We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect long waits and terrible service”
Review of Black Horse Cafe

Black Horse Cafe
Price range: US$5 - US$11
Description: Café serving breakfasts, lunches and homemade cakes.
Restaurant details
Description: Café serving breakfasts, lunches and homemade cakes.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Avoid at all costs. We waited 20 minutes to be served whilst waitresses chatted to each other and tables were not cleared. 2pm visit was not during the busy lunchtime rush but just customers wanting tea and cakes. This place gives the impression of the worst king of Care Home or institutional environment. No attempt to even speak or acknowledge customers on entering. What a shame as its is obvious somebody has cared in the past but its gone downhill since then.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie S, Manager at Black Horse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi David,
I am very sorry to hear about your experience at The Black Horse Cafe. I am the manager of the business and I was out front on the 4th of April so I can assure you everyone was very happy with our service. We train our staff members to give good customer service and take pride in our business. If anyone is ever unhappy I would suggest taking it up with myself on the day so we can resolve the issue there and then.
Kind Regards
Sophie Steel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 43 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2018

I visit once or twice month and the food never disappoints. The staff are friendly, the cakes scrumptious and a very decent cup of tea. The breakfasts are good, the bubble & squeak is amazing, real homemade comfy food at its best, with a lovely runny egg on top.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traceykbkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie S, Manager at Black Horse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thankyou for your review! We're glad you enjoy our bubble and squeak, it's our best selling dish! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

Stopped here after being recommended it from a friend and I wasn’t disappointed.

A great place for a breakfast.

Cakes looked wonderful but I had to say no this time as I’m watching my waist line.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Ian20586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie S, Manager at Black Horse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Thankyou for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!
From all staff at The Black Horse Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

We visited this fabulous cafe today which had been recommended to us by some friends. Good home cooking with a specials board too and lovely homemade cakes. We had a good breakfast. Fabulous friendly staff. We were greeted with a friendly smile & a hello! Even the chef came out to see if everything was ok! A great find! Keep it up Blackhorse cafe. We will be back!
We popped in the Horse shop next door which was not so welcoming. Too cold to browse & not so friendly staff.
We purchased a Christmas tree from the nursery. A good selection and a found the member of staff very helpful.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank positiveadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie S, Manager at Black Horse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Thankyou for your review, we are glad you had a good breakfast and welcoming experience at our cafe! Hope to see you again soon!
From all at The Black Horse Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Proper tasty food cooked without fuss. Super breakfasts using local bacon, sausages etc, and endless homemade cakes for those with a sweet tooth and no regard for their waistline. With country clothing and plants for sale on the same premises, it is a very pleasant place to spend a couple of hours at any time of year.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank meakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie S, Manager at Black Horse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Thankyou for your review, Hope to see you again soon.
From all at The Black Horse Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Horse Cafe also viewed

 
Earls Colne, Essex
 
Great Tey, Colchester
 

Been to Black Horse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing