We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great valentines”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Quay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great valentines”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just arrived back from a 2 night 'valentines' break at this hotel, the room was of a high standard with a large confortable bed and large bath with seperate shower, included in our price was the evening meal which was of a very high stadard and tasted terrific (the cheescake dessert is to die for !!!) We used the gym and pool over two days at various times and these facilities are excellent, all in all the hotel was fantastic and the staff were very helpful, If I was to try and dig deep for any faults then I would suggest the breakfast should be stocked up for self service as it appeared may items were cooked to order if you arrived after 9.00am, also the hotel worker who just let himself into our room looking for a travel cot (should have gone next door) should have knocked first.... all in all an excellent hotel which we will look to visit again in the summer

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments following your 2 night Valentine Break at the Quay. I was so pleased to read of your obvious appreciation of our accommodation, restaurant and leisure facilities. Chef was delighted to know that her Cheesecake was "to die for".

Your helpful remarks regarding breakfast service are most welcome and will be discussed with my team. My sincere apoloiges for the issue with one of my porters mistaking your room for another.

We look forward to welcoming you back later on in the summer.

Kind regards

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    621
    244
    104
    68
See reviews for
365
1,447
47
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My boyfriend took me to this hotel for a Valentines treat, we stayed for one night and loved every minute! arrived saturday afternoon and checked in within 5 mins, excellent service and very friendly staff. we arrived around 2pm thinking our room wouldnt be ready until 4 but to our surprise the room was waiting for us and we were able to make full use of the pool and spa! everything in this hotel was amazing! the rooms were huge with the biggest comfyest beds, the bathroom was fit for a king! his and hers sinks and a very large bath plus a shower, everything we needed was to hand and if it wasnt its pretty obvious that a call to the reception is all it takes! we had a room with a balcony overlooking the bay and even though it was a bit chilly i didnt stop us having a little drink outside while enjoying the views. we didnt stay at the restaurant for dinner, instead we took a stroll up to Nikki Ips chiniese restaurant, this was a little pricey but great food and we didnt mind as it was a special occasion. we did have breakfast at the hotel and this again was lovely! we decided to go early as we were told it gets quite busy but we were the only people in the restaurant which was great! food was delicious and plenty to choose from. Overall i give it 10 out of 10 and would definately return! hopin to come back in the summer to get more chance to see the amazing views.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamanda-Spice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
So pleased to read how much you enjoyed your Valentines treat at the Quay Hotel last Saturday. Delighted to know of your appreciation of our Spa, pool, fabulous views and amazing rooms and we scored 10 out of 10 !!

You kind comments in respect of my team and your delicious breakfast has been passed on to my staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the near future.

Regards

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just returned from a night's stay at the Quay Hotel.
What a gem!! Gorgeous location and gorgeous hotel. A Couple of days before we arrived we noticed the rate had reduced online so upon ringing the hotel they ammended our booking of the lower rate. We arrived at 12 getting into our room looking onto the marina. We asked about lcoal restaurants in the area (we would of liked to eat in the restaurant however there was nothing suitbale on the menu for myself). The porter brought a list with highlighed recommended restaurants.
Fab spa facilities however the pool was a little cold for my liking.
Room gorgeous however once again a little cold make sure you turn the heating on!
Bar excellent entertainment live singer.
Breakfast was nice we went down at 9.30 little messy and not enough staff however throughly nice.
Overall I would come back to the hotel however not much to do in the area.

Room Tip: Looking Onto The Marina was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsLubyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Many thanks for your kind appreciation of your recent stay at the Quay Hotel, Delighted to hear you enjoyed the "gorgeous" location and room, spa facilities and that one of our porters was able to assist in recommending local restaurants.

Your constructive comments regarding the pool temperature and breakfast staffing levels are being addressed and pleased to note you would like to return for another visit. If we can be of more help with your plans, we can always assist with details of places to visit and things to do in the area.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I booked an overnight stay for Saturday 11th Feb2012 including breakfast , for myself,wife and the dog. The staff were very friendly and made a fuss of the dog.The room was all we could have wished for, with the option of a cage for the dog if needed(which we didn't).Having the dog we chose room service for our evening meal and had the choice of every menu available. We chose from the grill menu and had a delicious meal delivered on time. We ordered breakfast in the room and had a fantastic choice and again delivered on time and piping hot. The fact the room had patio doors with patio & furniture,overlooking the marina made it very easy to accomodate the dog.The best weekend we have had at any hotel when accompanied by the dog. Will definitely be going again.
P.S. The hotel ammenities and location were top drawer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigsid25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your generous compliments, delighted to know that your weekend was "brilliant" and we offered all the facilities you could have wished for. I was pleased to note your kind appreciation of our food, room service, amenities and our stunning location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We have been to the Quay hotel a few times now. It is our favourite hotel in the country, but we'd never taken our daughter there before. The last time we went, I was still pregnant. We booked a suite and were given a travel cot; the room was amazing and we were put on the ground floor, to make it easier with the pram. The restaurant staff were amazing with our daughter, we weren't made to feel like we were in the way or like she was making too much noise (she likes to shout), like you can at a lot of place. They couldn't do enough to make sure we were ok and had enough of everything. Each time Rose threw a toy on the floor, a waiter would come along and pick it up for her, even before I could. We were SO happy with our stay and the way they were with our 6-month old daughter, we booked another stay. Katy on reception helped us and I couldn't believe how good she was. She pre booked our room number to make sure we had exactly what we needed and were put on the ground floor in exactly the room we wanted to be in. It was only her second or third day, but that's what I like about the Quay. The quality of staff is so high, you could be forgiven for thinking you were royalty! We're going back in 2 days and I can't wait!

This for us was a family break but was also wonderful for us before we had our daughter and were just a couple. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the estuary and Conwy Castle. You'll pay about £50 more but it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevans46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
How lovely to hear that you have enjoyed the Quay as a couple and now as a family with your daughter. Thank you for your kind compliments in respect of my team, your words of appreciation have been passed on to the individuals. I was delighted to hear we had provided the perfect accommodation for you and able to assist with the needs of your little daughter.

Very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Just wanted to send an overdue thank you to all the staff at your hotel. My parents  had a wonderful time at the Quay Hotel in January and said that you made their stay very special. I got them a suite there as a gift and they enjoyed everything from the quality of the accommodation to the afternoon tea and dinner (which they raved about!) the great views from their balcony and the spa treatments. I'll be sure to recommend you to other friends and family. Thanks again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks, delighted to know your parents stay with us at the Quay Hotel was such a success. I was so pleased to hear of their appreciation of the Suite accommodation, Spa treatments, our stunning views, and their enjoyment of Dinner and Afternoon Tea.

Your generous recommendations to friends and family is most welcome and we look forward to seeing you and your parents again on another occasion.

Kind regards

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We arrived on Sunday afternoon (girlfriend, her mother and sister were also doing the Spa/massage experience the next day). We booked a twin and a double very reasonably priced considering how nice the hotel is (there is a special offer on Sundays, which also gets you a 3 course meal and breakfast each).

The place is quite difficult to find (sat-nav failed us) but once we got there the service was first class. Natasha (I think) on reception asked if it was a special occasion and as one of us was celebrating her birthday, she told us she would upgrade both rooms for us full of charge. We were moved to a large ground floor room with patio area overlooking the sea and the other half of our quartet were shown to a quite fabulous penthouse suite with separate living room areas and balcony). Such a nice touch.

We ate at the restaurant, which was all included in the Sunday night deal (although we did pay supplements for some dishes) and this was top notch fine cuisine, that tasted even better than it looked. The next morning we had a hot breakfast, served to us at our tables.

The swimming pool is quite large, with a sauna and steam room, and the gym is small but quite good for a hotel gym, with 3 treadmills, plus bikes, crosstrainers, rowers, and a bench with some free weights and a cable machine.

I can't honestly say too much about the location as we did not do much exploring, only being there for one night. The spot itself is idyllic overlooking the bay with a good shot of Conwy Castle. And despite the freezing weather hitting the country at the time, it seemed strangely mild here by the sea, with no frost or snow.

Overall, exceptional, one of the best all-round hotel stays I've had anywhere, across a number of continents, particularly for the standard of service. If you were to press for me any bad points, the only thing I can genuinely say is that the yolk in the poached egg at breakfast wasn't runny!

Room Tip: Go on your birthday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethT_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O, General Manager at The Quay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for your great feedback, delighted to know your recent stay with such a success, Glad to hear you enjoyed our Spa massage experience, our restaurant, service and appreciated the accommodation upgrade.

Look forward to welcoming you back for that soft poached egg !!

Kind regards

Steve Ogden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deganwy
1.8 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.1 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
21.8 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
3.7 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
39.9 km away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Hotel & Spa

Property: The Quay Hotel & Spa
Address: Deganwy Quay, Deganwy LL31 9DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Deganwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deganwy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic Conwy Estuary,the luxury 4* Quay Hotel commands awe-inspiring views of the most magical scenery in North Wales. Offering 74 en-suite luxury bedrooms,including waterfront Suites and Penthouses. All rooms have been exquisitely designed, and boast spacious bathrooms, incorporating all the style and comfort you would expect from this award-winning hotel. Our Waterfront Lounge Bar and Vista Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy an informal meal or alfresco dining by the water’s edge. The 2 AA Rosette Grill Room Restaurant introduces you to a mouth-watering selection of award-winning culinary delights encompassing locally produced and sourced ingredients to present the true Welsh flavour of the region. Advance bookings required.Relax in our on-site Spa offering a host of indulgent treatments using Aromatherapy Associates and REN Products. Advance Bookings required.Our Complimentary Leisure Facilities include a 15M indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, aromatheraphy steam room, hydrotherapy whirpool and life fitness gym. The Hotel offers ample free car parking on site and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all areas. The Quay Hotel and Spa is only a short drive from the Victorian town of Llandudno, the Historic town of Conwy and within a 45 minute drive from the breath-taking Snowdonia national park. On the doorstep there are the award winning Golf Courses - A great location for exploring North Wales! Located only minutes from the A55 and only 2 minute drive from Llandudno Junction railway station with direct links from London, Chester, Manchester, Cardiff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Hotel And Spa
The Quay Hotel Deganwy
Quay Hotel Conwy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing