We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Kings Arms Hotel(Temple Sowerby)
US$172
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Penrith(Penrith)(Great Value!)
US$84
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
167
25
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
25
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake districtcountry house stylememorable staycosy loungeon arrivalwelcoming hotelboutique hotelroaring firecomfortable nightlovely houserooms are comfortableovernight stopexcellent hostskings armsbirthday treatstayed here for one nightaward winning restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 204 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

We had an unforgettable overnight stay at Temply Sowerby House. The house itself is quaint and traditional, which is full of character as are the owners. The rooms are comfortable and the atmosphere frosty, but in a manner in which we enjoyed.

There a several beautiful walks around the area, most of which culminate in a beautiful, 400 year old, traditional country pub called The Kings Arms. They have a range of good food and drinks to tide you over until dinner.

The grounds of the hotel are impressive and well worth an amble. The food is very good, as is the wine and after dinner you can take a stroll back to The Kings Arms, where you can enjoy a lively chat with the friendly owners and locals. An excellent experience, which is a must for all residents of the Temple Sowerby House.

A word caution- the dog friendly policy consists of dogs having to stay in your car so think twice before bringing your pooch. All in all, we highly recommend this hotel; it represents a dying breed of stiff family run hotels in England, which should be experienced while they still exist.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
9  Thank DrLAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at The House at Temple Sowerby, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Thank you for writing this review of the Kings Arms – a worthy hostelry across the road from TSH. However, one factual error to correct first…these guests did not arrive with a dog and so I’m not sure where they got our ‘dog policy’ from but it is not correct! We have 2 Coach House rooms in which dogs can be kept with their owners, or vice versa.

Now, Dear Reader, listen well…you arrive at a hotel, are shown around the property by the owner himself, who is a very amenable chap, and then shown up to your room by said owner. He also assists in directing you to a local walk and lends you a map for ease of navigation. You wander across to the above inn for a drink after a superb dinner. On your return, the same host awaits to provide you with a late night-cap in the bar. Decide for yourselves – does this sound ‘frosty’ or ‘stiff’ to you? I must protest!

Would you then, Dear Reader, having armed yourself with a couple of dozen business cards from the aforementioned inn, gone around the hotel and placed them in various wine lists, guest information, armchairs, mantelpieces, to name but a few - I rather think you wouldn’t!
These actions make for a very amusing prank…for a twelve-year old perhaps. At the age of fifty something, it is merely puerile. Alas, university ‘lecturers’ are not what they were…perhaps more of ‘a oral test’ ? (after ‘watery fowls’)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Stayed here for three weeks again this year on our summer holiday. Paul and Julie were excellent hosts as ever, all of the staff were very friendly and helpful, the place was still spotless and the rooms really luxurious.

Head Chef Dan has left and been replaced by Jack Bradley but no need to worry as his cooking (with assistant Alex) was absolutely delicious. Jack is a keen forager and several of his dishes reflected this, e.g. the meadowsweet dessert, which was easily my favourite pud. The quail, Goosnargh duck, hogget, flatiron steak, brill, mackerel, salmon and monk fish were also extremely popular choices. All was washed down with a truly amazing selection of eclectic wines from around the world that were chosen each night for us by Paul to match the food.

If we ever come back to the Lake District, then this will by my first choice of hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at The House at Temple Sowerby, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Thank you so much for reviewing. It was lovely to have you all with us again this year and we're delighted you enjoyed it as much as last time! As you say, Jack's menus certainly maintain, if not surpass, those from your previous visit and they are always interesting. It's good fun too, selecting wines to accompany his menus and I'm glad you enjoyed them all. Look forward to seeing you all again next year maybe? Our best wishes to you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017

The food continues to be magical - never a wrong note! The rooms are comfortable, the garden so beautiful, the whole ambience peaceful and refreshing. A perfect hostess and host and beautiful ducks!

One tip - each room has subtly different views - discuss this when booking!

Room Tip: All rooms are good - phone Julie to discuss!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

Dinner for two for our wedding anniversary. Heard lots of good reports about TSH, so we were keen to experience it for ourselves.
A quiet and calm country house, knowledgable staff, very good food and extensive wine selection. Enjoyed every dish, food beautifully presented and great flavours.
Will happily return. A lovely experience.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pudslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at The House at Temple Sowerby, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

We're delighted that the experience lived up to the hype! What a lovely review, thank you. I'll certainly pass your comments on to Jack, our Chef, he'll be very happy that you enjoyed his menu so much. He changes the menu on a regular basis to maintain seasonality as much as possible, so you must come every month for a new experience! Thanks again and hope to see you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017

I stayed here at the end of June and had a super time. The room I had at the front of the hotel was spacious and airy, spotless and very well appointed with a comfy bed and stylish en-suite. I ate in the award winning restaurant overlooking the croquet lawn, where the guests were entertained by a family of small ducklings, and I had one of the most delicious starters I think I have ever had. Nowadays in hotels, one always seems to have to wander around a breakfast buffet, but not here. Breakfast, again in the restaurant, was chosen off the menu, and all was fresh and hot, setting me up for the day ahead.
The owners were very welcoming and happy to chat as they personally attended on their guests. This place is a real gem, ideal for an overnight stay when heading up to Scotland from the south, as I was.

Room Tip: Talk to Mr and Mrs Evans about what you'd like.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 9sjwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul e, Owner at The House at Temple Sowerby, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, it's much appreciated. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay, particularly the food which is always a highlight! The entertainment provided by the ducks is totally free of charge - an added bonus! Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews