We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Enjoyable Meal.”

The Woodsman Bar and Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Woodsman Bar and Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 88 Restaurants in Leyland
Price range: US$1 - US$19
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: It’s a great place to enjoy a meal & drink with family and friends with a great range of British & Italian dishes. Perfect venue for parties & other occasions.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

A welcome return to this pub restaurant after a short absence found the service very good, warm welcome by staff and quickly shown to a table .and our orders taken.
My meal of Beef and Ale Pie came in dish with chunky chips cauliflower, beans and carrots. Meal was piping hot, quality tasty meat and well flavoured gravy. Very filling and tasty meal.
My wife ordered the Salmon Linguine which did not disappoint.
A pint of Doombar ale to follow and our evening meal was complete.
Waitresses were very attentive and helpful we will definitely return soon.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vuepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

43 - 47 of 351 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Good food, great price and friendly staff went on a Tuesday night with family. Would come back again thanks for a lovely time

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Elvira t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

Called in for Sunday lunch. Very average to say the least. Roast potatos looked like they had been in a nuclear reactor for a fortnight, but credit to the staff they were changed for some that were far more appealing when we asked. However the roast beef was like a bit of old leather. Clearly had not come off a cooked joint, but was just warmed up (not cooked) pre-sliced beef, even an upgrade from standard cutlery to a steak knife wasn’t up to the job. Have eaten here previously and not had a problem, so very disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank Evans_Arnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

(Wish I could do 0 stars) Start of the evening was fine, ordered food, table across complained food was frozen, ordered sirloin steak well done, was well done to the point could only eat 2 pieces of a £15 steak, came as rump (when asked for sirloin) asked for manager, when he came over asked who he was and automatically became defensive and angry, wouldn’t let me leave without paying, I said I would pay for everything but the steak all he did was knock £5 off. Absolutely disgusting and staff seemed so on edge, awkward and uncomfortable evening.

Date of visit: March 2018
8  Thank B13632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

Visited here last weekend with husband for tea after work. The fish and chips was the worst meal I have ever eaten took 40 mins to arrive was a soggy lukewarm mess. Staff were very rude when I mentioned it we paid the bill and left. Avoid at all costs!!!

Date of visit: February 2018
10  Thank Vickyb1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flori F, Owner at The Woodsman Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Dear Vicky, first i would like to thank you for your time and ask you to check if your review is on the right restaurant page as we do not have any kind of complaints on our records for last weekend regarding disappointment on the quality of food either long waiting time (as we always inform our customers if there is a wait of more than 30min). Although i would invite you to come and try our buttered haddock as it is one of our best selling items of the menu and i can unsure you that you won't have to wait for it more than 15 minutes on our busiest times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woodsman Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Leyland, Lancashire
Leyland, Lancashire
Leyland, Lancashire

Been to The Woodsman Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing