We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
64
48
22
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
48
22
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 141 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2015

We stayed for 4 nights from 5th September. Our room was on the second floor in the new building, and had a balcony and two huge windows. It was beautiful, peaceful and luxurious. A short walk or cycle ride to the sea through the gardens. The beach was always almost deserted, and the sea not as cold as Britain. The swans like to swim in the sea because it is not so salty.
In the garden we saw kingfishers, frogs, newts, lizards and hedgehogs. The wild pool is magical and has a lovely shower.
We were delighted by the price of our stay, and would love to go again. We ate in the brasserie every day, and found the staff friendly and the choice good.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika S, Guest Relation at Schlossgut Gross Schwansee, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Dear Mr./Mrs. whealey,

thank you so much for your great feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon at schlossgut gross schwansee.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2015

It was a really nice trip to gross Schwansee. Friendly staff, modern and big rooms. The breakfast was every day perfect. Just the dinner was not as good as we expected it is.
The Ostsee is just a few meters away form the hotel. We had every day a bike and had trips to travemuende.
There are a lot of beautiful beaches were you can swim.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Risi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika S, Guest Relation at Schlossgut Gross Schwansee, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Dear Mr./Mrs. Risi2014,

thank you so much for your great feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your trips to travemuende as well. We hope to welcome you again soon at schlossgut gross schwansee.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2015

The pictures look much nicer than the hotel actually is. This is an area where it rains a lot, and you have to walk outside to go to the restaurant, which is ok but nothing to write home about. And why is it not possible to drink a coffee in the outside seating area until breakfast is finished at 11? We arrived early and had some time before our room was ready. People were sitting outside drinking coffee, but we were told they were still eating breakfast and that we could not order coffee until later. Strange! At a place like this (not cheap) you would hope for a nice pool. Instead they offer you their nature pool, which, honestly, looks like a pool of green disgusting underwater plants and gunk. Apart from the sea, which is close by, this hotel is probably located in the most boring part of Germany (Europe???).

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ingrid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika S, Guest Relation at Schlossgut Gross Schwansee, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Dear Mrs. T.,

thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry that you did not like our area and our hotel. You can be assured that we talked about your review with the department managers. We hope that you find your personal location in a nice area.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2015

The hotel itself is an old Manor House in large grounds. The main house, which has some guest rooms, a bar, the restaurant, bar and whiskey lounge, is beautiful and has conserved or refurbished many of the original features. In the converted stables there is a bistro and the "Wellness" (Spa) area, which is small but nicely designed. A new building houses most of the hotel's rooms and is well-designed and stylish, the rooms are fairly large and the bathrooms are stylish and practical. Sleep quality is very good, there isn't much around to disturb the peace, apart from wildlife. Breakfast is very good and the staff are friendly and well-trained or in training, which is also a plus-point, I love places where the staff are given the opportunity to progress. One can walk for miles from here, hardly seeing a soul (the odd deer and many swans don't really count) and work up a very good appetite. I'd recommend the half-board option, especially in winter, as there's really not much choice other than to use the car if you don't want to eat at the hotel. But dinner is delicious, so it'd be your loss! The only, slight, crtitcism is that it is fairly expensive, particularly the wine, but the half-board option is a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EuroRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice, modern rooms.
Beautiful location 5 min. walk from the sea. Beautiful landscapes nearby.
Nice breakfast (buffet) and excellent food in the evening.
Some rooms of our group were double booked but the problem was solved quickly.
We did not try the wellness area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews