We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Montes Apartments & Studios(Alykes)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astoria(Alykes)
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
120
14
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
14
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvirago barcrystal clear sealovely couplenext yearapollo restaurantbeach shoesair conon arrivalleading directlyhear the wavesdoor stepcleaned regularlyself catering holidayamazing cocktailsparadise pool barrelaxing holidayyear after year
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 141 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2017

Just back from a week relaxing at Beach House1 a true Greek S/C accommodation with the added superb beach front setting so you can lay in bed and listen to the soothing sound of the rolling waves,then on waking in the morning take breakfast on the balcony looking out on the crystal clear sea and the distant view of Kefalonia.
Yes the accommodation is basic but adequate and also spotless clean,towels changed every other day and bed linen changed once in our 7night stay.
The owners Vicky and Spiros are nice and are very helpful and a visit to The Virago Bar is a must for one of their superb cocktails all made fresh in front of you,I took a shine to the Pina Coladas.Free internet is available here when they open in the evening.
We also made use of the Paradise Pool Bar just a few yards along the beach and also walked right along the beach to Alykanas.
Thanks Vicky and Spiros for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Access to the upper floor in Beach House1 is by stairs only as no lift so if stairs a problem ask for lower floor accommodation
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rod s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachHouseViragoBar, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House I & II, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are all really glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much and visits to The Virago. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

The owners and staff are really lovely people. You cant help but be wowed by the view in Beach House 1. I found the kitchen so small and really lacked worktop space to prepare food. Although it had the all the standard utensils. I didn't like the fact that is was directly opposite the toilet which although again was clean - it really needed updating. The bins for the apartment don't fit in the kitchen area so they are placed just inside the bedroom space. The beds are very hard - so I used the extra covers provided to cover the mattress - this helped a little. The bars and restaurants are really nice although the when walking into town the rubbish that accumulates does take the shine off the area. We did some fantastic trips and reasonable prices. Well worth doing. You need beach shoes if you are going to swim outside the apartments as there are lots of large pebbles before you reach the sand.

Room Tip: Beach House 1- would prefer upstairs rooms as downstairs you feel a bit on view with sunbeds outside the balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaKCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachHouseViragoBar, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House I & II, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

It was a pleasure to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and visits to the bar. I'm sorry to hear you found the beds to be uncomfortable, the mattresses were all replaced this year in Beach House I so this is particularly disheartening to hear. Regarding the layout of Beach House I, they are standard traditional Greek studios with a one star rating and as stated in the brochure description (and here) the kitchen area is a "kitchenette" which is designed to be suitable for the preparation of small snacks and not full blown meals. These are standard size kitchenettes found in studios all over Greece of the same rating. Bigger kitchen areas are available in Beach House II, but most people are quite happy with the kitchenettes as the view from Beach House I more than makes up for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Facilities basic
View of sea wonderful but can see this view from any beach in Alykes or Alykanas
Smaller kitchen prep area than i'm used to in Zakynthos
As I'm of small stature, vanity mirror too high to use over dressing table

Room Tip: Beach house 1 has the sea views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fiskypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

Basic but good basic right on the sea front everything you would need for a holiday proper bed for our daughter NOT a put you up bed and quiet it was a lovely holiday ....... no wifi until 4pm when virago bar opens.... that has to be a bonus!!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachHouseViragoBar, Guest Relations Manager at Beach House I & II, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thanks for your review, we’re very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Beach House II so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Stayed in beach house 1. Full sea view. Very quiet at night. Loved being able to hear the waves made the holiday relaxing. Rooms basic but very clean. Air conditioning and room safe cost 50 euros for the week. Sea is approx 10 metres away. Recommend beach shoes as pebbles to the sea. Once in sea turns to sand. Free use of subbed in the small garden. Cleaners friendly and cleaned thoroughly every other day. Lovely bar close to the apartment which is run by the owners of the apartment. Nice to get a cocktail or two before evening meal or at the end of the evening. Good restaurant just across the road.

Room Tip: Beach house 1 has best sea views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachHouseViragoBar, Owner at Beach House I & II, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Thanks for your review, we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and visits to the Virago Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews