We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place, Great Food”
Review of Auberge des Glacis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in L'Islet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge des Glacis
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in L'Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We spent one night here, on our way from the Saguenay Fjord to Quebec. A lovely, restful stop. We had a large corner room (the Balcon Room) with two windows, right beside the stream, a delightful natural sound, like a heavy rain on the roof... Only downside to the room is that the shower stall is very small, due to the limitations of the space available. It was OK for us, but it people in your party are large, you might want to inquire about rooms with a larger shower or a tub.

The gourmet dinner and breakfast were both superb, the latter a full European-style cold buffet, with cereal, meats, hard-boiled eggs, fruits, toast, croissants,homemade jams, etc.

The property has many acres, with well-laid out hiking trials,with informational signs about the history of the property - a very nice amenity.

Room Tip: As always, review photos carefully before sslecting your room request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldmayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergedesglacis, Propriétaire at Auberge des Glacis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you very much for this review !
We are really happy you liked your stay with us !

Looking forward to see you again in our Auberge,

Audrey Jade Bherer (owners' daughter)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2009

Auberge des glacis is a very nice incc. The owners are super friendly and make you feel welcome. There is a nice living room overlooking the river where you can have tea, read or have breakfast. Very charming. The rooms are nice but a bit small. The bathrooms are fine but small not very luxurious. But I didn't go there to spend time in the bathroom so it was fine. There are many little paths on the inn's grounds. They make for a pleasant walk. The food was good but not as amazing as I would have expected. It is supposed to be a gourmet destination. But maybe it's just me. The person I was with was very very satisfied with the food. I thought it was good, nothing more than that. One good thing, they use products from the area only.

All in all, a good weekend getaway. It's easy to get to and it's very calm and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goworldmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergedesglacis, Propriétaire at Auberge des Glacis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi there,

We are really happy you liked your stay with us !

Thank your for your review. Your comments helped us a lot. We are presently renovating our bathrooms in this part of our building, so they can be bigger and more comfortable for our guests.

It is sure that a few of our rooms are a little small, but we have to take into consideration that our building is ancestral and that is it difficult to change its divisions and the size of its rooms. Pre-eminently, we try to maintain the particular charm of our Auberge and the coziness of our rooms.

In the appendant we built in 2010, our visitors can now stay in larger rooms and bathrooms (if they wish to, which is not the case of all our visitors).

Looking forward to see you again in our Auberge,

Audrey Jade Bherer (owners' daughter)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

The auberge des Glacis is a cute little inn (actually an old mill) on
the edge of a river in the small town of Saint-Eugene. This is about one hour drive away from Quebec city to the east towards
Gaspe.
The inns rooms are not very large but very adequate. Our room
was on the corner looking out at the garden. Very nice and bright..
The bathroom was very basic and very tight. The shower was very small.
There was a lounging area overlooking the river where you can have a tea in the afternoon or just read the newspaper.
The best part of this inn was their evening meals. They have a
fabulous chef , Olivier Raffestin, on their staff. He reallly whipped up some wonderful meals. It was so nice to be able to have a
gourmet meal and then just go upstairs to your room. Should you wish, they also do have a lit up path to go for a walk in the evening.
The breakfast was served, buffet style. There were nice crepes,
breads and croissants. Also cheese and ham and homemade
duck pate, as well as delicious homemade jams.
I think this is a gourmet destination, for the food which was delicious , and not the inn itself.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lizzypumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergedesglacis, Propriétaire at Auberge des Glacis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi there,

We are really happy you liked your stay with us !

Thank your for your review. Your comments helped us a lot. It is sure that a few of our rooms are a little small, but we have to take into consideration that our building is ancestral and that is it difficult to change its divisions and the size of its rooms. Pre-eminently, we try to maintain the particular charm of our Auberge and the coziness of our rooms.

Also, we are presently renovating our bathrooms in this part of our building, so they can be bigger and more comfortable for our guests.

In the appendant we built in 2010, our visitors can now stay in larger rooms and bathrooms (if they wish to, which is not the case of all our visitors).

Looking forward to see you again in our Auberge,

Audrey Jade Bherer (owners' daughter)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sabenath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres ont un cachet particulier, romantiques à souhait, très confortables, par contre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yvanocubano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Line B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres semblent identiques .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchaumette2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Islet
25.5 km away
Hotel L'Oiseliere - Montmagny
24.8 km away
Hotel Centre-Ville
Hotel Centre-Ville
#1 of 5 in Montmagny
113 reviews
38.8 km away
Hotel & Spa Le Germain Charlevoix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 km away
Motel Le Martinet
Motel Le Martinet
#1 of 3 in La Pocatiere
53 reviews
9.1 km away
Le Faubourg
Le Faubourg
#3 of 3 in Saint Jean Port Joli
67 reviews
26.5 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 5 in Montmagny
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Glacis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Glacis

Address: 46, Tortue Road, L'Islet, Quebec G0R 1X0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Chaudiere-Appalaches > L'Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in L'Islet
Price Range: $460 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge des Glacis 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge des Glacis is a hidden treasure in the middle of an estate, between the seaway and the mountains. One hour from Quebec city ! A page in the history of the Cote-du-Sud region is engraved on the stone walls of this old mill. In our cozy dining room, discover the unique flavors of our extensive gourmet menu concocted with local products. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing