We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
The view from the cottage in winter.
Portgower Beach 3 minutes walk from the cottage
The view from the cottage.
The front of the cottage.
The river Helmsdale nearby is a popular fishing spot for Prince Charles.
Sunrise from the living room window.
Dornoch Golf Course 3rd Hole.
The village is idyllic. It is surrounded by fields and faces the sea.
Enjoy beautiful sunrises from the comfort of the cottage.
Relax in front of an open fire in the living room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Helmsdale, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MGS44
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A lovely home from home”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week in Palm Tree Cottage in early January and had a great time. "Cottage" doesn't do the property justice really as it is a sizable house. Whilst being a traditional stone building the decor and furniture are lovely and modern and everything needed for a comfortable stay was provided.

We had different missions during our stay. I had to keep up my online work, and the reliable Wifi was perfect for that. My husband was there to fish, and having the Helmsdale on our doorstep was perfect. And our little boy loved the beach which is only a few minutes walk away.

We loved that the cottage is in a quiet side road but has perfect access to the main road, which meant we could nip into Helmsdale within a few minutes or further north or south. There are a couple of nice eating places in the village, although we mainly stuck to lunch and coffee breaks and cooked in the house.

And of course there is the lovely sea view - we stayed during quite a stormy and snowy week so just gazing at the sea provided plenty of entertainment.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that your husband caught a fish! I hope you will come back again soon. Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanaj_71
Cardenden, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic homely cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I have just returned after spending 2 weeks at the cottage which is located in the village of Portgower, I wasn't sure what to expect as you can only tell so much from photos, I wasn't disappointed at all..

The cottage has a lovely feel to it, homely and warm, downstairs is a massive kitchen with range cooker (i didn't actually use this) and an electric cooker, the kitchen table overlooks the little road outside with a view across to the sea. A very spacious double bedroom is also downstairs, a shower room and a bathroom, the utility area has a couple of chair beds....

Upstairs is a very cosy living room with dining area, a second double bedroom which has a small ensuite (wc only).... the views upstairs are fantastic and once you get the wee fire going the room is even cosier.... funniest thing was seeing the sheep being run along the wee street outside of an evening and in the morning sometimes :-)

The cottage for me was sooo perfect as it has so much character... and is excellently located for touring around the local area. I did think it was closer to the beach than it actually was but the walk down the track was lovely in the morning and at night... the fact that the locals themselves keep the track clear is brilliant (I spoke one morning to the guy who was out with his scythe clearing the way). It is pebble beach but if you walk along to the left for about 10 mins you come to a grassy clearing which was nice to sit at and i did see a seal one day

There are no shops in Portgower so i stopped at Inverness to buy all my food/drink on the way up.... Helmsdale is just 5 mins drive away where there is a small spar shop, several pubs, a renowned chip shop (can definitely recommend it).... www.helmsdale.org.

It is a quiet location and remote'ish so if you are looking for a busy village to stay in, this isn't for you... If however you are looking for a rustic cottage with stunning views and plenty of peace, quiet and chillaxing opportunities then this definitely is the place to visit.

I for one would absolutely go back.

Alana x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the spaciousness of the cottage and the views
Liked least: not being able to use the garden area during my stay, although there is a small grassy area just over the road which i used nearly every day
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2015
I can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and for giving Palm Tree Cottage Retreat five stars. It is exciting that you saw a seal on the beach at Portgower. I have never seen one there, though I see them often at Doll. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back soon. Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NedSyd
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and well-equipped”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was larger than I expected, and equipped with everything you could want for a very comfortable stay. Having two bathrooms was a real bonus and the new shower room is great. The views were lovely and the location very peaceful but conveniently close to local villages. We really enjoyed our stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and for giving Palm Tree Cottage Retreat five stars. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J S
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Sea view”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the position of the cottage it was clean but the room on the front was unusable as it smelt strongly of animal urine, perhaps replacing the carpet with a washable floor covering would solve the problem, the shower downstairs did not work in fact it was not even connected, and the heating/water system was not the best and needs looking at especially for winter renters. We were hoping to see the Northern Lights but sadly it was not to be but the sunrises were beautiful and as a base the cottage was perfectly situated for visiting the Highlands.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
The carpet in the front room is new. Currently there is a shower connection above the bath, but as the reviewer says, the new shower room is not complete. It will be installed in March 2014 and I will upload photos of it then. The heating runs from a solid fuel range cooker, so this makes it a rustic experience as you have to keep the fire lit to get the radiators working. Admittedly, this is not for everyone, but some of my guests love the experience. There is also a solid fuel stove upstairs, which you can open for an open fire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$90
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing