We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing fortress in an amazing location

Built in the most beautiful and strategic location of the whole area, it is easily visible from all... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
thomasozbun
,
Vicenza, Italy
The views alone are worth a visit.

This ancient fort, dating back to the 1200-1300's, is built on the pinnacle of this part of... read more

Reviewed October 13, 2018
Michael S
Read all 430 reviews
  
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
259
134
20
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
134
20
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stunning views worth a visit fortress castle definitely recommend a visit giving information bar restaurant pasta entrance fee tower val climb fortezza grounds tuscany miles lunch countryside
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 430 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2016

An ancient fortress on a volcanic plug, visible for miles around. Stunning Tuscan views from the top of the tower. You can drive right up to it, but we decided to walk up from the village.
At the foot of the castle is a chalet where we had an excellent meal of fresh ravioli and red wine. No menu, no prices, just a total at the end. That's how it used to be, our B&B told us. We liked the wine so much, we took some back with us in a water bottle the owner filled for us.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2016

We visited the Radicofani fortress, which gives spectacular views over this part of Tuscany. You can drive the whole way up the the fortress, which is definitely worth a visit. There is also a restaurant at the top serving home made pasta.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2016

The best castle/fortress in Italy. Stunning views from all angles. Incredible history. Not overrun by tourist. Fantastic bar/cafe at foot of the fortress.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank charla64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

This was such a fun way to share a bit of the rich history of the area with our 6 and 9 year old nephews. Exploring the fortress really allows the imagination to run. The lack of crowds and the quality of the restoration really made it feel like we stepped back in time. If you're traveling with or without kids, this is well worth the detour. Plus, the view from the top of the tower can't be beat!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

This was such a fun way to share a bit of the rich history of the area with our 6 and 9 year old nephews. Exploring the fortress really allows the imagination to run. The lack of crowds and the quality of the restoration really made it feel like we stepped back in time. If you're traveling with or without kids, this is well worth the detour. Plus, the view from the top of the tower can't be beat!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews