We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Ducrie
Nearby Hotels
US$126
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Saint Lo(Saint-Lo)(Great Value!)
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inter Hotel Saint-Lo(Saint-Lo)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(Isigny-sur-Mer)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Coutances(Coutances)(Great Value!)
US$50
ibis Budget
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel du Bocage(Torigni-sur-Vire)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
105
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold friendsgracious hostsmemorable experiencestone wallsnorman castleour tour guidemodern conveniencesfresh breadhamnormandy regioncroissantsviviennejoehistorymoataccommodationssite
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 113 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We spent a night at La Ducrie during a Normandy tour and had a wonderful time. The proprietors are charming, amusing hosts, who make you feel very much at home. Their lovely, 600 year old castle retains many interesting, original features. The host also gives tours, and we wish we had known this, as the guide we used was not nearly as entertaining and stunningly expensive. All in all a charming, memorable experience and an excellent value, compared to many of the over-priced chateaux in the region.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt that we were with old friends. Joe and Vivienne were the best of hosts. Vivienne's cuisine (we had 2 dinners) was superb and Joe's tours were full of interesting information. He drove us to the Normandy beaches, the American cemetery, Bayeaux, and Mont St. Michele in his van. Staying in a 600 year old castle was memorable. Be prepared for low doorways and tight, though very adequate, bathrooms. That is part of the experience. Le Ducrie was a highlight of our trip to France.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom with a connecting bath.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acey15225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We visited Normandy and stayed at La Ducrie based on the recommendation of friends. We were not disappointed! The stay in the castle was fun and interesting and we were right in the center of the Normandy area. Joe and Vivienne were great hosts, like old friends as we arrived and until we left. We had dinner at La Ducrie one evening and Joe and Vivienne ate out with us the other two nights we were there. Joe was a great tour guide for the beaches and also gave us a tour of Mont St Michele. By taking a train to Lison, we avoided the need for a car as Joe picked us up and took us back to the station.
All in all, a delightful experience with delightful hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2011

You are treated like family by two of the best hosts you will ever find at a B &B. The Inn is an awsome old Chateau and dinner with the hosts is a must.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelxallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Joe and Vivienne are two great hosts and are a joy to meet. I would certainly return to La Ducrie if I ever have the opportunity to visit France again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews