We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, overpriced”

Restaurant Gasthof Adler
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Sempach
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 21, 2016

Solid Swiss food, nothing special, very expensive, good service. Restaurants interested in foreign tourism should, I feel, speak the occasional foreign language. If your native language is Swiss-German then speaking German German doesn't really count.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank melpomene2043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

Gasthof Adler prominently displays the gourmet guides in which it is listed. Rightly so - as my dinner was really enjoyable.

A warm thanks for the excellent service from the tenant lady and her waitress. A real team work, and I could see that both truly enjoyed their job.

The food was as impressive as the service.
I indulged myself in the four-course Chef menu, which proved delicious. As starter the marinated tuna fish with mushroom flan was light and tasty. This was followed by a cold tomato soup - a little too seasoned for my taste. As main course I enjoyed a beautiful fillet of beef - thick yet very tender piece, perfectly grilled and served in a delicious red wine sauce. Finally, an assortment of sorbets and mousse was the perfect dessert for a warm summer evening.

Switzerland is hopelessly expensive and Adler makes no exception. The bill amounted to CHF115 - admittedly very pricey but definitely well worth it.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank q-sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Together with my 2 brothers we celebrate our fathers birthday (85) in Gasthof Adler.
We had a nice table on the terasse.
Immediately after we sat down we have been able to order the beverages. The waitress recommended us a local white wine and it was an excellent recommendation.
For lunch we ordered Cordon Bleu, Seeteuel (Fisch), calve liver and Saltinbocca.
all 4 of us were very happy about the quantity and the quality of the food.
The staff was very helpfull. The same is true for the owners she and her came to our table in order to check if everything was fine. and it was. Defintely a place to go again once we will be in this region.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2015

A lunchtime stop was an unexpected treat which confirmed the Adler's positive reputation. I had a simple cold roast beef with fried potatoes (Bratkartoffeln) but it was by far the most delicious I've had anywhere - with the roast beef succulent and a perfect rose colour.
The Adler had also been on our list of potential overnight stops. The bedrooms, however, are a three storey climb (no lift) - a disadvantage with luggage, dogs and a wife in tow! Viator ed cani Coloniae

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Gasthof Adler also viewed

Sempach, Canton of Lucerne
 
Eich, Canton of Lucerne
Sursee, Canton of Lucerne
 
Eich, Canton of Lucerne
Sempach, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant Gasthof Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing