We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
9
9
9
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
9
9
2
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 38 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2011

My friend and I recently stayed at this campsite. It's a family owned place where it's easy to meet other travelers but also have time to yourselves. This is not the place for you if you are not used to backpacking, hostels or camping! Although compared to regular camping- we can say this is a a little "high-class". I say this because being an outdoors person, I can recognize performance equipment- plus they set up and take the tent down for you! The location is also conveniently close to the airport and to the South of the island- making it a great home base.

It was a little hard to find, but well worth it! Upon arrival Mency, the owner graciously explained all that they had to offer. We hadn't brought our own tent, and had previously made reservations for another day but showed up early. She said this was not a problem, and arranged for us to rent a tent from them. We also rented a blanket and 2 pillows, and she gave us a tour of the place while someone that worked at the facility set the tent up for us- which was a major plus! The campsite has everything you need to be comfortable, and have fun. Besides a sheltered tent area, there is a laundry facility, hot showers, a library for trading and exchanging books, internet (w Skype and webcams at an additional charge) as well as a restaurant and sports equipment rental.

After a long day of traveling all we wanted to do was rest- we took hot showers (key in very windy Gran Canaria) in very clean facilities and decided to eat dinner at their restaurant. HAD THE BEST SANGRIA! It was a delicious and extremely affordable meal, with kind and friendly service provided by the owner's husband. That night over dinner the owner's husband engaged us in friendly chit-chat and we mentioned the places we were going to go to the next day- immediately he brought out a map for us and showed us local-only places to get an authentic cultural experience.

At night the campground gates close- so if you are going to go out at night you have to specify around what time you will be coming back (1am for ex.) so that the night security guard can be on watch and open the camera-surveilled gates for you. All night long there is also security on the premises- being 2 women traveling we never once felt unsafe! One night we even came back way after our notification time and the owners called the number we had left on file to ask us if we had had car trouble or needed assistance.

The beach was only 10 minutes walk downhill, and made for a great sunrise experience. We were a little concerned one night because of a big group of travelers at a nearby tent- but at 10pm they moved their tent party to the front of the site, away from the tents- the owners ensure that this 10pm tent-side "quiet" rule is enforced, which is really appreciated if you want to get some rest. On Fridays and Saturdays the camp site opens a disco/club where music, drinks and food runs late- again, you can't hear a thing from the campsite.

Our only complaint was the wind- which is not the fault at all of the place- it is Gran Canaria afterall. While at night it was a little hard to get to sleep due to the wind beating on the tent- being out in the conditions is what camping is about!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank soneca16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded June 3, 2017

Good afternoon,

First of all, sorry for the delay. We wanted to answer you as soon as possible, but we were so busy.

Thanks a lot for your comment. We are so glad due to your nice stay with us. We are so lucky when we have got guests like you here. We hope to see you soon with us again.

Thank you so much for all. Have a nice day

General Manager of Camping de Vargas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews