We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand hotel still stuck in the past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Malpensa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vizzola Ticino
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grand hotel still stuck in the past”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Once this was the main hotel near to malpensa airport until the airport expanded and the franchise hotels came. Unfortunately the staff have failed to keep pace with the level of service of a modern hotel. The location is perfect, so close to malpensa you could walk there, but no noise of planes. Beautiful building and surroundings even if room decor is a little dated. Main problem for me is the seeming arrogance of the hotel staff, they seem to look down on you unless you are a senior Italian executive. Well, this seems to show as the hotel is more expensive than surrounding hotels and not very busy.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PE0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    83
    72
    29
    29
See reviews for
30
98
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Center
Level Contributor
557 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Same room as last time: again the bath door doesn't close, the fabrics in this room show aging, like I sad of other details. Kind personell and clean room. In winter they shut heating in unused floors, what makes hard changing room if you're unsatisfied. The restaurant -not cheap- remains the good highlight of this place. The room for business traveller is definitely cheap (90-105€ with breakfast). Manteinance is needed, as well as renovation of lightning and room doors. For the first time I started thinking to select an alternative for future trips in the area. The management should consider the threat of Sheraton Malpensa more seriously. This place has potential -what a pity.

Room Tip: Skip the east view -facing the heating/cooling engines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center
Level Contributor
557 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Among Malpensa Airport hotels, this one offers you an old style, rather elegant setting. The villa is magnificent, but architects who renovated it had no respect for it. THe same can be said by the management: details like lifts' buttons, room door's handles, shower fences are horribly aging.
My room was clean. I saw nice fabrics, in good state. The bathroom was clean and rather large, not fancy, tough.
THe good point is the exterior beauty and some interior areas. The restaurant is a highlight -ideal for business lunches. The menu is interesting, food is very good and the personell speaks good English.
Overall, it's a place with immense potential, that seems not exploited. It could be come a five stars, but the management seems to let time pass, without caring if the 4th star will drop, as it seems it might. It must be said that price is low, tough.
Still, I'll be back here as it's an island of Italian style in proximity of the Airport -you feel on vacation, not on an airport transfer.

Room Tip: Ask for a West-looking, facade room. Better with balcony. Skip the east.looking ones at first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perm, Russia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I have chosen this hotel because It was said that there is a swimming pool in it. But when arrived, I was said that "its out of order". So you can imagine hoe disappointed I was, minding the temperature was +28C and I came earlier from Milan to take a swim)) The hotel itself is cute from outside, but has to be renovated inside. I could not find out how to use WIFI as well. Use Sheraton, its right near the airport

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flak059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dania Beach, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We have overnighted at this hotel several times since 2000, when I discovered it in Karen Brown's Guides (be very wary of her picks, always). I wrote a review of our last visit a couple of years ago, and it was our worst visit to the hotel. We have just returned from a return visit (only because it is so very close to the airport and the surrounds are so lovely and quiet), and I have to say it improved. We had a lovely large and clean and freshly carpeted and painted room with a terrace and fine bathroom with shower. Room had a sitting area inside and one on the terrace. Lovely outside surrounds and peaceful grounds so close to the airport. The manager on duty was brisk in demeanor (no smiles) but fine in service to us. His assistant was most excellent at handling every request, from running the snack bar/restaurant, to running the shuttle service pickup for the hotel. A very bright, industious young man. Both were most capable and efficient gentleman. Either management changed hands or someone paid attention to customer's gripes, because this was quite a marked improvement over our last visit to the hotel. The lady who ran the desk in the morning was efficient and kind, as well. Breakfast is standard fare, with scrambled eggs, bacon, some cereals and croissants. Everything you need before dashing off to the airport in the morning. We seriously did not want to return to the the hotel this time around, but after exploring other options, decided to stick with the hotel/area that we knew to be reliable, at least, and so very close to the airport for the early morning flight. We were quite pleased we did. The hotel was clean, smelled wonderful, freshly updated in some ways, and the food at the snack bar was much better this time around than on our last visit. The main restaurant was closed due to low-occupany, but that seemed to work in our favor. Instead of the horrible attempt at haute-cuisine we experienced on our last visit to the hotel, this time we had simple pasta dishes, and they were so much better, and so much more reasonbly priced. We were very pleased, and we will return again when we revisit the Lakes districts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersinStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Excellent front desk service upon arrival.
The room was large, basic & clean.
The hotel is within a mile of MXP yet quiet.
It is a beautiful building & has lovely pool & grounds.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

First Impression like a Grand Hotel, nice park, nice Old Villa, good location.
I just been there for one night, person in reception very lazy, seems that I disturb him.
Just went to room, OMG, TV not working, very small bed, no blanket and no extra pillow, was very cold and I cannot on the heater.
Lift carpet very dirty, smoke smelling everywhere.
Breakfast buffet, just fine on average.
Very Expensive for one single night.
Do not go there, choose another hotel nearby airport, defentely are much better.
Better give teh 4 star to right Hotel, this worth ONLY 3 Star!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matsalleh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vizzola Ticino hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vizzola Ticino
1.1 km away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
3.3 km away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
2.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
5.8 km away
Cardano Hotel Malpensa
Cardano Hotel Malpensa
#2 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Malpensa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Malpensa

Property: Hotel Villa Malpensa
Address: Via Don Andrea Sacconago 1, 21010 Vizzola Ticino, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Vizzola Ticino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vizzola Ticino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Malpensa 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Malpensa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpensa Hotel Vizzola Ticino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing