We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great Experience”
Review of La Ducrie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Hommet-d'Arthenay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Ducrie
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great Experience”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is an experience that was the highlight of a trip to France. Joe and Vivian made me feel at home from the moment of arrival. They have an amazing gift of hospitality. The accommodations are warm and inviting. Joe is an experienced guide for the area and certainly is up to date on all aspects of the history of the invasion. He makes it all come to life. Vivian is a fantastic chef and together the evening meals were 5 star in every aspect. This was an experience I would do again.

Room Tip: Ask Joe an Vivian
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peach23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We spent a night at La Ducrie during a Normandy tour and had a wonderful time. The proprietors are charming, amusing hosts, who make you feel very much at home. Their lovely, 600 year old castle retains many interesting, original features. The host also gives tours, and we wish we had known this, as the guide we used was not nearly as entertaining and stunningly expensive. All in all a charming, memorable experience and an excellent value, compared to many of the over-priced chateaux in the region.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moseley, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt that we were with old friends. Joe and Vivienne were the best of hosts. Vivienne's cuisine (we had 2 dinners) was superb and Joe's tours were full of interesting information. He drove us to the Normandy beaches, the American cemetery, Bayeaux, and Mont St. Michele in his van. Staying in a 600 year old castle was memorable. Be prepared for low doorways and tight, though very adequate, bathrooms. That is part of the experience. Le Ducrie was a highlight of our trip to France.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom with a connecting bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acey15225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We visited Normandy and stayed at La Ducrie based on the recommendation of friends. We were not disappointed! The stay in the castle was fun and interesting and we were right in the center of the Normandy area. Joe and Vivienne were great hosts, like old friends as we arrived and until we left. We had dinner at La Ducrie one evening and Joe and Vivienne ate out with us the other two nights we were there. Joe was a great tour guide for the beaches and also gave us a tour of Mont St Michele. By taking a train to Lison, we avoided the need for a car as Joe picked us up and took us back to the station.
All in all, a delightful experience with delightful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

You are treated like family by two of the best hosts you will ever find at a B &B. The Inn is an awsome old Chateau and dinner with the hosts is a must.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelxallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Joe and Vivienne are two great hosts and are a joy to meet. I would certainly return to La Ducrie if I ever have the opportunity to visit France again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We spent three nights, had two great meals that Viv fixed and toured d day beaches with Joe. We loved the country area. Joe's stories at dinner kept us laughing the entire time. I wish we had had more time to enjoy their hospitality.

Joe's knowledge of the Normady landing areas surpassed anything we would have been able to do on our own. Joe's perspective on Pont Du Hoc and Maisey battery show how the winners get to write history the way they want to.

The beds are very comfortable and the rooms very quiet.

We were made part of the family. I was invited by Joe to go to the bakery to get the morning bread and we joined them for dinner at a local restaurant one night. You couldn't want a better host.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsepower47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Ducrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ducrie

Property: La Ducrie
Address: 2 Lieu Dit la Ducrie | The Property Lies on the South Side of the D77 Equidistant Between le Hommet d'Arthenay and Pont Hebert, 50620 Le Hommet-d'Arthenay, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Le Hommet-d'Arthenay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Le Hommet-d'Arthenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Medieval Castle offering 5 large comfortable bedrooms all with own bathroom. Gourmet evening meals and excellent breakfasts. Set in beautiful moated surroundings in 27 acres of private grounds. La Ducrie is ideal for the D-Day landing beaches, Bayeux, Le Mont St Michel, private D-Day beaches tours available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing