We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Mcleodganj, but not the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pride Surya Mountain Resort
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel is located in a very strategic point- close to His Holiness Dalai Lama's residence. The scenery from our room was beautiful- early morning we could see the louds envelop the miuntains.But that was the only plus point of this Hotel. Room service was terrible, the bathroom mats were grubby and were stinking, bathroom was leaking and to make matters worse we had a group of tourists next to our room who had littered the entire corridor. The room given to us was an upgraded one. Heaven help us if we had the original room! food was ordinary, so we decided to eat at outside restaurants., where we got authentic Tibetan food

Room Tip: Take the highest category of room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumita0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Pride Surya Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

Hotel Surya is excellently located in the heart of Mcleodganj chowk and accessible to all major tourist spots. it has good rooms and serve fine food and the room service is quick & hassle free. The inhouse shop has good options for shopping as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itsankush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

This hotel is fairly central and in very easy walking distance of the Dalai Lama's temple.
Rooms were clean and tidy and the shower in our bathroom was excellent which more than made up for the slightly shabby tiling.
Food and service in the restaurant was excellent and the laundry service was prompt and good value.

I particularly enjoyed the views from the main reception over the valley, especially when the cloud was low as it gave a real sensation of how high you are in Dharamsala.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

A bad hotel. Though the lobby looks like any other middle level hotel, that is where it ends. I had perhaps what is considered a suite. It was freezing cold despite a room heater (which glowed light all night long), and did not completely heat the room. There were very few plug points with some not working, and poor lighting in the room. The plan I had included breakfast, but I think it would have been wiser not to have opted for it, considering its poor quality and the possibility of eating a better meal in any of the cafes in the neighbourhood. The reception staff looked very untrained. Perhaps the only thing good was that the staff was polite. Perhaps the only things good are it is near the city centre and has a nice view.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moho_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Reception were unfriendly, breakfast buffet was very poor.
The bathroom drainage was unhygenic to say the least.
Also, on our floor there were two couples who were hanging out together in the room next to us until 5 a.m. They were extremely noisy and when informed reception, nothing was done. We're lucky that we had to stay there for just one night. We also overheard other guests at the hotel complaining about their rooms.

View and location were great but not worth staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We have just left this hotel and stayed there for 2 nights. It was part of an organised tour with a fairly upmarket travel company and I must say we would not stay there again - even if the room was given for free.

The first night was spent in a room on level 3 which has a laundry office along the echoing corridor. The night resulted in practically zero sleep, with people running up and down the corridors and making lots of noise until the early hours. In the morning we
complained to front desk who gave the impression they didn't believe us, and even got into a debate with our very good local tour leader who asked them to move us to a different room and to stop arguing with us.

The second night was spent in room 308 at the end of the same level. Whatever you do - don't stay in this one either! The kitchen is directly above it and we had to ask them to keep the noise down. The problem is, as it was a working kitchen we had to accept it would be 23:00 until it closed and the noise would stop!

The breakfast is served on plastic bowls more reminiscent of school dinners as the other reviewer said. The cornflakes also appeared and tasted strangely burnt, with definite black bits resembling burnt flakes in them.

You might find it hard to believe, but we NEVER complain about anything - this place should be avoided if you want a good nights sleep. The only upside is the fantastic views out of the windows (if you can see through them, as the first room has big run marks from birds that had left a present and hadn't been bothered to be cleaned).

I wish I could say it was just us, but many of the other tour members also found the hotel loud and unpersonal.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorer1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Excellent location in the centre of town and within short walk of the Dalai Lama's residence. Fabulous views from public rooms and bedrooms. Because of this, one should perhaps accept with good grace the very poor service and general run-down appearance of the hotel. Choice of food at breakfast was very limited. The a la carte food was good but the plastic plates were somewhat reminscent of school dinners! Leave your room key at reception when you go out or your room won't be cleaned. If you want a central location this hotel is OK, but don't expect anything more than basic rooms and below-average service.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myhusbandandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
3.0 km away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
413 reviews
0.3 km away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
695 reviews
2.6 km away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#11 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
177 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Shivani International
Hotel Shivani International
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
225 reviews
0.4 km away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#19 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pride Surya Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pride Surya Mountain Resort

Address: H.H. Dalai Lama Temple Road | Mcleodganj, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India (Formerly Surya Mcleod)
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: $103 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pride Surya Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the profound goodness of Dhauladhar Range, Pride Surya Mountain Resort offers blissful experience to its guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pride Surya Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Mcleod Hotel Mcleod Ganj
Surya Mcleod Dharamsala
Surya Mcleod Hotel Dharamsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing