We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Cotswolds getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Byeways

Country cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Country cottage
Street View Outside seating area under pergola perfect for afternoon tea or a glass of wine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Country cottage
Street View
Outside seating area under pergola perfect for afternoon tea or a glass of wine
country kitchen
Newly fitted kitchen with range cooker and mod cons.
Cosy lounge area
Loung and dining
King size bed in a soft grey and lime green colour scheme, original ceilings and elm floor boards.
Twin room
Bathroom
Super king bedroom
Garden
Garden tyre swing
large private garden for kids and dogs to run around in.
Breath taking view from the kitchen
Church of Saints Peter and Paul in Long Compton a short walk from the cottage.
few minutes drive: The Kings Men Stone Circle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Long Compton, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
MeabhQuoi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Cotswolds getaway”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay was wonderful and very much what you imagine a perfect trip to the Cotswolds would contain. The cottage is really beautiful, very tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. The garden is very enchanting too and our children thoroughly enjoyed their Easter egg hunt. Ideal location in terms of getting to all the various sights/outings and the local pub (the Red Lion) is a must. Owners were incredibly helpful in advance of our stay. All in all, I'd thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S
1 review
“A great cottage with bags of character. A real break from the stresses of modern day life!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A beautiful cottage with lots of character. Clean, tidy and well equipped with a super garden for the children to play in. The tyre swing was a big hit and kept the children occupied for hours. There is a local traditional shop which stocks the basics (a little expensive though), and a beautiful church which was a few minutes walk from the cottage. The local pub (Red Lion), served excellent food and was also dog and children friendly. The cottage is on the main road so was a little noisy at times. The only other negative was that the sofa was a bit small and uncomfortable, a little more comfy seating in the lounge would be good. Overall we had a great time and would definitely return again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollie111...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful short break”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Took 4 grandchildren for a short school holiday break . They loved the cottage and had a lovely time in the garden . Plenty of room and a range of DVD supplied . X thanks melody for happy children who will have happy memories of Bye ways .

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCluskey...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Thatched Cottage”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Byeways was a delightful thatched collage. We had a wonderful time exploring the villages of The Cotswolds and can home to a lovely place to cook our meals and enjoy the summer evenings in the pretty garden.
I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.
Many thanks for a fantastic holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fact that it was Thatched and the location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenBett...
London
1 review
“Idyllic chocolate box village...”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Loved our stay in Byeways - ideal location for pottering in villages, going for bike rides/walks (we did both). Loads of National Trust places nearby - highly recommend Hidcote Gardens. Fabulous dinner at the pub (within walking distance). We had a BBQ (all equipment provided) in the gorgeous sunny back garden on our second night - perfect family catch up weekend, thanks so much! I think we may be back again next year....

(Only reason I've put '4' for rooms is that the upstairs single beds are a bit small for adults - perfect for kids/teenagers though I'm sure. Also, a huge bonus for us to escape London/work but just to note there is no phone signal so best to organise navigation in advance (!) - wifi provided though)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside play area
Liked least: Low rear entrance way - bumped my head but I very tall 184cm
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and quality furnishings
Liked least: Getting in and out with the car into a fast road around a blind bend.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing