We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedro Gonzales
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at Dunes for two weeks, at the old side.
But first: Please notice that since there's two exchange rates in Venezuela you need to have a lot of cash when going, using your credit card will be very expensive since you get almost double the amount of money when changing on the black market (The guy at the beach gives good rates!). Also, when leaving, we had to pay 120 usd (2 persons) on the airport to get out of there. And the cash machines there don't work. And they go through your luggage by hand in front of everybody, so hide your dirty underwear!
Anyway, the Dunes resort is a big area and the garden, the trees and flowers are well kept and beautiful. The old side buildings are nice looking, and the rooms are big but quite old. They should touch up the rooms before they get any worse. Our bedroom floor flooded every time it rained (on second floor!)
We only ate occationally at the restaurants, the food was good and a big plus that the nice chilean wine included! Also there were free drinks at the beach and pool all day, and free hamburgers and hotdogs by the pool as well. Nice touch! The beach was stunning, even though the sea was rough most of the time. You were not allowed to walk the beach outside Dunes with a bag or jewellery on, or up to the wonderful lighthouse. We were told there's a chance to get robbed by gun men.
We liked the shows, the movie theatre, the pool tabels and the "library" as well.
Notice that there's an other and a bit bigger minimarket (in one of the older buildings) than the one at the reception. The travel agency there was good, the trip around the island by jeep was a great fun! You get cheaper and good tours at the beach as well.
A special thanks to Frank at the reception who did whatever he could to help us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    514
    346
    155
    112
See reviews for
551
569
23
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is an older resort that is in remarkably good shape. The grounds, buildings and public areas are well maintained. The old section rooms need redecorating inside but even they are reasonable considering the price of this all inclusive.
It sells itself as a 4 star, however 3 would be more appropriate as you can't safeley use the ocean on this beach due to insanly high waves and undertow. Forget about snokling or kayaks etc. also the food is nothing to get excited about. That is not to say the food is bad, just boring.
We took the premium room in the new section, primarily because of all the reviews saying that was the way to go as well as the tour operator brocure which sold it as "adults only". We were serinaded to sleep EVERY night with kids still crying and carrying on after 10pm in the other rooms, so It is child friendly if that's what you want (we didn't). The pools at the main resort were dirty for the two weeks we were there, but you could find shade there. The pool at the premium section was clean but the sun would tear your skin off. Down by the beach there is some shade out of the contant wind under the palm trees which was very nice.
Dining was as I say OK but boring. We found the restaurant in the old section much better than the premium one for breakfast and dinner and the beach restaurant for lunch. The Premium was usually too crouded and noisy. The a-la-carte screwed up our reservation twice. The one time we did eat there I found the staff very unfiendly and the food only margially better, so when they screwed up the resevation on my birthday I was only too happy to go elsewhere.
Conclusion:
If you have kids and you want a cheap vacation in a relatively clean resort without any bells or whistles this would be OK but I might recommend Cayococo or Peuto Plata before this place even though it is cheaper

Room Tip: premium second or third floor have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

if you dont expect to much, you will appreciate dunes. if you go, ask for the premium part of the hotel not much expensive. the wifi is not in your room you have to go in the lobby area and its not very fast. for the food its average everytime, not bad but nothing fancy. not much activities on the beach except volley, no sea doo, windsurfing, boat ride etc. the resort is not near anything you always need a taxi. but you have to go on the jeep safari tour its cheap and awsome...

Room Tip: ask for the premium part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plegault68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

the hotel nice lots of thing to do there and relax at your own pace
plenty food and drink i enjoy it there just the time was short because of flight changes
travel agents especially from trinidad and tobago should be punish when this happen they should refund the people some money or be charged or bear the extra when flight changed and not short change the people
some have to earn the money very very hard
and some even a life saving
also the hotel manages and owers should look at the type of treatment these agent give there own people

Room Tip: say what u like before so they put u in a location suited 4 u i stayed premium it was quit and safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junior642000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Dunes was a fabulous experience, and with my tour operator, who also offered shopping trips almost every day, I had a great time seeing quite a bit of the island. (The retail side anyways).

Nice malls and cute things to get. Visit the flea market (with your belongings kept close) to find great stuff for nice prices. Nothing serious, but you can find awesome pearls in there, which is what Margarita is also known for.

The resort is spread over a sizeable parcel of land and is quite gorgeous. Certainly neo-Caribbean with that large splash of Spanish influence.

The staff are all gracious and attentive, there are smiles everywhere, and learning some simple Spanish phrases goes a loooong way. The only downside is the blah food.

The beach is nice and lively and the restaurant there is the best for lunch. Many grill & fast food options to choose from, sort of like a getaway from the lame fare in the regular buffet restaurants. Each night at the main restaurants were basically the same stuff with a "theme" that didn't really make much of an impact. The meat tends to be hard and overdone.

The nightly shows feature some solid dancing and awesome performers; and the nice family atmosphere means that guests are pleasant and in a great mood, good for making friends and mixing.

The premium pool is the utmost best, and the bar staff everywhere are pretty great.

Also, this may be a deterrent, but there are a couple kittie-cats that roam around, VERY CUTE, very harmless.

There is also a herd or two of CAPYBARA that wander the property, if you are lucky, you may get to see these awesome docile herbivores in the evening around the grounds. An absolutely unexpected and delightful opportunity!

Room Tip: Don't change your money in the bank, you will get the best price for your $ at the beach hut tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FritataZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We just got back from Dunes (Feb 2012) and paid 900$ all inclusive. At that price Cuba and Margarita were our only 2 options. Everything else was over 1000$ easy. We opted for Dunes because of the weather, and we did good :) So all in all, it was worth the money but you can't expect a 4 star resort (2.5 or 3 max)
Quick list:
Weather (usually 32, only got 2 day of cloudy weather but was still like 29 and a tiny bit of liquid sunshine (rain!))
Staff friendly but not much english
Beach itself was nice but water was cold and high waves - pretty windy. We visited another side of the island were the beach was way warmer and no waves....it was great.
Food was better then what you would get in Cuba but still not all that great. Only one a la carte resto but not even worht trying - horrible!
Great kids pool - my daughter loved it
Adult pool was ok but it could have been cleaner
Rooms - we were a large group so I have comments concering every room type! We had the suite, it was very large, AC worked great, hot water was great, 2 full baths, 2 really nice balconies but the room is showing it's age and a little dirty and do not drink the water - yellow! If you had a premium room in the new section, the room was cleaner, newer but much smaller and the new section is much further away (But the resto on the new side was way more pleasant to eat at!). Note everyone that had rooms on the ground floor had bugs in their rooms!
There were lots of stray animals hanging around the restos :(
We were a group of 9 people and everyone had a good time. Don't know if any of us would go back but it was worth visiting.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnviroGorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was my 2nd time in Margarita, 1st time at Dunes Resort. Having ready reviews for most of the resports on the island my expectations were not set too high. I was plesantly surprised by the Dunes Resort, while it is not of 5 star quality the pros heavily outweigh the cons. See below we stayed in the premium section which was recently renovated with some modern fixtures:

Cons:
45 mins - 1 hour away from the airport, mall and downtown shopping area.
Towel and bed linens showed some signs of wear.
The beach is not private so we did experience the occasional vendor asking if we wanted to buy.
On the day before we left the water in the tap ran brow a couple times.
The beach bar seemed a bit under staffed, only 1 or 2 bartenders resulted in a line most of the time.


Pros:
The beach at this hotel was amazing, a bit rough if you're travelling with young kids but great for adults.
The premium rooms are equipped with flat sceen tvs and shower jets. I fully enjoyed showering every day and we never had problems with hot water and the TV had several english channels.
The premium section had its own buffet restuarant and bar so that we were able to avoid the long lines and rush at the main restuarant. While I've been to resorts that offer more variety on a daily basis, the menu changed every day with basics like rice, pasta, potatoes, breads, salad and fruit being available every day.
The nightly shows were very entertaining, we only caught 2 shows during our stay but we enjoyed both.
Though the beach got crowded from very early the staff will bring more lounge chairs once they see that you need.
There are main bars throughout the resort so lines were minimal.
The hotel offers a free shuttle (not sure if it is free to all guests but it was free for Trinidadian guests) to the Sambil mall on a daily basis, once you reserve a spot before the day you want to go they will provide a return trip.

All in all we fully enjoyed the experience at Dunes Resort and I would definitely return again the next time I go to Margarita

Room Tip: TIp: Use a day or 2 to explore the island or mainland Venezuela. Before travelling I read trip advis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trinitravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pedro Gonzales
25.3 km away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
19.9 km away
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Margarita
9.9 km away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#12 of 91 in Margarita Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#3 of 7 in Pampatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
25.0 km away
StevieWonderLand
StevieWonderLand
#1 of 12 in El Yaque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
7.9 km away
LD Le Flamboyant
LD Le Flamboyant
#4 of 16 in Playa el Agua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Calle Campo Elias | Sector El Pueblito, Pedro Gonzales, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Region: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Pedro Gonzales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedro Gonzales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Hotel And Beach Resort
Dunes Hotel Margarita
Dunes Resort All Inclusive Beach
Dunes Beach Resort
Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort Margarita Island, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing