We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday ”

Toby Carvery Runwell
Ranked #10 of 59 Restaurants in Wickford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Came on a very very busy Easter Sunday. We had booked a table but arrived a little early and waited. The check in staff were friendly and found us a table at the correct time of our booking. Our starters took quite a while to come but it was super busy. There was a super long que for the carvers but as we had ordered vegetarian meals the server helped us to jump straight to the vegetables which was helpful! There was a problem with the bill but the manager did come and rectify it. Food was great. They did well in such a busy day.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Jamesmarstersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Runwell, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Jamesmarstersfan thank you for taking the time to leave us a great rating and soem very good feedback. I will make sure that the team on Sunday are aware of your generous feedback. I am happy to hear that the team helped you out and that the issue was dealt with for you in a quick manor. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 730 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Visited her today with a friend and we had a lovely meal I was a little apprehensive about going as I found the quality of the food had gone down but I am pleased to say that today's meal was delicious
All the condiments were full the gravy was fresh the servers both at the carvery and our table were welcoming
Will definitely return

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JYar-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Runwell, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

JYar-1 thank you for taking time to leave us some great feedback and an amazing score to match. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and found our team welcoming. We can not await your next visit and we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Used to love coming here for their all you can eat breakfast. The quality of food was once so good which kept us coming back time and time again. I'd say in the last 4 visits it's steadily gone down hill. And today's visit was all time low. The sausages (picture with the review) were inedible. To be honest the rest of the food wasn't much better. Dried up and very little of everything! We got there at 9 thinking that the food would be fresh out. But actually I think what had happened was they had reheated the stuff from yesterday to serve first thing. Because by the time we were leaving they started to put SOME fresh items out but it went so quickly because people didn't want to eat the rough looking food! Just such a shame that it's not what it once used to be.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank thomas_andrew_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Runwell, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

thomas_andrew_smith thank you for taking time to leave us a score and feedback. I will make sure that your comments are passed onto our Kitchen Manager and breakfast chef to ensure that the quality of food is always of a high standard.

If you wish to discuss the matter further please contact us on 01268 769671 and ask for the duty manager.

Team Runwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Easy parking and nice venue. The staff were friendly and helpful. The carvery was fresh and plentiful. It was good value especially as we had a voucher each for a free cocktail that were nearly £5. We would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank AlanJames66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Runwell, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Thanks for the feedback and score AlanJames 66,
We are glad to see that you take advantage of the offers that we put out through Toby Carvery.
We hope to see you again soon
Dave S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

Being a veggie, I love a good roast,minus the meat, and have always found Toby Carveries to be great for this, and very reasonable on price too.
Not this one. The chef serving the meat and giving out plates had no teeth and provided 'shaved' slices of meat to my husband. ( new company policy maybe?) The stuffing had been mixed with hot water but there was no evidence of it being baked at any time. The potatoes had a lovely crisp outside and an uncooked middle and the cauliflower cheese, usually my favourite, was inedible due to a really strange twange!
The gravy and sauce station was very neat and tidy, the bill was small and the company was great but I will never return to this particular Toby.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank JaneRCanvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Runwell, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Really sorry JaneRCanvey for the disappointing visit you experienced.
If you would like to discuss further, please contact us on 01268 769671
Regards

Dave S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Runwell also viewed

 
Battlesbridge, Essex
 
Battlesbridge, Essex
 

Been to Toby Carvery Runwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing