We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
434
192
38
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
192
38
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castel brando across the road cap corse lovely hotel the main house eggs palm trees crepes small balcony make your own main pool beautiful setting nice view no lift smaller pool plenty of choice primary school
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 672 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We are currently on day three of our five day stay. The reviews for the hotel are generally spot on - the accommodation, facilities, friendly and helpful staff and the excellent breakfasts - could not really disagree with what other guests have said.
Definitely go for a room in the main house - the new buildings look like a row of sheltered housing for OAPs ; I’m sure they are fine inside but there is really no atmosphere about them. You soon get used to the church bell every quarter of an hour but in general this is a very quiet and relaxing hotel and area to come to.
The towels in the room need replacing with something more softer and luxurious - ours are thin and hard and the sort of towel that I use at home to dry the dog with ! A little luxury would be appreciated !
My main comments concern the restaurant and the food offered. Not by way of a criticism really - more a suggestion to the management.
I have read the managements comment about trying to provide seasonal food - hence the limited choice. No, sorry, that really does not stack up.
In an area like this there is plenty of fresh seasonal food, from a whole range of fish to fresh vegetables and salads. So why the restaurant menu is so limited and always the same, day after day,is a really huge disappointment.
But more to the point - why are you not offering a range of simple dishes for lunch or during the day ? Salad or a club sandwich is just not good enough. We would have liked to have gone out for the morning and then come back to the hotel for a late and leisurely lunch or snack and then spent the afternoon by the pool and so on. But the complete lack of a choice of food during the day has made us stay out longer, eat out at lunch time and not use the facilities in the hotel to their maximum. There is a kitchen just sitting there, not being used! How does that make financial sense? Just a choice of omelettes, mixed salads, croque monsieur, sardines etc, would be so simple to prepare and encourage guests to hang around the hotel longer and spend their money here rather than elsewhere. The kitchen can obviously prepare good, simple food judged by the breakfasts - something similar available throughout day would be terrific.
So in general a good hotel and place to stay but d8apointing on the food front.

Room tip: Main house is a must.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien P, Gérant at Hotel Castel Brando, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Dear Susan T,

We thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent experience at the Hotel Castel Brando. We regret sincerely that you were not entirely satisfied with your experience, however we are glad that overall you have enjoyed your holidays with us especially our buffet breakfast and our team.

As stated, our nineteen-century house has a true authentic atmosphere and we are pleased that you appreciate it this much. However, be sure that all of our rooms, even those located in our three other villas also have this timeless charm and unique feeling, and some of our guests will definitely prefer staying in one of our other villas. We pride ourselves for having all rooms different from each other’s, which is why we differ from chain hotels. Each customer can choose which room suits him best and our reservation team is always available to inform our guests about their options regarding accommodation.

We have duly noted your remark regarding the towels and we will look into the matter as this is the first time we had a complaint about this subject.

We appreciate your suggestions regarding the restaurant and we have duly noted them. As you may or may not know, we opened our restaurant just 6 months ago and the reviews so far are pretty good. We chose to offer quality over quantity in order to keep our services at their best levels. Indeed, we choose to work with only fresh produces locally sourced and it can get a little challenging to expand our menus. But rest assured that we will take great care into developing our restaurant offer.

We truly hope to welcome you another time at the Castel Brando and that our food service will meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

We spent 3 nights there but could have stay a week! This is a little gem, comfortable et calm, right in the village center.
The breakfast buffet is delicious (and try the restaurant” Les Américains”) the staff is very professional and the bedroom with air con and nice bedding. The bathroom could have more storage and a bigger splash guard on the bathtub, but small details compare to the prestations.
The pool was never overcrowded even early August. The second little is often taken over.
When children or babies are around, it can be a little noisy when the parents are not making their best to calm them down, but again not much can be done by the hotel.

We’ll definitely be back!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Delnyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien P, Gérant at Hotel Castel Brando, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Delnyon,

We thank you very much for this kind review. We are really proud to read that you have enjoyed your 3 nights with us as well as our buffet breakfast and our restaurant.
We would be very glad to welcome you another time in Erbalunga, for a week maybe this time.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is magnificent.
The rooms are simply but very elegantly decorated.
The breakfast area which is outdoors and indoors is amazing. You can prepare your own crepes and eggs. The products are fresh!

The pool and spa are wonderful! I ll definitely recommend this place to couples and family!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank minoushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien P, Gérant at Hotel Castel Brando, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Dear Minoushka,

We want to thank you for this nice review that highlight the facilities of our hotel, we are delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us and that you would be pleased to recommend us.
Hoping to welcoming you another time in Erbalunga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018

This hotel is absolutely wonderful - great location, very comfortable rooms, nice pool, great restaurant, top level service and the staff is very friendly and helpful. My wife and I stayed for four nights and will definitely come back. Great location with the tiny port of Erbalunga just across the street. Within minutes you're swimming in the sea or the pool.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquashow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien P, Gérant at Hotel Castel Brando, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Dear Aquashow,

Thanks a lot for your message, we are delighted to know that your stay with us is a sweet memory! We will definitely transmit the compliment to the staff. We really hope to welcome you again in Castel Brando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

We spent just over a week here, and have no hesitation in recommending it.

We had an upper floor room in the garden room block furthest from the original building. These rooms are near to a small primary school close to the rear border of the hotel gardens, but we did not find the noise of children in the playground in the morning too much, neither did it go on too long.

The room was large and comfortable, well-furnished, with a very small balcony, which was filled by a small table and two chairs, offering a pleasant view over the gardens of a residential area and wooded hillside. Comfort-wise, the balcony was OK for the duration of early evening drinks, but would have become uncomfortable for much longer.

The room also offered a built-in wardrobe, a safe and a small refrigerator for guests to fill with whatever they want. The bathroom was a reasonable size and well-appointed. The whole thing was spotless when we arrived, and was kept that way by the daily visits of the staff whilst we were out.

This hotel sits in mature gardens, with shading from trees in the outdoor dining area and around the perimeter, as well as an open area around the main pool. However, there is also shading beneath a bamboo verandah when the poolside sun is too much. Additionally, another, smaller pool offers more seclusion. The outdoor furniture in all areas was very comfortable and seemed to be new this season.

Breakfast, taken in the delightful outdoor restaurant area, was very good, with a variety of typical fresh foods every day. We also dined in the restaurant on three occasions. The food and service were both very good. However, the menu is quite small and did not change during our stay. Nevertheless, it offered a slightly more upmarket contrast to most of the relatively simple, but perfectly pleasant eateries in the main part of the village, across the road.

This is a lovely hotel, with universally friendly, helpful and well-trained staff. Erbalunga is a good location if you are looking for somewhere that is mostly uncommercialised and uncrowded. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien P, Gérant at Hotel Castel Brando, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Dear Traveller54,

We would like to thank you for this kind comment.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you during your stay in our hotel and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and the different services of our hotel.
We are also glad that you liked the restaurant, we took into consideration your observation about the menu. Since we only work with seasonal, locally grown and fresh product, it can be challenging to offer more diversity but we will do our very best to satisfy your expectations for a future stay

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you another time in the charming village of Erbalunga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews