We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very nice resort with many things to do” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedro Gonzales
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very nice resort with many things to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

It wasn't easy to find some hotel on Isla Margarita, which review didn't contain bad service, terrible meal, theft of money or other unpleasant experience. But finally we found Dunes beach and it was really great holiday in very nice resort. Right after our arrival we wanted to change the room because of noisy air-conditioning under the window and receptionist did it in a few minutes without any question. The next room in new area of the resort was farther from the main building, but not so far and it was quiet and nice. Beach was clean and quite quiet, with big waves so there was red flag all the time (but it was possible to swim a little). Water in the swimming pools was clean and warm. Restaurants and bars were full of good food, drinks and likeable staff. Resort offers also spa and sports activity like tennis etc., but we didn't utilize. Program with animation group was funny during the day (aquagym, salsa lessons,...) and also during the evening (traditional dances performance, miss voting, karaoke,...). There were also good parties with local people in Cubos club. I like this place and if I travel again to Isla Margarita, I will stay in this resort. You can't expect luxury there, but it belongs to South America style. I think this resort is one of the best in Venezuela and much better than most of the five-stars resorts in Cuba.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in new area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pavlína S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    520
    351
    155
    112
See reviews for
564
579
25
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My DH and I visited Dunes several years ago and absolutely loved it. We had never stayed at an all inclusive resort before, and we were not expecting much in the food area. We were pleasantly surprised. DH loved all the fresh fruit at each meal and the buffets were generally well stocked. They also have specialty restaurants that you can visit with reservations. The room was small, but wonderfully maintained. Each day, housekeeping either had flowers on the bed or some ingenious animal made out of the towel. We got a great tip on Tripadvisor about a beach shack just down from the resort where the shrimp were unbelievable. Of course, we went there and could not believe it. The shrimp were prepared anyway you wanted and I swear they were 8 inches long. We met lots of Europeans and made friends that we still communicate with. This is a great value, and we would love to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank compassquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have travelled to a few countries in this area and I have to say that this was the worst we have seen. Our premium room was missing night stands and tables. The premium rooms are approximately two years old and they look to be about 10. Things falling apart, holes in walls and leaking water. Speaking of which the hot water in our rooms ran brown all the time. The only good thing was the shower it was awesome.

Our friends had about $100 stolen from their room. Where was the security when you needed them or did they have the key that let the person in....who knows!

The food was not very good. Found that there was the same stuff most of the time. Breakfast was our stable meal. Can't go wrong with eggs. We all four of ended up really sick and I mean sick. Couldn't get out of bed for two days. I have been home for 6 weeks now and I still am not back to par.

The grounds of the Dunes are beautiful. They really do take care in this. The flowers and the fountains are well taken care of. We found some of the people friendly but for the most part the employees were too busy talking or texting on their phones to take the time to help you out. Didn't see much of the entertainment crew around the pool. Not much activity as far as we were concerned and we spend quite a bit of time around the pool. Read three books that is how quite it was around there.

Would I return or recommend this resort to anyone....not in this lifetime,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cam4bam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pedro Gonzales hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Thought I would write a review because I stayed at this place and had a great time! A lot of reviewers seem to have unrealistic expectations, South America/Caribbean is not Europe or America! Don't expect the Hilton or Four Seasons and you might just enjoy yourself! This place is pretty much better than any Cuban resort: the weather is ALWAYS good in Margarita (no rain and 40C everyday); the food is better than Cuba; everything is cheap in Venezuela and you can find whatever you want; Porlamar, Margarita Island is actually a pretty good place to shop; weekly/bi-weekly rates are comparable to any Cuban resort. If you're thinking of going to a Cuban resort why not try the Dunes instead?
I only have a few cons...
Con: the water at the Dunes beach is a little bit rough so not the best swimming.
Con: Can be hard to change money, ATMs pay the official exchange rate which is garbage.
Con: it's illegal to change money on the black market, however, you get twice as much money back! Margarita is cheap when you change money on the black market and expensive if you don't!
If you do decide to stay:
Check out Playa Zaragosa, it is a pretty little beach town which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Zaragosa has lots of great little restaurants along its beach boardwalk, the beach here is calm and great to swim way better than the Dunes private beach. Locals go to Playa Zaragosa so it really comes alive on weekends (and probably holidays?).
Take an island-jeep tour, these can be arranged with the hotel, ask for Manuels' tour he showed us a great time and his tour was a highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: Recently built suites are available and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Anton1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at Dunes for two weeks, at the old side.
But first: Please notice that since there's two exchange rates in Venezuela you need to have a lot of cash when going, using your credit card will be very expensive since you get almost double the amount of money when changing on the black market (The guy at the beach gives good rates!). Also, when leaving, we had to pay 120 usd (2 persons) on the airport to get out of there. And the cash machines there don't work. And they go through your luggage by hand in front of everybody, so hide your dirty underwear!
Anyway, the Dunes resort is a big area and the garden, the trees and flowers are well kept and beautiful. The old side buildings are nice looking, and the rooms are big but quite old. They should touch up the rooms before they get any worse. Our bedroom floor flooded every time it rained (on second floor!)
We only ate occationally at the restaurants, the food was good and a big plus that the nice chilean wine included! Also there were free drinks at the beach and pool all day, and free hamburgers and hotdogs by the pool as well. Nice touch! The beach was stunning, even though the sea was rough most of the time. You were not allowed to walk the beach outside Dunes with a bag or jewellery on, or up to the wonderful lighthouse. We were told there's a chance to get robbed by gun men.
We liked the shows, the movie theatre, the pool tabels and the "library" as well.
Notice that there's an other and a bit bigger minimarket (in one of the older buildings) than the one at the reception. The travel agency there was good, the trip around the island by jeep was a great fun! You get cheaper and good tours at the beach as well.
A special thanks to Frank at the reception who did whatever he could to help us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is an older resort that is in remarkably good shape. The grounds, buildings and public areas are well maintained. The old section rooms need redecorating inside but even they are reasonable considering the price of this all inclusive.
It sells itself as a 4 star, however 3 would be more appropriate as you can't safeley use the ocean on this beach due to insanly high waves and undertow. Forget about snokling or kayaks etc. also the food is nothing to get excited about. That is not to say the food is bad, just boring.
We took the premium room in the new section, primarily because of all the reviews saying that was the way to go as well as the tour operator brocure which sold it as "adults only". We were serinaded to sleep EVERY night with kids still crying and carrying on after 10pm in the other rooms, so It is child friendly if that's what you want (we didn't). The pools at the main resort were dirty for the two weeks we were there, but you could find shade there. The pool at the premium section was clean but the sun would tear your skin off. Down by the beach there is some shade out of the contant wind under the palm trees which was very nice.
Dining was as I say OK but boring. We found the restaurant in the old section much better than the premium one for breakfast and dinner and the beach restaurant for lunch. The Premium was usually too crouded and noisy. The a-la-carte screwed up our reservation twice. The one time we did eat there I found the staff very unfiendly and the food only margially better, so when they screwed up the resevation on my birthday I was only too happy to go elsewhere.
Conclusion:
If you have kids and you want a cheap vacation in a relatively clean resort without any bells or whistles this would be OK but I might recommend Cayococo or Peuto Plata before this place even though it is cheaper

Room Tip: premium second or third floor have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

if you dont expect to much, you will appreciate dunes. if you go, ask for the premium part of the hotel not much expensive. the wifi is not in your room you have to go in the lobby area and its not very fast. for the food its average everytime, not bad but nothing fancy. not much activities on the beach except volley, no sea doo, windsurfing, boat ride etc. the resort is not near anything you always need a taxi. but you have to go on the jeep safari tour its cheap and awsome...

Room Tip: ask for the premium part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plegault68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pedro Gonzales
0.0 km away
Club Punta Playa - Hotel Spa & Resort
25.3 km away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
19.9 km away
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Margarita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#13 of 91 in Margarita Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
19.1 km away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#3 of 7 in Pampatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
13.7 km away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Calle Campo Elias | Sector El Pueblito, Pedro Gonzales, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Region: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Pedro Gonzales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedro Gonzales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Hotel And Beach Resort
Dunes Hotel Margarita
Dunes Resort All Inclusive Beach
Dunes Beach Resort
Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort Margarita Island, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing