We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Temple Sowerby House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temple Sowerby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed here for one night as a birthday treat. Our room was comfortable and tranquil. We had dinner which was varied and used unusual ingredients well. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lindykins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Delighted you enjoyed your birthday treat so much and thank you for your comments re. the food...Jack's menus are certainly never dull! Breakfast is such an important meal - sets you up for the day and is the last meal a guest takes at a hotel. Such a shame that so many hotels let themselves down in this regard, but good to hear that a TSH breakfast is as good as ever! Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

We have been staying at TSH for many years as an overnight stop on our way to Scotland with our dogs. The menu is always different and very interesting. Our hosts Paul and Julie could not be more helpful and welcoming. Gardens are pretty and walks for the dogs are nearby. It is quiet. The beds are very comfortable. Many of our friends stay here too after our recommendation. It is not easy to find somewhere when travelling with dogs that you look forward to returning to but TSH is, so much so that we have booked for our return from Scotland. We do not mind that dogs are not welcome in the hotel reception rooms and dining room as long as they are in our room overnight. Car parked safely opposite the room where the dogs wait for us to have a delicious meal. A previous reviewer cannot have been staying at the same place!

Room Tip: Coach house twin room for us with dogs, it is on the ground floor and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salander2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Many thanks for your kind review, and for recommending TSH too! It's always good to see our regular 'scotland stopover' guests - we're the perfect location for a comfortable evening before continuing to the frozen north! Good for the dogs too as there is a large green for them to have a good run. Look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We had an unforgettable overnight stay at Temply Sowerby House. The house itself is quaint and traditional, which is full of character as are the owners. The rooms are comfortable and the atmosphere frosty, but in a manner in which we enjoyed.

There a several beautiful walks around the area, most of which culminate in a beautiful, 400 year old, traditional country pub called The Kings Arms. They have a range of good food and drinks to tide you over until dinner.

The grounds of the hotel are impressive and well worth an amble. The food is very good, as is the wine and after dinner you can take a stroll back to The Kings Arms, where you can enjoy a lively chat with the friendly owners and locals. An excellent experience, which is a must for all residents of the Temple Sowerby House.

A word caution- the dog friendly policy consists of dogs having to stay in your car so think twice before bringing your pooch. All in all, we highly recommend this hotel; it represents a dying breed of stiff family run hotels in England, which should be experienced while they still exist.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
9  Thank DrLAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for writing this review of the Kings Arms – a worthy hostelry across the road from TSH. However, one factual error to correct first…these guests did not arrive with a dog and so I’m not sure where they got our ‘dog policy’ from but it is not correct! We have 2 Coach House rooms in which dogs can be kept with their owners, or vice versa.

Now, Dear Reader, listen well…you arrive at a hotel, are shown around the property by the owner himself, who is a very amenable chap, and then shown up to your room by said owner. He also assists in directing you to a local walk and lends you a map for ease of navigation. You wander across to the above inn for a drink after a superb dinner. On your return, the same host awaits to provide you with a late night-cap in the bar. Decide for yourselves – does this sound ‘frosty’ or ‘stiff’ to you? I must protest!

Would you then, Dear Reader, having armed yourself with a couple of dozen business cards from the aforementioned inn, gone around the hotel and placed them in various wine lists, guest information, armchairs, mantelpieces, to name but a few - I rather think you wouldn’t!
These actions make for a very amusing prank…for a twelve-year old perhaps. At the age of fifty something, it is merely puerile. Alas, university ‘lecturers’ are not what they were…perhaps more of ‘a oral test’ ? (after ‘watery fowls’)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Stayed here for three weeks again this year on our summer holiday. Paul and Julie were excellent hosts as ever, all of the staff were very friendly and helpful, the place was still spotless and the rooms really luxurious.

Head Chef Dan has left and been replaced by Jack Bradley but no need to worry as his cooking (with assistant Alex) was absolutely delicious. Jack is a keen forager and several of his dishes reflected this, e.g. the meadowsweet dessert, which was easily my favourite pud. The quail, Goosnargh duck, hogget, flatiron steak, brill, mackerel, salmon and monk fish were also extremely popular choices. All was washed down with a truly amazing selection of eclectic wines from around the world that were chosen each night for us by Paul to match the food.

If we ever come back to the Lake District, then this will by my first choice of hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you so much for reviewing. It was lovely to have you all with us again this year and we're delighted you enjoyed it as much as last time! As you say, Jack's menus certainly maintain, if not surpass, those from your previous visit and they are always interesting. It's good fun too, selecting wines to accompany his menus and I'm glad you enjoyed them all. Look forward to seeing you all again next year maybe? Our best wishes to you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

The food continues to be magical - never a wrong note! The rooms are comfortable, the garden so beautiful, the whole ambience peaceful and refreshing. A perfect hostess and host and beautiful ducks!

One tip - each room has subtly different views - discuss this when booking!

Room Tip: All rooms are good - phone Julie to discuss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Dinner for two for our wedding anniversary. Heard lots of good reports about TSH, so we were keen to experience it for ourselves.
A quiet and calm country house, knowledgable staff, very good food and extensive wine selection. Enjoyed every dish, food beautifully presented and great flavours.
Will happily return. A lovely experience.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pudslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We're delighted that the experience lived up to the hype! What a lovely review, thank you. I'll certainly pass your comments on to Jack, our Chef, he'll be very happy that you enjoyed his menu so much. He changes the menu on a regular basis to maintain seasonality as much as possible, so you must come every month for a new experience! Thanks again and hope to see you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

I stayed here at the end of June and had a super time. The room I had at the front of the hotel was spacious and airy, spotless and very well appointed with a comfy bed and stylish en-suite. I ate in the award winning restaurant overlooking the croquet lawn, where the guests were entertained by a family of small ducklings, and I had one of the most delicious starters I think I have ever had. Nowadays in hotels, one always seems to have to wander around a breakfast buffet, but not here. Breakfast, again in the restaurant, was chosen off the menu, and all was fresh and hot, setting me up for the day ahead.
The owners were very welcoming and happy to chat as they personally attended on their guests. This place is a real gem, ideal for an overnight stay when heading up to Scotland from the south, as I was.

Room Tip: Talk to Mr and Mrs Evans about what you'd like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 9sjwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at Temple Sowerby House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, it's much appreciated. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, particularly the food which is always a highlight! The entertainment provided by the ducks is totally free of charge - an added bonus! Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Sowerby
10.1 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
935 reviews
10.2 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.6 km away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
433 reviews
10.4 km away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
7.2 km away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Sowerby House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Sowerby House Hotel

Address: Temple Sowerby, Penrith CA10 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Temple Sowerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Temple Sowerby
Price Range: $194 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Sowerby House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temple Sowerby House is set in the lovely village of the same name in the heart of Cumbria's Eden Valley - a true hidden gem to be discovered!Wonderful landscapes, castles, the River Eden itself make exploring a rewarding experience. Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake is just a 15 minute drive away and Temple Sowerby is a good base for touring the Northern Lake District.Cosy rooms, a lovely walled garden and delightful food from Head Chef Daniel combine to make the TSH Experience a pure pleasure!Call us direct for best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Temple Sowerby House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Sowerby Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing