We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Almost the perfect golfers hotel....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Camiral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Camiral
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes
Level Contributor
163 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Almost the perfect golfers hotel....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

First things first: PGA Catalunya is a sensational Spanish golf resort. The Stadium Course, home to the Spanish Open, is superb and one of the very best, if not THE best in Spain. But unless you are feeling really energetic and it is a cool day make sure you hire a buggy because there are some steep climbs especially from greens to the next tee. When we arrived all the buggies had gone and the temperature was over 90 degrees. We crawled off the course dripping with sweat and totally shattered. And we weren't a pretty sight either.

Fortunately there are loads of helpful staff at the golf club ready to give you a lift back to the hotel which is a two to three minute buggy ride away. If the hotel had as many helpful staff as the golf club there would be no problem. And there is where my 'But' comes in.

The rooms are excellent, clean, spacious with first class bathroom facilities and our dinner was very good indeed, mixing local produce with an excellent regional wine selection with good, attentive service. I just wish there were more staff on hand elsewhere.

The bar was unattended because the guy who was meant to be working there was also helping out in the restaurant and serving drinks outside. It took me two trips back up to reception and over 10 minutes before anyone served me a drink. And then he vanished again and I had to repeat the process to get another beer. Not what I expected from a hotel of this stature.

The same went at breakfast. I was asked my room number and that was it. No one showed me to a table, asked me if I knew that it was self service or asked if I needed anything special. I just found my table and helped myself. And when I went back for some more breakfast not only had my table been cleared on my return but my reading glasses had been moved onto another table. Odd.

The service at dinner was excellent but we were then in a group and it was pretty obvious that we needed serving. Checking out took a while too as the two girls on the desk were both busy with other things and did not make eye contact with me once until they had finished. A simple, 'Sorry, we will be with you very soon' would have made all the difference.

So to sum up: if you want to play both courses at PGA Catalunya, there is the more generous Tour course that we, sadly, did not have time to play, then certainly stay at this hotel which provides everything a golfing tourist is looking for. It just may take a bit longer to get it than you bargained for.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfing-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosana G, Director General at Hotel Camiral, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Golfing-Steve,

Thank you very much for all your sensational comments about our Resort PGA Golf de Catalunya, as well, to take your time to share your experience with other users of this important web, this feedback helps us to improve every day.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed at the golf courses and you have a nice stay with us at the hotel. Of course, we take good note about all your comments and we will do our best to improve them.

Thank you so much aslo for the comments refering our staff, it would be a pleasure to share them with the team.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come back to Girona, we will do the best to ensure a pleasant stay with us.

Best regards,

Rosana González
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    173
    69
    20
    7
See reviews for
61
288
10
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We picked this hotel in order to relax for a couple of days after two weeks of travelling through France and Italy - and we picked quite well. The grounds are beautiful. We had a standard room which was big and very comfortable. The bathroom is amazing.
The pool is excellent, and use of the spa is included in the hotel fee. Beaches are only about 25 minutes away.
The staff is very helpful, providing maps and information.
All in all, a wonderful way to end a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosana G, Director General at Hotel Camiral, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having chosen our Melia Golf Vichy Catalan for your stay, as well as taking the time to post your comments in this important web.

We are very pleased to read that you have had a pleasant stay with us, this is our due and it is very nice to read we reach it during your stay.

All the comments and suggestions we receive from our guest are of invaluable assistance, in that they allow us to identify and focus our attention on those aspects of our operations that require special attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Girona, please, when this happen…advise us to meet personaly and to do the best to ensure you a comfortable and enjoyable stay in our hotel.


Best Regards,

Rosana González
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Positives: great front desk staff, lovely grounds, fabulous but pricey dinner. Excellent buffet breakfast. Room was nice, beds were comfortable.

Negatives: hard to find as there are two hotels in town with the same ownership and name. If you go here, ask for the PGA Catalunya or you will end up at the other hotel. Rooms are in need of some repair: shower has a waterfall, but the pipe comes out of a hole in the wall and wobbles and if you want to be right under it, you need to be very thin or you will be rubbing up against the tiled wall. Amenities in room are limited. If you ask for Tissues (none are supplied), you get a meagerly packaged one of 4 tissues. Iif you want more, you have to ask again. There is a nice pool and small spa, but if you want a robe, it's 6 Euro extra. I have no clue why. Nor can I figure out why a supposedly upscale resort won't put tissues in a regular room. The excuses for everything that went wrong, including the a/c breaking on our second night, were absurd, and laughable. A good resort doesn't make excuses, it just works well.

We do not play golf so I can't comment on that. If you don't intend to play, just pick a hotel in Girona, and skip this hotel. If you do stay, there are some nice restaurants just up the road as an option. This hotel is secluded, so definitely take the breakfast package if you stay here. We were disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felix33442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria_Alcala, Director General at Hotel Camiral, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Mr./Mrs. Felix 33442,

On behalf of myself and all the staff at the hotel, I would like to thank your for having chosen our Hotel Meliá Golf Vichy Catalan for your stay, as well as taking the time to send your opinion.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are of invaluable assistance, in that they allow us to identify and focus our attention on those aspects of our operations that require special or immediate attentions, to ensure that your suggestions should not be cause for complaint in the future.

We would like to apologise for the inconveniences you have had in your stay. We will take good notice of all your comments to try to avoid these incidents in the future and give our guest the best quality of service and product.
Therefore given that for us the satisfaction of our guest is the main objective, it give us a great pleasure that you will give us a new opportunity to change your impression about our Hotel Melia Golf Vichy Catalan.

Do not hesitate to contact us when you decided to make a new reservation. We will be more than pleased to ensure a delightful stay.

Yours sincerely,

Rosana González
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Just returned from a 4 day golfing break with friends. Played both the Stadium and Tour courses at PGA Catalunya which were stunning - the Stadium course requires length and accuracy to avoid the punishing rough - qualities I didn't manage to exhibit!

The hotel is part of the same complex, although separately run, and provided a good base for the golf. The interior design is smart, but a bit haphazard, and the available space poorly laid out. As other reviewers have commented, the bar is small, and the lounge/brasserie area a bit soulless. Our trip coincided with the US Open, so having spent the evenings in Girona, and returned for a late drink to watch the TV coverage, we were disappointed that the bar closed despite a large number of customers wanting service.

The rooms were attractively furnished and the bathrooms were excellent. The pool area is attractive, but access is via a fire door from the lounge!

The spa is small but contains a spa bath, sauna, steam room and shower - all fine, but the changing facilities are very small. I had a massage to ease the golfing shoulders, which was excellent.

The reception staff were lovely and very helpful. The bar staff were a little less so and could not be persuaded to stay open even though there were plenty of residents wanting drinks after midnight. The staff at the golf course were lovely. On the first night we dined in the hotel restaurant, and although the food was good, it was pricey and the menu was unfathomable as there was no logic to its layout, and it was impossible to work out what dishes were starters and what were mains until it was explained by the waiter!



Overall, a pleasant stay, but lacking in atmosphere - you will need to get out of the hotel in the evenings for that!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cymru63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Stayed here as a party of 8 golfers playing the PGA courses on-site and 2 other local courses. The hotel is contemporarily styled but very airy and even the standard rooms were very comfortable, spacious and furnished to a high standard. The food quality was excellent (though expensive in the evenings) and the staff were very efficient and friendly.

Being a golf resort hotel there was excellent access to all facilities and it was nice to be able to fall out from breakfast onto the first tee. Access to Girona takes approx 20 minutes by car and costs 25 euros by taxi, it is worth it though as the city has interesting architecture, very friendly atmosphere and good restaurants.

If I had anything negative to say about the hotel it would be just that unless you are there for golf the hotel is a bit isolated and quiet. As a group of 40 and 50 somethings it didn't bother us and as I say Girona is more or less on the doorstep. The PGA Catalunya courses are fantastic, highly recommended, but there are several other good courses in the area, so nice if you have a few days to fill.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorDaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
769 reviews
280 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

The hotel is very modern and perfectly situated on the golf course. To the golf club house and driving range are only in 300 meters distance We had room with small balcony, from the quiet, back side of the building. The room was functional, with spacey bathroom and free wi-fi access to internet. The downsides of our room were crazy, very complicated system of turning the lights and quite dark arrangement of the wooden elements.
The rich breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant, also slightly over designed , without any warmer climate.
The service is rather average. In the whole hotel there were very few people from the staff, so it was reflected on the quality of service.
And one very strange rule implemented in this Melia hotel - you have to pay the bill partly after some days of your stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia_Golf_Vichy_C, Director General at Hotel Camiral, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
First, I would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Golf Vichy Catalán in your last stay in Girona and for taking the time to share your experience with others tripavisors users.

We are pleased to read that you and your friends have had a pleasant stay with us. We also very pleased for your feedback that help us improve.

Do not doubt that all comments and suggestions we received from our customers are very useful, allowing us to identify and focus our attention on those areas for improvement of our daily operations.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel, and if you choose us on your next trip to Girona, we will do our best to ensure a pleasant stay with us.

Rosana González
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Stayed here first in 2006 just after it opened, and the latest stay was in June 2010. The hotel grounds have matured in the meantime. The hotel overall - restaurant, rooms and other facilities - have maintained their high standards over the intervening years, which is normally a very good sign given the staff turnover issues in most hotels.

The only problem we had was with another guest trying to get into our room at 4.00 am, which, of course, had nothing to do with the hotel. But, the hotel's quality manager did discuss it with us, just in case it wasn't another guest - another good reassuring point in favour of the hotel.

If you're looking for a modern, quiet and very comfortable 4* hotel near to Girona, then you will find it hard to beat the Melia Golf.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mel_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caldes de Malavella
3.8 km away
Hotel Balneario Vichy Catalan
Hotel Balneario Vichy Catalan
#2 of 4 in Caldes de Malavella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Balneari Prats
Hotel Balneari Prats
#3 of 4 in Caldes de Malavella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Mas Sola
Hotel Mas Sola
#1 of 2 in Santa Coloma de Farners
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Sant Pere del Bosc Hotel & Spa
Sant Pere del Bosc Hotel & Spa
#7 of 126 in Lloret de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
17.0 km away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
38.8 km away
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Camiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camiral

Property: Hotel Camiral
Address: Carretera N-II - Km 701, 17455 Caldes de Malavella, Spain (Formerly Melia Golf Vichy Catalan)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Caldes de Malavella
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Caldes de Malavella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Camiral 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned to make the most of a breath-taking region, at Hotel Camiral every space has been carefully considered, every service thoughtfully planned, every experience designed to be enlivening and enriching. We've created a relaxing haven where guests can spend time together. A place where every day brings something new and exciting to discover. A place where you can make the most of every moment on the doorstep of Barcelona and only 10 minutes from Girona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Camiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Golf Vichy Catalan Hotel Caldes De Malavella
Melia Vichy Catalan
Melia Hotel Vichy Catalan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing