We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camping Playa de Vargas
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
US$61
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monte Feliz(Bahia Feliz)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
9
9
9
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
9
9
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2016

We stayed at the site in late June and it is absolutely fantastic! The price is so cheap compared to what the typical tourist pays to visit the island it's unbelievable and you don't have the hassle of getting a camping permit.

The concrete half pipes used as shelters are incredibly efficient and a real bonus is that you can get the pegs in as the ground is soft. The wind protection is spot on and the gusts when we stayed were over 50 knots but the tent only rippled slightly no matter how hard it blew. This kind of wind strength isn't normal but yes, it can get windy on this side of the coast but then that's why I loved it. As a windsurfer I cannot speak highly enough of the campsites position almost on the beach at Playa de Vargas.

It was a week before the PWA championships at Pozo so the competitors would come to the bay to practice. Brilliant action and the sailors and kiters respected each others space which is great. As I was having a break without windsurfing I just watched and learned from the beach but next time I shall be taking my gear. As a resident of Fuerteventura I'd heard some bad tales about leaving your gear on the roof of the car overnight as it can get stolen but I would have no reservations about taking my stuff as the camp site has numerous cameras covering the entire area and the security is great. No sleepless nights.

The on-site restaurant on first glance doesn't look much but believe me they do the best steak I have had in many years and all the other meals we ate were just as good. Beers cheap, the coffee is perfect and the staff couldn't be more friendly as they are also the owners.

A big thank you to Menzy and everyone else who made a special trip even better and can't wait to return in February for my birthday but this time with all my gear.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2015

After a 1 hour drive from the port (Agaete) just after the airport we found the camp site.
Well arranged and VERRRRY Clean.
Friendly and Accommodating restaurant.

The site is hampered with constant wind BUT they have erected concrete coves to make the site more comfortable and with time will blend in nicely.

Toilets &Showers are of the communal type and we had no hot water for our showers, they are also in the reception area so a bit of a walk at night .

We would love to return and I´m sure with time this place will grow in to a prime camping site.

Room Tip: Ask for a pitch near reception . its not so far to the toilets.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Willows-Tenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We needed somewhere to 'crash' for a few hours close to the airport in Gran Canaria. The flight was an early one at 0655 hrs so being close by was important (10-15 mins driving)
For 40 euros we got a mattress on the floor of a wooden cabin on the volcanic hill, pillows and a quilt + a 3 course dinner thrown in for two of us as well! Garlic bread, soup, pasta bolognaise, cake and a coke!

Room Tip: If you want to camp, bring your own bedding
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank karenfrombenrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2011

My friend and I recently stayed at this campsite. It's a family owned place where it's easy to meet other travelers but also have time to yourselves. This is not the place for you if you are not used to backpacking, hostels or camping! Although compared to regular camping- we can say this is a a little "high-class". I say this because being an outdoors person, I can recognize performance equipment- plus they set up and take the tent down for you! The location is also conveniently close to the airport and to the South of the island- making it a great home base.

It was a little hard to find, but well worth it! Upon arrival Mency, the owner graciously explained all that they had to offer. We hadn't brought our own tent, and had previously made reservations for another day but showed up early. She said this was not a problem, and arranged for us to rent a tent from them. We also rented a blanket and 2 pillows, and she gave us a tour of the place while someone that worked at the facility set the tent up for us- which was a major plus! The campsite has everything you need to be comfortable, and have fun. Besides a sheltered tent area, there is a laundry facility, hot showers, a library for trading and exchanging books, internet (w Skype and webcams at an additional charge) as well as a restaurant and sports equipment rental.

After a long day of traveling all we wanted to do was rest- we took hot showers (key in very windy Gran Canaria) in very clean facilities and decided to eat dinner at their restaurant. HAD THE BEST SANGRIA! It was a delicious and extremely affordable meal, with kind and friendly service provided by the owner's husband. That night over dinner the owner's husband engaged us in friendly chit-chat and we mentioned the places we were going to go to the next day- immediately he brought out a map for us and showed us local-only places to get an authentic cultural experience.

At night the campground gates close- so if you are going to go out at night you have to specify around what time you will be coming back (1am for ex.) so that the night security guard can be on watch and open the camera-surveilled gates for you. All night long there is also security on the premises- being 2 women traveling we never once felt unsafe! One night we even came back way after our notification time and the owners called the number we had left on file to ask us if we had had car trouble or needed assistance.

The beach was only 10 minutes walk downhill, and made for a great sunrise experience. We were a little concerned one night because of a big group of travelers at a nearby tent- but at 10pm they moved their tent party to the front of the site, away from the tents- the owners ensure that this 10pm tent-side "quiet" rule is enforced, which is really appreciated if you want to get some rest. On Fridays and Saturdays the camp site opens a disco/club where music, drinks and food runs late- again, you can't hear a thing from the campsite.

Our only complaint was the wind- which is not the fault at all of the place- it is Gran Canaria afterall. While at night it was a little hard to get to sleep due to the wind beating on the tent- being out in the conditions is what camping is about!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank soneca16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded June 3, 2017

Good afternoon,

First of all, sorry for the delay. We wanted to answer you as soon as possible, but we were so busy.

Thanks a lot for your comment. We are so glad due to your nice stay with us. We are so lucky when we have got guests like you here. We hope to see you soon with us again.

Thank you so much for all. Have a nice day

General Manager of Camping de Vargas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews