We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very welcoming and pleasant place to stay”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 2 Long Compton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A very welcoming and pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this Inn for just one night whilst visiting relatives who live in the area. On arrival we were made very welcome and showed to our room which was nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. There were ample supplies of tea, coffee and biscuits. The breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals, jams, etc, the cooked option was lovely and served with crunchy, thick pieces of toast. We would definitely recommend this Inn and if we need a bed and breakfast in the future in the area we would certainly try to book in again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    42
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
117
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for one night with friends...plus dog. Evening meal very good, the starter of seared beef in particular was excellent. Service from the moment we arrived till we left also excellent. Warm and welcoming atmosphere.
If I have one small criticism it is that the youthfulness of the wines on the list should not command the prices that are charged. It is a common fault these days I'm afraid.
Room comfortable, and lovely large bathroom, My eyes need a much brighter reading light (energy savers! ) these days..Fortunately I had brought a torch.
Breakfast excellent (smoked haddock and poached egg)
Would stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I, accompanied by our 22-year old (on the day) daughter and her boyfriend, enjoyed a superb meal here on the Saturday lunchtime. We were also joined by our dog but he had to wait for his dinner until he got home! Quite simply, the food and the service were superb. My daughter and myself are vegetarian and were well catered for. After the main meal, we all had a pudding which, although not the cheapest pudding I've had in a pub, was more than worth the little extra in price. Can definitely recommend the rhubarb and apple crumble - absolutely delicious. Joanne, who looked after us, made us feel realy welcome and we really enjoyed our little chats with her. One of the most enjoyable meals out I/we have ever had. Just superb.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The thing that really makes this pub are the staff. Lisa and her team couldn't be more welcoming and helpful. We stayed two nights with our dog and they clearly pride themselves on the attention they pay to both their human and canine clientele. The rooms were clean and comfortable (we had room 3 the king size room) and the food very good with a very well priced (if slightly dull) wine list.

We weren't disappointed by anything that this pub 'did' but being honest we were just a little put off by its location, on a busy 'B road' with many drivers who clearly pay no attention to the 30 speed limit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbitpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our two night stay was absolutely superb. The room was beautifully clean crisp and comfortable. We ate in both nights and, although the menu was a bit predictable, the food was excellent, hot and well presented. We will go back and recommend to the rest of the family. Can't speak highly enough. Thankyou.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My sister stayed at The Red Lion when she came to visit me. We had a lovely meal served by very friendly staff. The bar, restaurant and hotel is dog friendly and it was a bit of a treat for my whippet to stay with me whilst we ate.
My sister said the room she stayed in with her dogs was spotless and had some fabulous, good quality 'extras'.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I've eaten in this pub with family and/or friends many times over the past few years, and each experience has been extremely gratifying. Menu diverse, service excellent, prices reasonable, attractive interior, lovely grounds - what more could one want within reasonably easy striking distance of the Cotswolds and Oxford, Woodstock etc?

Last time was New Year's Eve with a group of friends and, despite the busy-ness at that time, we received excellent food and service yet again, in a suitably and tasteful environment!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shipston-Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Compton
8.4 km away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
21.1 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
8.4 km away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
12.8 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
11.7 km away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Main Street, Long Compton CV36 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Long Compton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Long Compton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion at Long Compton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing