We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great highland stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of West Carie Cottage

The cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage
The approach to the cottage The cottage seen through the woods
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
The cottage
The approach to the cottage
The cottage seen through the woods
The master bedroom
The master bedroom, with wood burning stove
The garden room
The garden room stove, leading to the kitchen
The kitchen/dining room
The garden room & patio
The approach to the cottage
Our pier on the loch
The loch on a beautiful calm day
Sunset on teh loch (winter
The track over to Glen Lyon
View of Loch Rannoch from one of the walks
Sunset on the loch (summer)
The view of Loch Rannoch from the top of nearby Shiehallion (munro)
'The Queen's View', Loch Tummel with Shiehallion in background
The view of Loch Tummel from the top of nearby Shiehallion (munro)
Where we are
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kinloch Rannoch, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amelia J
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great highland stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This cottage is set in an idyllic setting, close to the banks of Loch Rannoch and close to lots of lovely walks. The cottage itself benefits from (what I assume) is the addition of a new living area with 3 large sofas, a TV which even has Netflix and a real fire. With 2 double bedrooms and a twin , this was a great getaway to come to with my friends and their boyfriends. There is even a tree swing, tyre swing and an area to have campfires outside. We were not stuck for entertainment as there is a vast array of board games too. We took full advantage of the kitchen/diner and ate in every night. Would not hesitate to recommend to a friend. Hope I can come back! Thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacatione...
Alford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Pet-friendly Highland retreat”
Reviewed September 3, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Great location, immaculately maintained cottage and garden. The cottage was well stocked with everything required for a perfect stay and the garden large enough for the dogs to explore and have a run around.
The visiting Pine Marten was an added bonus.
Thank you to Dawn and Hans for providing such a great cottage and allowing us to stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lategeogr...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The ultimate comfortable country cottage”
Reviewed August 8, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This is a very well maintained cottage which we have now visited several times. The area is delightful and it is wonderful to return to the cottage after walking or touring.Very well equipped for food storage and cooking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Unforgettable Experience in the Scottish Highlands”
Reviewed August 8, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Everything about our weekend stay at West Carie Cottage exceeded our high expectations from the quality of accommodation to the spectacular views across the loch. Everything was there that we could have expected and more. So many character touches including pictures of stags on cushions and hand made lamps from tree stumps. We even enjoyed a family sing song and story telling whilst toasting marshmallows on the fire pit. Looking forward already to a return trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherylhol...
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is so cute and cosy with a great sun room for relaxing as a family! We were so lucky with the weather (high 20s) so the garden was perfect for eating out and generally lazing around. We had a 17month old with us who loved the outdoor space for running around!
We got to meet some gorgeous pine martins who live in the loft (mum and baby) which was exciting to see up close!
The location is literally a 2 minute walk onto the loch and lovely walks in the forests out the back of the house!
Dawn and Hans are amazing hosts - always on hand when there are any issues (we had some problems with trip advisor before our trip) - I can’t rate them enough!!!
This was literally a little piece of heaven - our only regret was that we weren’t there longer!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
Dear Sheryl, thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and had such a positive experience. It is indeed a very special place! We look forward to welcoming you back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in amazing location”
Reviewed March 26, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The cottage is very comfortable, the garden is amazing, lots of birds and even a pine marten come to visit. If you like hill walking this is the place to be.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the country, it’s the perfect spot to get away from it all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing