We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ololg
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom

Fabulous food and facilities!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 5, 2016
One of our best hotel experience EVER! And we do travel a lot. We were there for 1 night on an half board basis. The evening meal consisted of 6 course, make sure you leave space for the cheese board and the delicious bread. I have actually no word to describe the breakfast - absolutely out of this world: amazing choices of bread, cold meat & patés, fish, pastries, fruits, yogurts, etc. and a cook available to make whatever you wanted. We were even offered wine. The facilities are also out of this world: 2 pools (outdoor pool heated early April), jacuzzi, gym, steam rooms and sauna, all sort of relaxation rooms, beautiful garden, etc. They provide bathrobes/slippers and a basket which you can keep after checking out meaning we were able to stay until 5.30pm on our departure day. To bear in mind: it's all very traditional in the deco, the staff even wear traditional costumes, all the signage and leaflets are in German only and most of the staff have no English but it all makes very exotic. The staff is great and helpful, the place is spotless and cosy. Lots of day trip from the small village, about 60 min away: Freiburg, Colmar and Alsace in general (France), Basel in Switzerland, You could easily spend a week. We can't wait to go back and I highly recommend for all: families, couple or friends.
Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FrontOffice1702, Front Office & Guest Relation at Hotel Ludinmühle, responded to this review
Responded Apr 15, 2016
Dear Olivia,

thanks a lot for that awesome feedback!
I will give that great words about the breakfast buffet,
straight to our chefs.
I think they never heard, that their work is "out of this world" ! ;)

It's lovely to read that you had a nice time, here in the black forest!

We looking forward to meeting you again soon.

Best regards,
Theresa, reception
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Das reizende Anwesen in Freiamt liegt auf der Grenze von Ottoschwanden nach Schuttertal-Schweigh
C$104
  • Agoda.com
    C$104
1.7 km from Hotel Ludinmühle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Hotel Ludinmühle
Free parking
C$176
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    C$176
  • Agoda.com
    C$177
3.8 km from Hotel Ludinmühle
Free Wifi
Free parking
salmon carpaccio
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
4.4 km from Hotel Ludinmühle
Free parking
Restaurant
Bed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from Hotel Ludinmühle
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
4.5 km from Hotel Ludinmühle
    3.3 km from Hotel Ludinmühle
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    5.4 km from Hotel Ludinmühle
    Go to your Happy Price
      3.1 km from Hotel Ludinmühle
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Booking.com
      • Agoda.com
      4.6 km from Hotel Ludinmühle
      View more hotels in Freiamt
      Reviews (281)
      Filter reviews
      281 results
      Traveller rating
      205
      54
      11
      5
      6
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      205
      54
      11
      5
      6
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      5 - 10 of 281 reviews
      Reviewed August 19, 2015

      For people who want a regular hotel experience, don't bother coming here! The hotel is located away from towns, shops and restaurants. You come here to relax, eat and enjoy being away from everything. Hotel is very luxurious and will provide anything you require. Our room, hunersedel in the main building was large with beautiful view and balcony. We warned staff do not speak a lot of English but we're very helpful and did there very best in all ways. Lovely breakfast is provided and then "snacks" from 2pm for 3 hours in room by the pool. We had dinner each night in the restaurant, menu 6 courses, changed each night. Mario in the restaurant was wonderful and tried very hard with English. Only problem was wifi was very slow and dropped out. Also need a car as roads are very narrow and winding and quite a distance to nearest town.

      Date of stay: August 2015
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      2  Thank suzannejayne
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed August 24, 2012

      Great rooms, great pools and saunas, wonderful service and excellent food - what more would anyone want? We've stayed here twice now (2 adults and 2 teenage children) - always paid for by parents inviting the family for a reunion - and always enjoyed our stay. Mind you, prices are steep - but I would still consider what's on offer being 'value for money'. As other reviewers have observed, the Ludinmuehle offers what must be the world's best breakfast buffet - worth an overnight stay itself if you can turn it into a brunch-like experience. We'll return for sure!

      Date of stay: August 2012
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank GalwayGeographer
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed February 3, 2012

      We can just fully agree with the comments here: A wonderful spa hotel that is perfect for a couple or family retreat. Highlight is certainly the location, the impeccably maintained amenities (we loved the outdoor pool), the super-friendly staff, and the great breakfast-buffet. While not cheap, it is very well worth the money, and we loved the many little extras you get - from the chocolate on the pillow, to the free cake or vitamin drink at the pool. Only note: Do not expect a hip and modern environment, the atmosphere is appropriately rural and traditional, the audience tends to be older. Highly recommended!

      Room tip: A room in the "spa wing" seems to be most reccommendable.
      Date of stay: December 2011
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank TRTL
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed September 4, 2011

      My friend and I decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay at this lovely hotel in the Black Forest. I would highly recommend it. The location is beautiful and the service, facility and especially the food exceeded our expectations. My friend and I each had a massage and she had a facial treatment. The spa services are reasonably priced. Most of the staff speak a little English although we were the only non-German speaking guests. This would be an excellent stopover for anyone touring through this part of Germany or wanting to stay for a longer holiday. Make sure to take a hike though the nearby countryside if you have time...the views are spectacular.

      Date of stay: September 2011
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank WorldTraveller44444
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 1 week ago
      Google Translation

      Date of stay: June 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews