We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
99
186
74
53
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
186
74
53
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful river reception area bar staff snow capped mountains staff were friendly within easy walking distance pleasant stay spectacular views half an hour separate building indoor swimming pool meals program grounds setting group spaniards
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 438 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

I stayed in room 2010, tucked away behind the lift on the second floor of the main building. Compared to the other rooms in the hotel, this was more like the servants quarters than a 4-star room! The floor was badly scratched, the furniture was a little tatty. In the bathroom 2 things were broken, but the staff quickly had them repaired. There were sloping beams, which felt extremely claustrophobic, both in the bathroom and bedroom. The skylight in the sloping ceiling let in light but no view, even when standing on the wooden block.
Toiletries were definitely not 4-star quality. The shampoo/conditioner was unusable.
The stairs from the reception area were always dirty and eventually out of bounds while work was being carried out on the first floor. The lift then broke down and we were obliged to use the stairs, in spite of the cordons on the stairs.
The staff were sometimes surly, with the exception of the waiting staff in the restaurant.
The reception area was pleasant and the grounds were spacious, although somewhat neglected. A 4-star hotel this is definitely not!
The hotel is in a stunning setting, peaceful and near a beautiful river. There are snow-covered mountains in the distance and Nature is ever-present. Nature and the location of the hotel get a 5-star review!
All-in-all a disappointing experience for a 4-star hotel. I wonder who does the inspections!

Room Tip: The outside "stables block" have magnificent rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lastminutedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELPUERTADEGREDOS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018
Google Translation

El Hotel Izán Puerta de Gredos le agradece las molestias tomadas dedicándonos parte de su tiempo para enviarnos sus comentarios y por haber elegido nuestro hotel.
Lamentamos que su reciente estancia no haya sido del todo satisfactoria y le pedimos disculpas por todos inconvenientes ocasionados.
Su opinión es muy valiosa para nosotros y sin duda nos ayudará a mejorar nuestros servicios para poder cumplir todas sus expectativas en su próxima estancia.
Anotamos su valoración y lo trasladamos a los departamentos correspondientes del hotel encargados de tomar las medidas adecuadas para solucionarlo.
Esperamos volver a verle de nuevo.
Un cordial saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

We had hoped for more from this place and thought we had included breakfast but it was not. Upon arrival in a quite remote location, oddly past a ski resort and in early July snow still present in patches on the adjacent mountain tops.

Stepping away from usual mid range hotel chains we prefer did not pay off. The pool attracted extra charges and wearing a swim cap (not provided or available to buy) was oddly compulsory! Breakfast too was an extra charge at 8/4 euros for adult/child.

The accommodation was a two room affair in an adjacent block, bars on the window were an oddity where shutters were interior not exterior. The sofa bed was not at all comfortable with ridges and a poor mattress. The main bed was huge and very comfortable which offset this a little.

Staff were very helpful but thin on the ground as they seem to combine roles and waits at the bar and reception because of this was common. Food was fair and good value, our Spanish is not as good as our French (conversational) but we got by easily enough with our ubiquitous phrase books.

The grounds were overgrown and not tended well for a hotel of this grade as our walks around outside revealed. Parking was great and covered, another oddity was three or four Tesla charging points that I am sure are used every now and again. Perhaps the owner has one?

Whilst picturesque and remote the extra charges and limited staff dropped my stars, with main hotel chains at least you know almost all is included. Perhaps it was a failure of our going through booking.com to see the extras we thought were included. A brief review of the website made no mention of pool charges or restrictions we came across.

Others have mentioned staff shortages and it’s odd how immaculate it is indoors yet the outside seem a touch neglected. Again it was further off our route than we would have preferred, would we stay again? No. Though it may suit some. It didn’t suit us.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank 068man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELPUERTADEGREDOS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018
Google Translation

Buenos días.
Muchas gracias por su valoración y comentario. Son muy importantes para nosotros y para el resto de visitantes de nuestro Hotel Izán Puerta de Gredos.
Sentimos su malestar pero tenia que haberse informado bien a la hora de hacer la reserva con su agencia de viajes y haberle informado lo que trajo contratado.
En lo que podamos ayudarle estamos a su disposición.
Un cordial saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

2 hours outside of Madrid is a stunning hotel complex. Indoor pool, super accommodating for your needs great restaurant ask for Lola she is fun and a super server. Clean rooms and great hiking trails with beautiful walkways

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank kathyhK9551WZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELPUERTADEGREDOS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018
Google Translation

Buenos días.
Muchas gracias por su valoración y comentario. Son muy importantes para nosotros y para el resto de visitantes de nuestro Hotel Izán Puerta de Gredos.
¡Esperamos volver a verla pronto!
Un cordial saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018

We were there for 5 nights for an English volunteer program with approximately 35 people. The location is beautiful - out in the country side. Spectacular views of snow capped mountains. All arrangements were perfect. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The meals were delicious and well prepared. The general area was modern, spacious and airy. The staff were friendly, professional, helpful and efficient. There is also a spa and indoor swimming pool in a separate building- use of which was at an additional cost. It was a pleasant stay. It would have been nice if they had tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms

Room Tip: Request rooms in the main building if you want quick access to the dinning area and bar
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mnaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELPUERTADEGREDOS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018
Google Translation

Buenos días.
Muchas gracias por su valoración y comentario. Son muy importantes para nosotros y para el resto de visitantes de nuestro Hotel Izán Puerta de Gredos.
¡Esperamos volver a verla pronto!
Un cordial saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

This year was the fifth time of visiting puerta de Gredos. I have to say that the hotel is getting a little tired. The rooms were not quite as clean as they should be, for instance there were lots of hairs in the bathtub that didn't belong to me. Lots of scuff marks on the walls in the bedroom and the windows could do with a good clean.

The staff in the hotel seem to always be very busy, but not actually doing much. Getting a drink at the bar is quite difficult as they have to call a barman from elsewhere in the hotel, so can wait up to half an hour to get a drink.

Whilst they have redecorated the restaurant and terrace at the back, they need to do more as especially the rooms are getting very tatty. Also the gardens were more overgrown and not as neat as in previous years.

I also have had an allergic reaction to the laundry detergent used on the bedding, for the second year running too so doubt I will return next year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank pirataazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews