We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
C$88
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
MJHck

Perfectly good for a short stay.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 14, 2024via mobile
We chose this as a drivers stop on route to the Austrian alps from the UK. It was fine. The welcome was very good in the reception. Stayed with 2 children, and had to open up the sofa bed which was not ready when we are arrived at the room. The decoration was looking a little tired and dark, but it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good.
We stopped on Good Friday with most things around us closed. We have since stayed in central Strasbourg on our return journey and I would highly recommend getting the bus into the town to eat, lots of wonderful food options available in Petite France that were not around the hotel. There is, however, a very local supermarket which has a petrol station, Intermarché.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Decent amount of parking, but was tight on the night we stayed, glad we didn’t arrive late.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday Inn Strasbourg-Nord, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Ria,
thank you for your positive feedback ! We are glad to know that you liked the welcome and the breakfast.
Regarding the unfinished sofa bed, we are really sorry and will be extra vigilant so that it does not happen again.
You can eat at the hotel bar when the restaurant is closed. Otherwise, don't hesitate to ask at reception for information about restaurants in the area.

Hoping your trip went well,
Inès
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$140
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$106
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    C$87
  • Official Hotel
2.6 km from Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
2.9 km from Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$143
  • ibis Styles
    C$136
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$70
  • eDreams
3.4 km from Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
    3.2 km from Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel
    Exterior
    Tripadvisor
    C$114
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    3.5 km from Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Archipel Restaurant Sitting Area City View
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$120
    • AC Hotels
      C$132
    3.8 km from Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$120
    • Residence Inn
      C$132
    3.8 km from Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Tripadvisor
    C$127
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    3.2 km from Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Room service
    View more hotels in Schiltigheim
    Reviews (290)
    Filter reviews
    290 results
    Traveller rating
    77
    140
    49
    15
    9
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    77
    140
    49
    15
    9
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews bus station min parking bathroom city reception motorway lake strasbourg child austria
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 290 reviews
    Reviewed January 31, 2024 via mobile

    Stayed for 1N whilst visiting Strasbourg, and it was perfectly fine for this purpose.

    The room was ok, however it was unclear how the heater/air conditioning system in the room was supposed to work. I don't consider myself to be a dunce - but without the aid of instructions I was mystified. That said, the room didn't appear to be cold during my stay...so maybe the heater was doing it's mysterious job! If all the rooms have the same confusing panel, maybe some instructions to guests next to the panel would be useful.

    The hot water in the shower was a little variable - it fluctuated between hot and verging on tepid as I was using it. Either way it was far from perfect.

    Finally, the matter of the deposit was not handled quite as smoothly as I would like. 150 euros was "per-charged" to my card as a deposit on arrival, and this then showed as "pending" on my card for about 30 days. I kept checking this every few days, as I was concerned it, and eventually after the 30 days the transaction disappeared, presumably when it came to the point where my card issuer voids it automatically. This process was a bit aggravating while I was monitoring the transaction for changes - however no harm done in the end. But overall, it isn't an ideal arrangement.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank df86
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2024


    Hello, df86

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord for your stay.

    I'm sorry to see some elements did not meet your expectations during your time with us. I have shared your review with our management to ensure we take proper action.

    We love delivering the most enjoyable experience for every guest.

    We genuinely look forward to serving you again soon. Our staff can't wait to show you all the changes and improvements made after your priceless feedback.

    Warm regards.

    Alejandro G.
    Case Manager
    IHG Hotels & Resorts Service

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed December 25, 2023

    We stayed at the Holiday Inn Strasbourg Nord in order to visit the famous Strasbourg Christmas markets. We chose this hotel mainly because it is not in the town centre, it is in a business park in the suburbs, just off the autoroute. This is because we had guessed that getting into a town centre hotel by car and finding somewhere to park would not be easy in the Christmas period, and this proved to be totally correct - when we travelled in to the town centre on the bus later on, the main interchanges were gridlocked.

    There is a bus stop about 50m from the hotel. It runs very frequently, and gets you into the town centre very easily – bypassing all the traffic because it has its own dedicated lane. You can buy a 24 hour unlimited pass for about 4 euros. The town of Strasbourg is a textbook example of how to do public transport right.

    We arrived straight off the autoroute, parked easily in the hotel car park, and were welcomed with free Christmas drinks at the bar. If you like mulled wine then you will like Strasbourg in December! It’s everywhere.

    The room was spacious, with a large comfortable bed, and a view over some lakes on the edge of the business park. However after about 20 minutes in the room we started to feel weirdly cold. Despite fiddling with the heater controls it was impossible to get warmer than 18C, and we suspected the actual temperature was colder (it was near-freezing outside). Next morning on the way to breakfast I noticed a sign in a corner of the lobby mentioning (in French only) a policy of “energy sobriety”. Basically they had turned the heating off to reduce energy consumption. We were impressed with this gesture, we didn’t mind being a degree or two colder in the room. However on our second night it was so cold that they had to bring up an electric heater and a second duvet, which rather defeated the purpose.

    “Energy sobriety” also explained the weirdly dark bar at the front of the hotel, where you were dimly aware of other people sat at tables but you had to wait a few minutes for your eyes to adjust to the darkness to avoid tripping over them. Again, once we got used to it, it actually created a very pleasant ambiance. The barman attempted to ply me with more mulled wine, but when I refused he turned out to be very knowledgeable on some of the local Alsace beers so I tried them instead.

    Breakfast was exactly as expected, a good choice of hot eggs and bacon, and a diverse range of continental meats, cheeses, breads, patisseries. Thankfully no mulled wine.

    A quick shout-out also to the restaurant. It’s not actually a Holiday Inn restaurant, presumably the owners lease the space. We had dinner there one evening after having exhausted ourselves walking around Strasbourg all day. It was not busy (whereas all the restaurants in town were un-bookable). My burger was however one of the best I’ve ever had and Maureen declared her "well done" steak au poivre was perfectly cooked - to English standards.

    In summary we are bound to go back to Strasbourg, it’s a great city, and when we do we will certainly go back to the Holiday Inn. The “energy sobriety” is probably a good idea, they just need to fine-tune it a bit. The location is perfect, all the benefits of a city-centre hotel with none of the hassle.

    Room tip: Leave the car in the hotel car park and get a 24hr bus pass at the bus stop 50m down the road - it's the key to enjoying Strasbourg.
    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Richard B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed December 1, 2023

    Well... I booked a room with a view of the lake... but I got a room on the 1st floor and could only see the trees between us and the lake... I am not a friend of the sliding glass door just in front of the bed (instead at the side), so if one of us needs to see the bathroom and turn on the light, the entire room is bright. The following day, I could eat for free as a Diamond Member. I was first disappointed as the buffet area appeared very small to me. However, I discovered they used a limited space to present the food in such a considerable variation and decoration. They filled up quickly so that you never felt something was missing. Therefore you could go at any time. And felt welcome to continue to eat.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank HeinBloed
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 12, 2023 via mobile

    Located a few kilometres from the centre of Strasbourg in a business district, the hotel benefits with a large (free) car park - for those travelling further afield by car.

    The rooms are a generous size with a huge double bed for weary heads. A three piece bathroom with a shower over the bath and some rooms having a lake view, the hotel is an ideal place to lay back and recharge.

    The 'G' bus will take you directly into the city at a cost of €2.50. The bus stop is 100 metres away from the hotel gates. Therefore, the absolutely beautiful city of Strasbourg with all of its wonders and the most magnificent (magnifique) Cathedral one could hope to see is in easy reach. Nôtre D'âme Strasbourg truly wonderful.

    All in all a superb base.

    Room tip: Must see Nôtre D'âme Strasbourg.
    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank P-Bailey119
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed June 2, 2023

    Spent one night here on our way to Austria! Decent size rooms, renovated, lovely view towards the lake, easy accessible from the motorway! The restaurant was an amazing surprise, but will post a separate review for it! The only downside is the bathroom, needs renovation asap, also, the deposit of £150 is not justified and it takes ages to be released!

    Date of stay: April 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank dumid
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hélène Réception, Service clients/Réception at Holiday Inn Strasbourg - Nord, An IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2023

    Thank you Dumid for your kind review! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, the lake view and the rooms! We will forward your congratulations to the restaurant :) We took note of your suggestion for the bathroom and will take account of them for our future renovations. The security deposit is to cover some additionnal fees that were not payed the day of departure and it is released the day you left the hotel. However, it can be possible that some bank delay may apply, we are sorry about that. Hope to welcome you again! Have a nice day. Léonie

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews