We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to do here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nantua
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This was a hotel of two halves - the entrance, exterior, reception and restaurant were great - very modern. The rooms however very dated and did not match with the other half of the hotel.
A very poor bar area with limited drinks. We had booked the restaurant for 7 of us to eat, but when we looked at the menu it was seriously expensive so we cancelled and walked into the town.
Nantua town is quite run down but we did find a bar with a pizzeria who did amazing food in a proper pizza oven so the stay ended up ok. Would not recommend staying here though.

Room Tip: The rooms needed modernising as did the bathrooms and the air con didnt work. A pity as the rest of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hscott26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2016

the hotel is very nicely located at the lake and having dinner in its restaurant with a view at the lake is certainly worth it. the food (fish) of the dinner was really good - though breakfast offers room for improvement. But it is good value for the money you spend

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HW-HG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Overall a clean functional hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very much on the small side and a bathroom in need of modernising. The biggest disappointment was that we paid extra for a lake view room. The small windows, with the desk and tv in front of them failed to fulfil my romantic idea of what a lake view should be - something ever so slightly more towards a picture window would been my idea.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisPudsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We last reviewed this hotel on the 12th September 2010.
Since then, the rooms have been re-furbished, the gardens have been landscaped, and the entrance and restaurant have been completely re-modelled. Most of all - a lift (elevator) has been installed.

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. A room overlooking the mountains is cheaper than one overlooking the lake. Very calm and quiet whichever room you choose.

There is plenty of secure parking at the rear - and in front if you need it.
The setting is dramatically beautiful - high mountains around a large lake. Couldn't be better. A stroll beside the lake, before or after dinner, is a perfect way to relax after travelling.

The restaurant also overlooks this view. The cuisine is perfectly French and beautifully cooked and served without fuss and at a good pace. The whole room is calm and well-ordered.

It is located about 15 minutes off the autoroute and is a good place to break a journey.

We'll continue to stay there on our frequent drives to Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidandloretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip. The hotel restaurant and reception have been recently renovated and were welcoming. The restaurant served good food with a gastronomic touch (maybe a little pretentious).
Unfortunately the rooms and the breakfast were not to the same level. The rooms would appreciate an update in line with the previous renovation and breakfast was at best average (unexceptional pastries and awful automatic machine coffee). It was a pity because it started so well.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Thorno_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

This is a typical French country side hotel. Simple and basic rooms but very clean.
I do not understand the negative comments concerning the restaurant. I found it delicious.

Hotel I noted 3 but restaurant should be 4

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Creten22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Our first impressions were good - the lakeside setting is nice and the entrance and lounge area of the hotel was stylish but our room was absolutely dreadful. The decor of the room was more like a 1970s guest house than a modern hotel. The walls were woodchip paper painted orange and the bathroom was awful with chipped tiles, dirty grouting and a worn out carpet. This room badly needed refurbishment and redecoration. The room where breakfst is served was no better. The white door had not been cleaned in ages and was covered in dirty hand and finger prints. The paintwork was chipped and it didn't look as if it had been redecorated in years. Oh and if you are a vegetarian you won't get anything to eat either. For 104 euros per night I expect better.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Springer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantua
5.2 km away
Relax-Hotel
Relax-Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nantua
32 reviews
16.8 km away
Kyriad Bellegarde Geneve
Kyriad Bellegarde Geneve
#1 of 1 in Chatillon-en-Michaille
123 reviews
11.1 km away
Hotel Melodie
Hotel Melodie
#2 of 6 in Oyonnax
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Central Parc Hotel
Central Parc Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oyonnax
97 reviews
12.7 km away
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#1 of 6 in Oyonnax
84 reviews
29.2 km away
Best Western Hotel De France
Best Western Hotel De France
#5 of 9 in Bourg-en-Bresse
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere

Address: 13 avenue du Lac, 01130 Nantua, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Nantua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nantua
Price Range: C$117 - C$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Embarcadere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing