faced with signing in, but unfortunately we are hindered by the security of the MOD site. We are making plans to move off site to a place near Woburn Abbey, which will remove any access issues visitors have at the moment. It will be a bigger space with a more spread out history of intelligence. We hope that you return once the new museum is built, and have a more enjoyable experience. Thank you, Harriet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Military Intelligence Museum also viewed

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Military Intelligence Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing