We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Like staying with our European cousins” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ducrie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Hommet-d'Arthenay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Ducrie
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like staying with our European cousins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

We spent three nights, had two great meals that Viv fixed and toured d day beaches with Joe. We loved the country area. Joe's stories at dinner kept us laughing the entire time. I wish we had had more time to enjoy their hospitality.

Joe's knowledge of the Normady landing areas surpassed anything we would have been able to do on our own. Joe's perspective on Pont Du Hoc and Maisey battery show how the winners get to write history the way they want to.

The beds are very comfortable and the rooms very quiet.

We were made part of the family. I was invited by Joe to go to the bakery to get the morning bread and we joined them for dinner at a local restaurant one night. You couldn't want a better host.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsepower47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Western NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

I find it hard to top what others have said about Joe and Viv, our two exceptional hosts for three days and nights at this charming castle. It has to be more than an acquired skill to be able to take two strangers and make them feel instantly welcomed and at home. It's like it's just who they are: warm, friendly, and genuine.

Yes, the room was charming and comfortable. Yes, the grounds were breathtaking and the animals endearingly fun and enjoyable. But Joe and Viv go above and beyond to make each guest feel like they are family.

Joe knows a lot about the WWII beaches which is why we were there. We did not take his tour (which also has great reviews) because I knew it would be an emotional time for me as my dad came ashore on Omaha Beach and I wanted to experience it alone. So we went out on our own and promptly got lost trying to drive around France. What does Joe do? He loans us his GPS for the next day so that if nothing else, we could find out way home!

If you stay at La Ducrie, you *have* to have dinner with them at least one night. It's an experience you will never forget. Viv is a gourmet cook and will serve you all four-five courses in style.

Another thing that I really appreciated was Joe's prompt (and detailed) answers to my emails in the months prior to our trip. This was important to me having never traveled to this area before.

My husband and I want to go back and finish touring the D-Day beaches and when we do, we will definitely be going back to La Ducrie! We both highly recommend this place...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmdizine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We read the reviews by previous guests and were impressed. We assure you, the raves are by no means exaggerated. The castle oozes charm, aided and abetted by dogs Duke and George, the cats, the ducks the swans the sheep and the pond critters. Our room was incredible. Vivienne’s cuisine (2 nights) was fabulous. Joe is both a superb D-Day guide and raconteur. The location is an easy drive (we rented from europcar) to all of the invasion beaches, La Mont St. Michel, Bayeux, etc. As another reviewer put it so well, we came as guests and left as friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank readspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

This pretty much sums up the wonderful hospitality provided by Joe and Vivienne at La Ducrie on a recent family get together in Normandy. We were splendidly wined and dined and the company and banter round the dining table was one of the highlights of the weekend. Vivienne is a very talented chef and the 5 course dinner was just outstanding!
The castle is beautifully restored and in a very peaceful setting - ideally situated for day trips to Mont St Michel, Bayeaux and the D- Day Beaches,
Our room had lots of character, was beautifully furnished and had a very comfy four poster bed. We had a very entertaining and relaxing weekend - it really is a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuildfordPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I have just returned from a weekend at La Durcrie. I was in a party of five adults and we recently stayed there for 3 nights to relax and to visit the WW2 sites. The location of the castle is excellent for this and the Port of Caen is just an hour away.

The castle itself is stunning and has been beautifully restored. The owners and hosts, Joe and Vivienne, could not have been more welcoming. Vivienne's food was outstanding and we were made to feel at home while being pampered at the same time. In the evening when we dined in, the ancient stone staircase, lounge and dining room were lit by candles and the sumptuous meals included delicious canapes. Dinner was beautifully presented and nothing was too much trouble. Joe entertained us throughout with his amusing stories.

I spend a considerable amount of time staying in expensive hotels on business but this was a lovely change and I thoroughly recommend La Ducrie. I shall look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights as the main part of a trip driving around Normandy - we took the advice of other TripAdvisor reviewers and are glad we did.

Joe and Vivienne are excellent hosts - they are very welcoming and helpful and let you treat their home as your own. We were given maps and driving directions to the places we wanted to visit and advised on additional places to stop on our way, which were all lovely. We managed to cover quite a large area of Normandy from this place, but rarely had to do huge long drives to get there, which was perfect.

The room we stayed in was full of character, beautifully decorated and spotless. Vivienne also gave us a tour of the other rooms and it was obvious how much thought had gone into it all. We loved all of their pets (especially Duke, I really wanted to take him home) and the animals outside on the pond too. One evening we had a BBQ which was great - am going to have to get hold of Vivienne's recipes.

The only thing we weren't taken with was St Lo, which is the nearest large town - we think it may have been quiet when we were there but it was a bit drab and the choice of restaurants wasn't great, so we would suggest either booking meals at the B&B or staying for dinner wherever you have been visiting that day. Obviously this is not a reflection on La Ducrie! We wouldn't hesitate to go back and will be recommending it to family and friends. Thanks so much for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitkatkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

This is, by far, one of the best places I have ever stayed. Joe and Vivian made us feel right at home. It was like visiting a beloved uncle and aunt. They provided wine every night and even had dinner for us our first night in. They were so sweet to my nine year old daughter. Their pets (dogs, ducks, swans, koypoo, etc.) kept her very busy. The castle is so fun to stay in with tons of character and history. It is centrally located near D-day beaches and Mt. St. Michael. Best to bring a map if you're driving around. Joe was kind enough to loan us his GPS. I could go on and on about how wonderful this B&B is. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chalnri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Ducrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ducrie

Property: La Ducrie
Address: 2 Lieu Dit la Ducrie | The Property Lies on the South Side of the D77 Equidistant Between le Hommet d'Arthenay and Pont Hebert, 50620 Le Hommet-d'Arthenay, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Le Hommet-d'Arthenay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Le Hommet-d'Arthenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Medieval Castle offering 5 large comfortable bedrooms all with own bathroom. Gourmet evening meals and excellent breakfasts. Set in beautiful moated surroundings in 27 acres of private grounds. La Ducrie is ideal for the D-Day landing beaches, Bayeux, Le Mont St Michel, private D-Day beaches tours available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing