We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveller rating
1,047
452
136
47
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,047
452
136
47
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews macdonald hotels woodland wing new wing feature room main restaurant afternoon tea lovely hotel stately home g bar country house classic room drawing room the north yorkshire moors evening meal night break fountain suite the main house
Filter
Updating list...
663 - 668 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2015

Stayed at this hotel for the 3-day festive break over the Christmas period (24 Dec 15 - 27 Dec 15). This country house hotel is located just outside the village of Guisborough with the North Yorkshire moors and the coast within easy reach. Unfortunately, due to the persistent wet weather over Christmas we did not take the opportunity to explore the region.
We stayed in the Fountain Suite which is located in the main house and consists of two very large rooms. The bedroom comes complete with a four poster bed and various items of period furniture The sitting room is furnished with two large settees, a large roll top desk, circular dining table with 4 chairs and various other pieces of period furniture. Both the bedroom and the sitting room have televisions. The tea and coffee making facilities are located in the sitting room. The large bathroom contains 2 wash basins, a full size Jacuzzi spa bath, separate shower and toilet.
The service provided during our stay was excellent, all the staff being well trained and confident in everything they do. There were good menu choices and all the meals were of a high standard. If we lived near this hotel we would be quite happy to add the restaurant to our list of places to eat. The entertainment and activities provided by the hotel were also very good. The Jaz trio featured on boxing day evening being an absolute delight to listen to.
To sum up our stay, we were well served, well fed and well entertained. I will definitely be looking to book a Summer break at this hotel which we will use as a base from which to explore the North Yorkshire moors and coast.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the old house for period features.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pugwash123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2016

Dear Pugwash123

It was super having the opportunity in looking after you during the Christmas break. I have had lovely comments from all of our guests, I thought that the programme we offered suited all tastes.

Over half of our Christmas guests have rebooked already for Christmas 2016, we would love to have you back, the Fountain Suite is still free?

Meanwhile I hope that you will return in the summer and use us as a base to explore our amazing countryside.

kind regards
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2015

For start to finish our stay at Gisborough Hall was excellent. From the warm welcome at reception to Byron and Gareth in the restaurant. Byron was the ultimate in hospitality and anything we wanted was not too much trouble. Gareth was a delight and even put logs on the fire as we sat finishing our coffees. The rooms were beautiful full of little extras like sherry on the mantel piece and chocolates wrapped in ribbon as part of the turn down service. Overall a very special stay.

Stayed: December 2015
3  Thank doyle65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2016

Dear doyle65

Thank you for your lovely post, we are so happy that you had a special stay with us. Both Byron and Gareth were delighted that they were recognised.

We wish you a happy new year, and hope that you will soon return. We have a fabulous "come back soon" offer available until Easter, why not come and see us again??

Kind regards
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2015

Just back from a short 3 night stay at the Gisborough Hall Hotel - in a word fantastic!
From the moment we checked in, we were well looked after, We had a double room on the 2nd floor of the old hall, it was spacious, warm and the decor was lovely.
The lounges were comfortable, warm and cosy with log fires a burning.
The restaurant was inviting, the food superb with each meal including breakfast beautifully presented, and delivered by the most attentive staff.
The friendliest staff you could wish to meet, clearly we didn't meet all the staff, but the ones we did - Kirsty, Clare, Manuel, Emma, Sharon & Maureen were all lovely and nothing was too much trouble.

If you are looking for a lovely place to stay with excellent food and attentive service we can highly recommend the Gisborough Hall

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2015

Dear Alan P

Thank you for your lovely review.

The team remember you staying with us, it was a pleasure looking after you. The team, in particular: Kirsty, Clare, Manuel, Emma, Sharon & Maureen thank you very much.

Why not stay in the new year? we have a fabulous "come back soon" offer running from January 1st until Easter??

Meanwhile I send you my best wishes for the season.

kind regards
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Upon arrival were welcome drinks in the foyer. The main hall was beautifully decor and nicely presented, easy to find table.
The service was perfect.
Also, the entertainment after eating was great, selection of songs were good and dance competition. Should include karaoke and more competitions to engage guests more.
The let down of this night was the food.
For starter was tomato and basil soup, it was lacking flavour and was like water.
The main was a chicken dinner, with 3 carrots and 3 sprouts as hard as bullets, small chicken breast with a dry burnt skin and two potatoes.... Talk about size portion
The pudding was cheesecake and was average taste.
If they changed the food system id come back.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Bfordx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2015

Dear Bfordx

Thank you for posting your review, I am delighted that you overall enjoyed your party night, only extremely sorry that you found your meal was unsatisfactory.

I have spent some time with my team, analysing the party night that you attended to find out what we did differently that night? All previous parties have had positive comments.

This weekend, I will watch all of the food leave the kitchen, and will personally taste the dishes.

I really hope that you will come back. Meanwhile, I wish you and your family a very happy Christmas.

kind regards
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2015

We've just returned from a fantastic stay at Gisborough Hall. Firstly, I have to say the Staff were absolutely brilliant ! If there was a mark out of 6, I'd be giving them that instead of out of 5. Nothing was too much trouble. They were all very pleasant & attentive.
We were in the new part of the Hotel, the Woodlands wing, and the room was great. Very clean with an excellent sized bathroom. Not poky like many hotel bathrooms tend to be. Also, what's the one thing that everyone wants in a hotel room ? A nice hot powerful shower, yes ? Not some lack luster drippy shower. Well the room we were in (101) had the most powerful shower that either my wife or myself had experienced in any hotel. Took the top layer of skin off ....... brilliant ! Plus there was lashings of hot water for a lovely bath !
We had an evening meal at the hotel, which again, was very good. All in all, we really enjoyed our short stay & would definately recommend the hotel to anyone up in the North East.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andywhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2015

Dear andywhalley

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review.

I am absolutely delighted that you so enjoyed your short break at the hotel.

Thank you for recommending us, we would love you to return, and to this end are offering a very attractive "come back soon offer" until Easter next year. Please book.

We wish you a happy Christmas and best wishes for the New Year.

Kind regards,
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews