We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best, but not the worst” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oasis Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oasis Surf Camp
San Fracisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best, but not the worst”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

If you are looking for some place out the way, this is the place for you. There is a cool little bar/restaurant directly across a little stream. The cabins seemed a little over priced during the off season, but still a cool place to stay. If you like to surf, this is a great little spot where you can always find a wave and room for you and your board on and off the water.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    25
    16
    12
    16
See reviews for
9
31
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Getting to Santa Catalina is a little tough, 5 hours from Panama City. The first 2+ hours is on a nice portion of the Panamerican Highway, the last on a construction site (as of Jan 2012). This turns out to be a plus, keeping a barrier up for whiny tourists.

Santa Catalina is a tiny surf/watersports village with 1.5 stores, no pharmacy, several restaurants and places to stay.

Oasis is the only spot we saw which is actually on the beach, and you have to cross a river on foot or in a 4x4 to get to it. Its got ~10 bungalows under the trees on a long and wide beach break next to a small river that comes out of the jungle. The bungalows are simple, comfortable enough for 15-20 USD/person/night. Decent beds, ceiling fans, hot water, clean sheets. At high tide, you sleep 15-20m from the break, with a steady breeze and sound of the waves coming through the windows. They also have tents available with air mattresses and clean sheets.

The family that runs the place is nice and accommodating, as long as you understand that its a surf camp, not an Intercontinental. If you get snotty, they'll politely ignore you.

The food was surprisingly good, seafood and pasta, langustina and clam spaghetti (al dente) was very good and reasonably priced. Decent breakfast too.

Since the place is remote, expect them to not have everything you want all the time. In fact, in the village, they often have nothing at all - except eggs, beer and rum. Bring what you think you will need, including medications. They have trucks that come through 1-2 times a week with fruits and vegetables, make sure to get a supply if you see something you like. The closest real store is an hour away. Otherwise, go local and eat what's in the menu for 5-10 USD per meal.

BTW, the local Abuelo rum is highly recommended. Buy it at the liquor store/bar just off the main intersection. 10usd/liter there, 7usd in the city. The locals like to get smashed in the evening, so if you need to get something done, get it done before dark.

The surf was tiny, 1-3ft. But if you are there to surf, ask around for the good spots.

The atmosphere around the camp was a little lame, everybody was too worried about impressing each other on how cool they were, how YOU are the tourist and they are somebody else. Few hellos and smiles. Maybe we were unlucky.

We made our own party, enjoyed it thoroughly.

One other place worth checking out - Rancho Estero, a bit more comfort and a bit more adult. Amazing ocean view and great owners.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archikyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Oasis in early January for two nights. It is absolutely gorgeous there. surf breaks were quite small, but ideal for beginners. The owner was very friendly and accommodating (he drove us into town to meet the bus upon departure) and the Italian cuisine was delicious enough to drown out the whining child. The only draw back was the lack of drinking water, they had small water bottles for sale. They didn't have an eco-filter to purify the tap water, and no one in town sells water. Our second day there, the bottled water delivery arrived with larger bottles, but I prefer to make less waste and they should too if their going to operate a business in a remote setting. Travelers and hotel operators have a responsibility to be green-minded and limit their footprint even if the local population doesn't.

Room Tip: we opted for no AC and used the fan instead. It saved us $10 a night and we slept great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Lost reservation, no water, no electricity, hot water burning skin from body. Restaurant had almost nothing on the menu. Allowed cars with 20 loud speakers to park next to cabanas for a few extra bucks - blasting til 4 AM. Way to expensive for the value. Felt like a hostel at $12 but priced at $55.

The Italian, the Bartoletti's I think, family running it was very rude and lazy. Happy to be out of there. Will not come back, EVER.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie45678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Catalina hotels

Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

First of all, they were supposed to pick us up in the village santa catalina. No one came and so we walked for some time and it was easy to find. The only problem was that we had to cross a river and as it was high-tide it was almost impossible to get on the other side without having something wet.
Secondly, as we came there, there was only the mother of the hostel-owner which was an elderly lady, not too amused of being there alone with us.
The first night, we were the only guests, we ordered some food at the restaurant. Prices are quite high, and the quality of the food is ok but nothing extraordinary.

To the accomodations: Most of the cabanas are right at the beach, but the dorm is behind them and annoying to reach as it has no path and therefore we had to walk through the grass. The room was wet the whole time and the shower was not working properly (cold or burning hot, no option in between).

The italian family, who is running the hostel, are lazy and I saw a lot of strange scenes. (The young kid of them spends the whole day long in front of a tv in the middle of the restaurant. A dog which was bleeding in the restaurant and no one cared, until we asked kindly to remove the blood from the floor, but no one cared about the dog, etc.)

After 2 nights we changed to the Surfer's Points, which is right across the river and had the best 7 days in Santa Catalina.

Room Tip: Not in the dorms, the other rooms are supposed to look better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

I had a love/ehhh relationship with Oasis Surf Camp. The place is absolutely beautiful! The buildings are right on the beach with gorgeous ocean and palm tree views from the porches. Everything is very clean and well maintained, and it's obvious that the owners care a lot about the property. We had plenty of room in our bungalow and the air conditioning kept it cool enough at night. We ate all of our meals at the main building, and the food was the best we had during our week in Panama. The surf lessons offered were well done and well priced. And at the end of the day, when the surfers have all disappeared, the black sand beach with its tide pools and shallow river were a delight to walk along. The only drawback is that the camp seems very much the owners’ home. It’s as if you’re staying with a distant relative – they’re eating dinner with you, the kids are watching cartoons in the morning, family dog watches you come and go. And while some might think this is charming, for me personally it meant I couldn’t relax. I was too worried about being polite and grateful, making sure the room was spotless when we left, not complaining about our bungalow’s lack of porch furniture. I could practically hear my mom saying, “be on your best behavior!” But all in all, I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Santa Catalina. The location on the beach and the quality of the food are far above the other accommodations we saw in this small town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.8 km away
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.2 km away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 24 in Santa Catalina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 km away
Mama Ines Hotel
Mama Ines Hotel
#8 of 24 in Santa Catalina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.6 km away
Coibahouse
Coibahouse
#2 of 8 in Santa Catalina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Surf Camp

Property: Oasis Surf Camp
Address: El Estero Beach | In Front of Estero Beach, Santa Catalina, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Santa Catalina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oasis Surf Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis Surf Camp located in the Estero beach, Santa Catalina province of Veraguas in Panama, is the only hotel in front of beach that provides a comfortable and relaxing family atmosphere, where you can enjoy your stay without going anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Oasis Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing