We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
157
356
134
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
356
134
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorclose to the airportfree shuttlean early flightthe busnext morningfree breakfastclean roomshotel shuttleshuttle servicecomfortable bedfresh fruitguggenheim museumdeparture leveltea and coffee making facilitiesrental carbusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 680 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2017

Good value for money for a 3 star hotel near the airport. Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom OK with very basic toiletries. Breakfast was very basic with limited choices but we did not expect much more for a 3 star hotel. Check-in was efficient and friendly staff.

It suited us fine as an overnight stay during transit.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sydney2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Sidney2000000, thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017

My room was adjacent to another and separated by a door .Unfortunately ,the insonorisation was inadequate and I was woken up at 5.00 am by the people next door .
This spoiled my sleep and what was otherwise a pleasant room with a confortable bed and facilities .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

It is the closest hotel to the airport. The 7-seater shuttle van starts at 5:15 a.m. and runs frequently. Once you have made a room reservation, you can request a shuttle reservation, which is one thing less to worry about if you have an early morning departure like we did. To take the shuttle upon landing, you need to go to the Departure level; the van does not go to the Arrivals level. Rooms are standard Holiday Inn Express quality, which we considered fine for a 1-night stay. Our room faced the nearby highway, but there was no traffic noise. Continental breakfast was above-average.
Cautions:
- The hotel website provides driving directions, but be aware there are a couple of confusing turns (for we North Americans!) within sight of the hotel that are not described on the website.
- Dinner options are limited. We didn't try the next-door restaurant because it opened late (8 p.m.). We went to the airport, but the only facilities in the public area are sandwich shops. Best bet for dinner if you have a rental car is to keep the car until you have found a restaurant, and then turn the car in.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethD176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, GarethD176. We are pleased our shuttle was useful for you . We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2017

Not a good start - no shuttle bus despite arriving before 11.30 cut off and having let them have our arrival time - huge taxi queue.
Then twin room not double and despite being a non smoking room it smelled of smoke .
The towels were overdue to be replaced - paper thin ( and my wife tells me I had the good one )
But a good nights sleep, a surprisingly good continental breakfast, a helpful receptionist & maintenance man meant I could cut the lock on our case ( granddaughter swopped keys on us grrrrrr ) - all of that combined with 79euros gets them a good review.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the shuttle, it stops always at departures 3th floor of the airport. We are sorry about the smell, even if the hotel is a non smoking facility some people still smokes and (not an excuse) it´s really hard to get rid of the smell. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Stayed here ONLY for 1 night as our arrival to Bilbao was delayed really late. We were going to drive to San Sebastian directly, but weather was not permitting - rained quite heavily and we were unfamiliar with the drive. Hence, we decided to stay for 1 night and left in the morning to San Sebastian.
My advice to those who may have similar plan like ours:
** Rent a car and drive directly to San Sebastian (only 1 hrs), or
** Drive to the Bilbao proper where one can find a better and more decent place for an overnight stay.

We got charged $130/night for a room that may be worth $50. It was really a crappy place. If we were to pay $50-60/night, we probably would have just gone with it and would not have been writing bad reviews here.

TV was made out of an old computer LCD monitor that's not even working.

If you really have to stay at this place, just be prepared.
1. Ensure you don't get ripped off
2. If you arrive after 9PM, bring some snacks and water for the evening (from the airport that you depart from). There's nothing at Bilbao airport at 9PM! If you arrive at the Hotel Horrible Inn Express, they may advice you to go to the restaurant next door called "Restaurant Urbe" -- the only place that is open until 10PM.
Obviously and unfortunately, we did this - we arrived late, were hungry and went to Urbe. We ordered (total cost almost 65 Euro)
(a). Jamon Iberia
(b). Pasta with meat ragu sauce
(c). Bachalau (cod fish).
(d). 1 bottle of water
All orders were beyond appalling. Jamon was more like thinly sliced plastic served with bread. Pasta was overcooked, the sauce was really disgusting. Canned/bottled pasta sauce from the grocery stores taste better than what they cook (even "Chef Boyarde"). Cod fish was stale. Everything was not edible. We only had a bite, got ripped off and left with disgust.

This place probably operates based on the fact that they're the only place that's open next to the hotel, they can trap tourists, overcharge them as they are aware that these tourists won't be coming back. - It's really a sad way to operate a business.
We wonder if the Horrible Inn and this Restaurant Urbe are operated by the same owner.

Again, if you really have to stay at this Horrible Inn hotel:
1. Bring some instant noodles (those you cook in the cup, and just add hot water. I did see a microwave at the lobby).
2. Snacks and water (buy these at the airport you depart from).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hendry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations.
I can´t comment on the closing times of the shops and restaurants at the airport but they inform on their website to be open until 22.30.
It´s true that the hotel advice to go to the restaurant urbe because of proximity and because it´s open until 23.00. It´s independent from the hotel, as a standard for Holiday Inn Express it´s not possible for us to have a restaurant. For this reason we also offer takeaway menus and vending machines.
As of last week all the hotel TVs were changed to 28" smart TVs.
We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews