We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
US$84
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
112
48
10
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
112
48
10
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 179 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2018

First trip to San Giovanni in Fiore and found this hotel excellent. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Hotel bar was fun and vibrant. Many locals visit every morning for coffee. Didn't try the restaurant, but it looked very good. Room attendants were prompt and did a nice job. Great views of the hill side and walking distance to many businesses and restaurants. TV channels could have been a lot better, but I didn't want to spend much time in the room. Your stay won't disappoint.

Room tip: Choose the back side mountain and city view as the hotel sits higher up the mountain.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 868JeffS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Rooms were clean. Large rooms.
Very small showers.
No ability to control room temperature.
Breakfast was sparse compared to other Italian hotels but satisfactory.
Location is excellent.
Great value for the money.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. From the moment you walk in the place is inviting. Mary Jane at the front desk speaks perfect english and is eager to help with anything you may need. We were supposed to stay here only three nights and decided to change our trip and we stayed seven nights! Our room had a balcony so we opened the doors and had beautiful views. We had a washing machine in our room and the housekeepers brought soap and showed us how to use it. Whatever you need, the owners (they were there too and helped make our stay unforgettable) and employees are there to make your stay the best it can be. They are expanding the hotel and putting in an exercise room. The hotel is at the beginning of the city so we walked the ten minutes into the middle of town.
The cafe is wonderful too. Every time you order something to drink they bring you tasty snacks. The employees are very friendly and helpful. The cafe is very busy with locals - they stop in all times of day for a quick espresso or quick drink and at night they stay a bit longer. The restaurant has great food - we ate there every night! We can not wait to go back - too bad it won't be until next year.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 13Kim14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful in the Calabrian sila. I have stayed here many nights and the rooms are very nice with a great view with excellent food and wine . The owners take great pride in this hotel and is highly recommended

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BigPoppi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017

Our month at La Duchessa was outstanding. The quiet town of San Giovanni in Fiore is beautiful and historic, with delicious food and wonderful people. The staff at Hotel Duchessa were no exception - kind, hospitable, and friendly with an effortless ability to make you feel at home. Maria Giovanna at the front desk speaks beautiful English, and she was always very helpful to us. Fabio and Marco were two outstanding waiters at the restaurant...they truly made us feel at home. There were countless other staff members who made our stay a memorable one.

Thank you to the people of San Giovanni in Fiore, and thank you to the wonderful people at Hotel Duchessa della Sila. Bravo e ci vediamo presto!

Room tip: Beautiful rooms for a very good price
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allegra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews