We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel by the Lake
Ranked #7 of 11 Ampang B&B and Inns
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

1. Dirty
2. Far from everything
3. Pillow very hard and they don't have extras for change
4. Food so so
You will regret if you stay here

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjtan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    47
    27
    28
See reviews for
28
35
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Booked this hotel for 2 nites by agoda.com due to the beautiful pictures posted and the very good rates offered. The moment i checked in to the Chalet i was disappointed 100% and cant wait to get out!!! The chalet was old, dirty, smelly until i have no words to describe. I wanted to get out immediately but the reception said there was no refund and there is nothing they can do. I told them to forget about the refund but to give us a better room. They said that their highest category was Suite and it was all taken off. Then i was down graded to a deluxe room from my chalet room due to i cant stand another moment in that chalet, Slept there for a nite only and quickly checked out the next day morning by 9.00am. Notes**did not have much sleep during the nite due to the all sorts of noise coming from the Highway along the hotel area. Bad location + bad room + bad service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CitYGal2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ampang hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed for two nights for a cousin's wedding. Decent hotel. Surprisingly spacious lobby but with limited seats! Room was a nice size, even had enough space for another single bed for triple occupancy.
Nothing fancy, just decent. But location is lousy, no near eateries. Ended up at Bistro Delifrance at their lobby or have to drive out for meals!
KLCC is 10 mins drive, so that helps a lot.
Lake is nice, a pleasant surprise in the middle of nowhere!
TIP - dont book the chalets! Too far and too quiet!

Room Tip: Dont book the chalets!! Too far and too quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalid8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Decent hotel with decent rooms. However too much traffic in the area. The lake in the hotel compound looks beautiful at night when all lights fall on it. However the lobby area could be better as the seats there are wooden and no cushion on them at all. Very strange seating too in a round room far away from the main reception desk. Buses cannot upto the hotel entrance and the carriage way is small. my rooms ac was leaking water but couldnt be looked into as housekeeping was not available. bathroom was too small and the shower area was differentiated with sliding doors from the dry area. towels were also tooo small for an adult but the view from my room ( lake view ) was really nice. breakfast was ok and the service of the restraunt was quite slow as refilling the counters took more time than usual.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeeshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

booked it for 3nights ,but had to change after 1st night.rooms hot and smelly.staff not very cooperative.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaheelaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Low lites - The toilets lack additional facilities, since there is no long baths, there should be a shower hose installed. The room where i stay has a musty smell. Housekeeping cannot be contacted after 10 pm, despite several attempts

Highlites - Price is reasonable / PR and Front Desk Customer Services Good

Security Guards - very good services and attentive

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I stay in Flamingo due to business mater around KL. The first point is that it is located at the most hectic place ever in KL. It was traffic Jam almost 24/7 even on Sunday!! Its not that far from KL city Center but the traffic makes me waste almost 1 hour on the road, and it is not worth it at all after the long tiring day for work. Plus the room is way far nicer in the website then in reality on top of that the towel were too small I can say it is more suitable for children rather to be on adult. Last but not least the employee, for the others i will say they r very welcoming until I ask one of the housekeeping staff to make up my room, he took almost 1 hour to get to my room plus he is not even smiling at all.. Seem like he don't really understand whats the meaning of hospitality. One thing i almost forgot THE BED.. I ask for the double bed yeah i do get them but with two single mattress being attached as a double bed. How crazy it can be.. For me this hotel need's to improves a lot of thing and please.... you r not even 4 star it's better to rate you with 2 star..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraninie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ampang
5.9 km away
Grand Seasons Hotel
Grand Seasons Hotel
#109 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
831 reviews
2.4 km away
Ambassador Row Hotel Suites by Lanson Place
6.0 km away
Hotel WP
Hotel WP
#60 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#52 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,175 reviews
0.5 km away
No photo provided
6.2 km away
Vistana Kuala Lumpur Titiwangsa
Vistana Kuala Lumpur Titiwangsa
#78 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel by the Lake

Property: Flamingo Hotel by the Lake
Address: 5 Tasek Ampang | Jalan Hulu Kelang, Ampang 68000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Ampang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ampang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Hotel by the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flamingo Hotel by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo By The Lake Hotel Ampang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing