We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I watched this place get built and went back and loved it”
Review of Coconut Creek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Creek
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bogmalo
Certificate of Excellence
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“I watched this place get built and went back and loved it”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

When this place was being built I mad friends with a small boy who happened to be running the project. I went back in a couple of years and was wowed by its lovely character. And the location hidden in the grove just behind the beach.
The rooms are in separate chalets with one downstairs and one upstairs; they are tastefully decorated and sited around the pool and lazy river off of it. All the pool furniture is had made wood. No plastic here. The place has a relaxed feeling very tranquil. Not a place for families of noisy kids.
If your looking for a peaceful break then this is it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farrowp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    79
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
63
111
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Arrived at 08.30 in the Morning via the Hotels Transfer taxi which was waiting for us at the Airport 10 mins from the airport to Coconut Creek, are cases were taken to are room while we Checked in very efficient reception staff who showed us to are room and where everything was once in the very lovely ground floor A/C room its Clear why people return here Well laid out with lots of space Comfy bed on a raised platform with cool cotton sheets Sky TV well stocked mini bar and Tea and Coffee making as well a safety Box which is electronic at no extra cost, lovely Bathroom The room is made up and Cleaned every day, there are only 20 rooms set around the grounds in Bungalows upstairs don’t have A/C So the beds have Mozzie nets around them which are pulled round at night for you the service is very personal and attentive towels are provided for the Pool sunbeds which are very Comfy, the Hotel has a Security Guards at Main Gate and the Back Gate which goes to the Beach two mins walk where the Hotel also owns Joets which is a guest house which overlooks the Beach with sunbeds and Towels provided for all Guests of each it has a very good restaurant as does the Hotel both serve outstanding food Both have fantastic staff who get to know your needs Coconut Creek is a hidden a Gem the Beach is Lovely Quiet and no Hawkers here, We were there for valentines night and the Hotel did round the pool area up with Lanterns and Lights with a special themed meal on with lovely tables laid out outstanding food for the night they did put 100% in for this as they do every day all I can say is we are going back next year to enjoy again.

Room Tip: Go for Ground Floor A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bogmalobobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

It's 7 years since my last review of this wonderful place and I still stand by every word of my original review, the place, the staff, the owners, the tranquility all make this a fantastic place to stay. Until you've stayed here it's difficult to understand why so many people return year after year - Coconut Creek has a magnetic attraction. It's 5 star service without the informality that often accompanies 5 star resorts. One aspect that has certainly improved is the quality of the dining experience. New furnishings, and the return of Shigil the chef who is mentoring the attentive waiting staff , and has developed a vast array of local and international dishes on the menu (or will cook to your request if he has the ingredients) make this a fine dining experience - even the Indian wines have improved significantly - the rose was particularly quaffable.

Yes its close to the airport, but its hardly busy and you only really hear the navy jets when they take off, which lasts half a minute max, the benefit is a 10 minute transfer after a 9 hour flight. Taxi fares have risen dramatically you only have to read the Goa forum to see this is all over the state, and reflects the worldwide rise in the cost of oil.

Would I recommend this hotel? most definitely, for its ambience, friendliness, location close to the beach and its sheer beauty. Will I be going back? - yes already booked again for next year!

Room Tip: Rooms 106 to 110 and their counterparts above 206 - 210 are poolside, the lower rooms being air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scouselatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Coconut Creek... until after we paid our final bill. I will explain, but first let me go through the pros and cons.

Pros
What others say about the following is true and I don't need to repeat it: it's pretty, it's quiet, it's clean.
They picked us up from the airport for free.
It feels very safe. There are guards posted at the two entrance gates (one for the road and the other to the beach).
Breakfast was above average and included in our room rate. We did not eat any other meals there so I cannot comment on the food.
The water pressure was good and the hot water never wavered.
The service is exceptional. Extremely attentive but unobtrusive at the same time. There is one caveat, though, and it's listed at the end of my review.*

Cons
We heard some fighter jets flying overhead. It was noticeable, but it didn't particularly bother us.
The "free wifi" never actually worked while we were there which was a major inconvenience for our needs.
Reception can easily arrange taxis for you to go anywhere in Goa. This is extremely convenient, however be aware that the price is roughly 30% higher than getting a car on your own.

*Noting everything above, we truly enjoyed our three-night stay at Coconut Creek and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others... until the very end... Here's the story: upon checking out we requested their taxi to take us to our Calangute, Goa, about an hour away. The charge for this one-way journey (or two hours round-trip for the driver) was Rs. 2000 ($40 USD), Rs. 300 more than what we were charged previously for an entire day of sightseeing. We were surprised by this but with no other option paid up and left. About 30 minutes into our ride we realized we left a valuable in our room. Upon returning to Coconut Creek, the receptionist would not allow us back in the room until we paid an additional 2000 rupees to "redo" our journey. (Note: it's standard in Goa that if driving more than 80km, you are charged 20 rupees per km. Based on this scenario, we expected to pay an additional fee of about 800 rupees for our mistake.) The conversation got heated, and the driver even took our side only to be yelled at by the receptionist in front of us. What were we to do? We paid the exorbitant price and vowed to write this review.

Would I recommend it? Absolutely not. The nastiness we experienced by the receptionist, and the feeling that our valuable was being held for ransom, overshadowed the pleasantness we experienced during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

i have stayed at coconut creek three times , all in the offseason ,once for work and twice for a holiday. its very close to the airport and 5 mins from bogmalo beach. we were there once in june when the rains had just started and once in sep towards the end of the monsoon. you get super bargains (almost one third or more cheaper) during this time and the entire resort is very asthetically done. the interiors , facilities and comfort of the rooms are worth the highest praise. the bathrooms are very clean and stylish. breakfast is included in the tarrif and is decent. the staff is extremely helpful and courteous . its a beautiful place but very quiet and different from what we expect from a holiday in north goa(baga etc). so go for it if you have a relaxed quiet holiday in mind.

Room Tip: the ones on the ground floor with a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niti1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This was my first visit to India and after a hectic week touring Delhi, Jaipur and Agra, it was a pleasant change of pace when we arrived in Goa. At first, I was concerned that we'd booked somewhere in the middle of nowhere as we winded through very small villages and side roads before arriving at Coconut Creek but on arrival through the gates into the car park, I was very pleasantly surprised.

The hotel comprises about ten 2 storey villas located around a swimming pool in a palm tree oasis of calm. You can choose ground or first floor: In each case, there's a private seating area on the ground floor, in addition to the many sunbeds dotted around the pool.
The central building houses reception, a small bar and restaurant area.

The family owned hotel is well staffed by very friendly and helpful locals. Staffing was very consistent, so you can strike up a relationship with the people working there and they soon learn your tastes and preferences. All public areas and the guests' rooms are clean: They even spray each room every night to ensure none of the local small wildlife get into your room. They seem to have thought of everything.

Outings by air conditioned taxi to local attractions and cities can be arranged cheaply and easily through reception and the whole ambiance is one of making your stay as relaxing as possible.

There is no gym or spa, but massages and beauty treatments are available.

Bogmalo beach is a short 2 minute walk away as is the village with its small selection of shops and bars/restaurants. Hawkers are only notable for their rarity.
The beach also houses Joets seafront bar and restaurant, where you can take a break from the sun and enjoy a drink, snack or meal at very reasonable prices.

Joets and Coconut Creek are owned by the same people, so you can borrow towels and sun loungers for the beach at Joets if you are a resident of Coconut Creek. You can also charge drinks and meals at Joets to your Coconut Creek room account, which is very convenient: As I said, they work very hard to make your stay as relaxing as possible. Good service just seemed so effortless.

The beach is also quiet and uncrowded, with a very gently sloping beach and a tide which doesn't take the sea out very far. In combination with the resident lifeguards, this makes for very safe bathing.

There is a naval airbase nearby, so the occasional fighter plane will fly by the resort, but I suspect Bogmalo is still a lot quieter than many of the more populated party beaches which Goa is known for.

If you're looking for all night beach parties and buckets of booze, there are probably other parts of Goa better suited, but if you want a relaxing break in a friendly and safe environment, you can't go far wrong with Coconut Creek.

I would definitely recommend Coconut Creek to my friends, both couples and families.
Hope this review helps.

Room Tip: I'd always go for a ground floor room so you can just step out into your private seating area an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The Coconut Creek is an off the tourist map jewel just a 10 mins drive away from the airport.

All rooms are cottages with a nice pool right in the middle. The rooms and bathrooms ae fantastic and very comfortable. The hotel is run by the owners and the service is fantastic.

The beach is close by and Joets which is a restaurant run by the family is bang on the beach.

Great place and great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are great to just dive right in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heminbharucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bogmalo
2.1 km away
Stonewater Eco Resort
Stonewater Eco Resort
#3 of 5 in Bogmalo
129 reviews
12.4 km away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
789 reviews
2.2 km away
DEVASTHALI - the Valley of Gods
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Mariaariose - Melody of the Sea
Mariaariose - Melody of the Sea
#2 of 8 in Vasco da Gama
15 reviews
26.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,527 reviews
23.2 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Creek

Property: Coconut Creek
Address: Bimmut Ward, Bogmalo 403806, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Bogmalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bogmalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Creek - exclusive, exotic, enchanting, the idyllic and tranquil gateway. Set amidst the gently swaying palms of a lush palm grove and a meandering creek. The resort is artistically designed by Goa's leading architect, aesthetically blends with the natural surroundings and the beautifully landscaped gardens, enchanting nature's beauty and instilling a sense of peace and tranquility. The ultimate escape for a relaxing holiday like never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Creek Hotel Bogmalo
Coconut Creek India
Coconut Creek Resort
Coconut Creek Goa
Coconut Creek Bogmalo, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing