We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TLC at TSH!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Temple Sowerby House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temple Sowerby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Yet another relaxing and refreshing stay at TSH. Julie and Paul are always so welcoming and all the staff go out of their way to make us feel at home. New chef Jack has produced some very innovative and tasty dishes and to enjoy a lovely meal overlooking the spring garden was just such a treat! Nothing is too much trouble here and it certainly shows. A great place to meet and catch up with our very good friends. Thank you everyone!

Room Tip: Room 2 has an excellent walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wenallt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you so much and we're delighted you all enjoyed your stay at TSH again! Our new chef, Jack, has certainly come up with some interesting menus and, you're right, now that the evenings are getting longer, dining in our restaurant whilst it's still light is wonderful!
Hope to see you all again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017

As a company we've used Temple Sowerby as a venue for several off site meetings. Julie and the rest of the team couldn't be more helpful - so far as even allocating regular guests their favourite rooms! The venue is absolutely stunning, organisation is fantastic and I can't fault them!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charlottecaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

20 yrs since I last visited this little hotel, so slightly anxious as had no idea what was awaiting us. Well I had no need to worry - what a gem of a place!
A very warm welcome on a very wet and windy evening from the helpful staff, lovely clean, cosy room with Molton Brown toiletries, and after a relaxing bath and change we headed downstairs to the cosy lounge for a drink by the roaring fire.
Canapés served while waiting for dinner, followed by the best meal we have had in years. Absolutely delicious!
A quiet, comfortable night and excellent breakfast.
Planning on a return visit next year. Certainly not going to leave it another 20yrs this time!!
Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FJHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

We'll hold you to that, 20 years is far too long! Thank you for reviewing, and for such glowing praise too! Our staff will be delighted, particularly Jack, the Chef - his menus are certainly creating a lot of interest amongst our guests. See you back for more soon we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We had a wonderful one night stay at TSH. Our room was spotlessly clean with a very well appointed bathroom. The spa bath is terrific. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant and both agreed that having eaten in many Lake District restaurants that the quality of the food at TSH must make it one of the best around. TSH is a hidden gem and well worth a visit. The food and service are faultless. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a lovely bathroom and great views
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RickandKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

What a lovely review, thank you so much! I've passed your kind comments on to all the staff, who work hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay. In particular, our Chef Jack Bradley has been with us just 3 months and his food is certainly outstanding, so this is great feedback thanks. Hopefully see you again soon for dinner and thanks again for taking time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We chose this hotel for its convenient location to Penrith and its reputation for good food, as we particularly wanted to spend an evening 'dining in' to celebrate a family birthday. It fitted the bill perfectly. On arrival we were able to gather in a cosy sitting room (and take over a corner with my bag of presents and a birthday balloon!), and later to gather there again for pre-dinner champagne. Dinner in the conservatory was delightful and thoroughly enjoyed. After a good night's sleep in our comfortable bedrooms, we had a variety of breakfasts from the wide choice available (whilst overlooking the lovely garden - what a spot on a summer's day!) before sadly taking our departure. Thanks to all for a very happy time (and for putting up with the ever-present balloon!).

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TriciaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Delighted you all enjoyed your stay so much and many thanks for reviewing. You're right....the garden is a lovely spot to sit in the Spring and Summer in particular! Hopefully see you back for break then? Thanks again and see you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

A lovely hotel set not to far from Penrith with a gem of a restaurant.classical well kept interior,service second to none and the food was out of this world.i went with my partner and she gave it 11 out of 10 I'd give the food the same!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Many thanks for the review. So glad you both enjoyed your evening and looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

I new it would be good as was booked by friends, but what a treat when we got there. A warm welcome and made to feel at home straight away. Very accommodating, waiting for more of our party to arrive for dinner due to Friday traffic. Dinner and breakfast were fantatsic. Fine dining without the fuss, with a superb attention to detail. Rooms were warm and the bed comfortable and cosy (I was in the stable block).

I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ARW_121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thank you so much, many of our guests have been recommended by friends and we heartily thank all those who do pass on our details! Very happy you and your party enjoyed their stay so much and we're always prepared to be flexible when people are delayed, as particularly happens on Friday evenings! Thanks again and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Sowerby
10.1 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
935 reviews
10.2 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.6 km away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
434 reviews
10.4 km away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
7.2 km away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Sowerby House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Sowerby House Hotel

Address: Temple Sowerby, Penrith CA10 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Temple Sowerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temple Sowerby
Price Range: $192 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Sowerby House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temple Sowerby House is set in the lovely village of the same name in the heart of Cumbria's Eden Valley - a true hidden gem to be discovered!Wonderful landscapes, castles, the River Eden itself make exploring a rewarding experience. Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake is just a 15 minute drive away and Temple Sowerby is a good base for touring the Northern Lake District.Cosy rooms, a lovely walled garden and delightful food from Head Chef Daniel combine to make the TSH Experience a pure pleasure!Call us direct for best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Temple Sowerby House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Sowerby Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing