We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Laurence
Luxembourg

Quiet piece of heaven

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 24, 2022via mobile
We stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights with our 6 year old girl.
We had the Verwöhnpensioun thus eating there morning lunch and dinner and we really enjoyed the delicious food. Great choice at the breakfast buffet and friendly waitresses. Pencils and colouring in menus provided for children.
Our room was spacious, well equipped and clean. The bed was comfy and new fruit there every day. What I really appreciated were some small touches: our view was not great it was onto the roof of the kitchen and restaurant, but they made it nicer by putting iron animal cuttings there, great care to detail!
My massage was great and we enjoyed the pool and spa. The only negative point is that there were not always towels there and it was not easy to find a deck chair.
The child care was great and our daughter enjoyed it, and it was great that I could also go there with her on a Sunday and enjoy the toys.
The shuttle service for walks is a wonderful idea and the man taking us gave us some very interesting information about the area.
Concerning children (previous review) : the hotel offers a lot for children, but the clientele is mostly old, so it's not a children's hotel. I felt very self-conscious around the pool as people do eye you suspiciously when you are there with children, but we didn't have any problems. Also people who want peace can go to the sauna which is over 16s.
We loved our stay, especially the warm welcome at the reception and will hopefully be back.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Das reizende Anwesen in Freiamt liegt auf der Grenze von Ottoschwanden nach Schuttertal-Schweigh
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from Hotel Ludinmuhle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
    0.1 km from Hotel Ludinmuhle
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
    3.8 km from Hotel Ludinmuhle
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    salmon carpaccio
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    4.3 km from Hotel Ludinmuhle
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Bed
    • Priceline
    2.1 km from Hotel Ludinmuhle
    • Priceline
    4.4 km from Hotel Ludinmuhle
      3.3 km from Hotel Ludinmuhle
      Free Wifi
      Restaurant
      • Priceline
      5.4 km from Hotel Ludinmuhle
      Go to your Happy Price
        3.0 km from Hotel Ludinmuhle
        • Priceline
        4.5 km from Hotel Ludinmuhle
        View more hotels in Freiamt
        Reviews (279)
        Filter reviews
        279 results
        Traveller rating
        203
        54
        11
        5
        6
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        203
        54
        11
        5
        6
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        1 - 6 of 279 reviews
        Reviewed August 16, 2022

        Children intimidated in the pool

        I have never written a bad review before, but this place was so horrible it merits a first, to protect other families from this experience. Travelling through Italy and Germany in luxury hotels with our 3 young children (7, 5, 2) for the past 3 weeks we had wonderful experiences everywhere except this awful one. We really implored the manager to let us leave because we really did not feel at ease but he was not willing to waive the cancellation fee of 80%.
        Simply put: Do not go here with kids.
        This place is just horrible if you are with young children. The general age of people is elderly (70+) and most things are catered to them. Nothing wrong with that but it is clearly not for families with young kids, so they should not advertise this and should have pointed this out during reservations.

        The hotel is full with elderly people who don’t want children playing in the pool, children are not allowed to jump in the pool, splash or make noise. There is a relax area right next to the pool. Different people come up to them to intimidate the children, (one even went as far as shoving), leaving them crying and upset. We started filming the incidents after our 2 year old was pushed in the water and we found out some of their toys were taken away.
        [Read on...]

        Date of stay: August 2022
        Thank ASuus
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed May 6, 2017

        Did not use the spa services, but everything that has been reviewed we recommend. It is a little pricey but is well worth the expense. The reception desk was very understanding, especially when I needed the services of a doctor near the area.

        Date of stay: April 2017
        • Trip type: Travelled with family
          • Sleep Quality
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank George G
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Walter Z, Marketing at Hotel Ludinmuhle, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

        Dear George,

        Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed our services and are looking forward to have you stay with us another time in future.

        Kindest regards,
        Your Ludinmühle-Team

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

        We spend a weekend as a couple at this hotel. Very nice setting in the country side. Before we arrived we booked our spa treatments in advance to make sure to have them booked.
        The food at the restaurant was delicious, the staff was friendly and very helpfull.
        The spa area was very tasteful and relaxing.
        The only thing that went completley wrong were our spa booking. We received a confirmation for our treatments when we arrived. When we finally went for our appointments, they couldn't find our reservation. And to make everything worse, the spa was fully booked. They tried to find different openings, but it didn't really work out.
        It was still a nice stay, even without spa treatments.

        Date of stay: February 2016
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank Tokyowife
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed April 5, 2016

        One of our best hotel experience EVER! And we do travel a lot. We were there for 1 night on an half board basis. The evening meal consisted of 6 course, make sure you leave space for the cheese board and the delicious bread. I have actually no word to describe the breakfast - absolutely out of this world: amazing choices of bread, cold meat & patés, fish, pastries, fruits, yogurts, etc. and a cook available to make whatever you wanted. We were even offered wine. The facilities are also out of this world: 2 pools (outdoor pool heated early April), jacuzzi, gym, steam rooms and sauna, all sort of relaxation rooms, beautiful garden, etc. They provide bathrobes/slippers and a basket which you can keep after checking out meaning we were able to stay until 5.30pm on our departure day. To bear in mind: it's all very traditional in the deco, the staff even wear traditional costumes, all the signage and leaflets are in German only and most of the staff have no English but it all makes very exotic. The staff is great and helpful, the place is spotless and cosy. Lots of day trip from the small village, about 60 min away: Freiburg, Colmar and Alsace in general (France), Basel in Switzerland, You could easily spend a week. We can't wait to go back and I highly recommend for all: families, couple or friends.

        Date of stay: April 2016
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Service
        Thank ololg
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        FrontOffice1702, Front Office & Guest Relation at Hotel Ludinmuhle, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2016

        Dear Olivia,

        thanks a lot for that awesome feedback!
        I will give that great words about the breakfast buffet,
        straight to our chefs.
        I think they never heard, that their work is "out of this world" ! ;)

        It's lovely to read that you had a nice time, here in the black forest!

        We looking forward to meeting you again soon.

        Best regards,
        Theresa, reception

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed August 19, 2015

        For people who want a regular hotel experience, don't bother coming here! The hotel is located away from towns, shops and restaurants. You come here to relax, eat and enjoy being away from everything. Hotel is very luxurious and will provide anything you require. Our room, hunersedel in the main building was large with beautiful view and balcony. We warned staff do not speak a lot of English but we're very helpful and did there very best in all ways. Lovely breakfast is provided and then "snacks" from 2pm for 3 hours in room by the pool. We had dinner each night in the restaurant, menu 6 courses, changed each night. Mario in the restaurant was wonderful and tried very hard with English. Only problem was wifi was very slow and dropped out. Also need a car as roads are very narrow and winding and quite a distance to nearest town.

        Date of stay: August 2015
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Sleep Quality
          • Service
        2  Thank suzannejayne
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews