We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,670)
Filter reviews
2,670 results
Traveller rating
1,937
571
106
36
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,937
571
106
36
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango pool panoramic room beach bag sala bar chom talay restaurant happy hour horizon deluxe pool bar hill side shuttle bus shuttle service flip flops thai restaurant mobility issues tuk tuk main pool karon town
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 2,670 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a brilliant time at Mandarava Hotel, the hotel itself is brilliant, the rooms are gorgeous and the many pools means you can never get bored - nor is there ever any need to reserve a sunbed, as there is somewhere for everyone to go.
We booked the Mandarava for 5 nights during our stay in Phuket and we were really impressed. The staff are very welcoming, and I would like to particularly highlight the reception staff who dealt with any issue that day and sometimes within the hour.
The food is delicious, we particularly enjoyed the vast selection of foods at breakfast and we ate dinner twice in the hotel which had an extensive choice. All pool bartenders made delicious drinks.
The room was very spacious and a lot of light. The only suggestion I would have about the room is the bathroom needed a bit more ventilation, as after a shower it didn't feel like the steam left the bathroom - plus you don't really have the option of opening the window as you just end up letting hot air in.
Overall, had a very positive experience at this hotel, staff were courteous and thoughtful, they organised a birthday cake on the morning of my birthday, delivered to the room, which was a nice touch!

Room tip: We had a deluxe sea view room which had large windows and balcony
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deepti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Khun Deepti V,

Thank you for sharing your great feedback with us. Happy to read you enjoyed the stay and hotel is met with your expectation.

Look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Reviewed so many hotels but particularly wanted a "pool access" room, so opted to stay at the Mandarava Hotel and Spa, as this was special trip to celebrate my husbands 50th Birthday. On arrival, reception and concierge provide refreshments and quick guide to the resort. We were driven to our room, which was located north of the reception area. Hotel room was a "wow" moment and exceeded my expectations although Booking .com did a great job at advertising the resort very positively. Felt relaxed straight away (although jet lagged) and holiday was off to an amazing start. Our pool access room led to a terrific cocktail bar and was bliss ordering a Pina Colada, while watching the sunset. The rooms were fantastically equipped with umbrellas (they were needed on only two evenings out of 12), flip flops, sandals, pool towels, bathrobes and beach bag. The rooms were spotless, as was the patio and we had our own sun lounger provided. Breakfast was superb and I sincerely miss having Thai curry for my brekkie! The selection is awesome and impossible for anyone not to find something they enjoy. Produce excellent quality and eat ad much as you like. Thai evening held in main restaurant was an absolute highlight and worth every penny/BAHT, with amazing food and authentic music and dances. Free shuttle bus to the beach but to be honest we enjoyed the walk, which is only 10 minutes stroll and you walk past restaurants and shops so nice to stock up on supplies. Karon Beach is fabulous and far quieter than Patong. Great places to eat, drink and buy souvenirs. Will definitely be returning. I do have only one, very small criticism which is the hotel forgot to provide a Birthday cake, which i had requested prior to arrival. However, too many good aspects of our overall trip that this was a 5 minute annoyance rather than a grumbling bigger problem. Do stay at this wonderful place, if you want a piece of paradise.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FarAway00877797626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Khun FarAway00877797626,

Thank you for sharing your great holidays experiences. Sorry for an inconvenience caused, however happy to read you enjoyed the stay.

Look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon. We had the standard room which overlooked and adult only pool. The room was great in size and had a decent sized balcony.
We did try to upgrade but due to expense stuck with our room.
The resort is huge. You are able to be taken to your room by hotel vehicle but I’d be careful about booking this place if you have problems walking.
There are loads of pool areas and there was always plenty of spaces any time of the day.
There was a small gym that was ok and enough for a work out.
The breakfast was excellent and offered plenty.
We ate only once at the restaurant due to weather keeping us in and the food was brilliant. A bit more expensive than town but no complaints.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dmacScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Khun dmacScot,

Thank you for your positive review shared. Happy to read you have had a wonderful time and hotel is met with your expectation.

Look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent hotel and the staff are always welcoming, the rooms are very clean and well designed in order to capture the full nice pool view.

Please consider to provide more “Halal” food options in your food menu.

Regards,

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TarekAlZaaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TarekAIZaaim,

Thank you for a nice comments shared. Your suggestion has been noted for an improvement.

Look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

The first impression you get from the resort is grandiose, the open-air hall is very beautifully designed. The reception however is quite cold, it seems that we were bothering the receptionist more than anything...

However, the lobby boy was very helpful and introduced us to our room which was... Fantastic. We were in the panoramic view room near one of the infinity pool, and the room is just gigantic, so much so as the king size bed took little place in the room itself. The balcony was stretched on both sides of the room and gave us a breath-taking view of the Karon hills and the sea.
The bathroom is also huge with a large shower place, a big bath tub and other amenities that were fit in a very useful way.

The mini bar provided us on a daily basis two bottles of water for free (which is highly appreciated since the tap water in Thailand is not drinkable).

The breakfast is very good, has a large diversity of foods in display but lack a bit of diversification over the week.

The pool service was okayish, with towels provided for free for the long chairs. The water is very clean and the infinity style of the pools certainly brings a plus to the global atmosphere.

You also get to reserve for free a trip to Karon Beach (with fixed hours) and towels are also lent to you free of charge for the beach.

As for the things around, there are two very good and cheap restaurants at 5 minutes walk (Sabaijai Cafe and Sweet&Sour) and the Frutta massage are quite good for the price asked (300 TBH for an hour of foot massage).

TLDR: Go, it largely deserves its five stars.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 776r_myh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Khun Remy H,

Thank you for your positive review shared. Happy to read you enjoyed the stay and hotel services as well as facilities are met with your expectation.

Look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews