We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pothos Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pothos Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back again!”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We have stayed at the Pothos twice now and have already booked to go back in June 2012. The Pothos family are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. Yes the kitchenette is basic but for those that are used travelling to Greece this is all you would expect. The rooms have always been spotless and cleaned most days with the beds changed twice a week. The pool has plenty of sunbed round it so whatever time you decide to venture down to the pool you will always get a spot. The bar snacks served at the pool bar are excellent very good value for money and generous portions.

Alykes itself has a beautiful sandy beach and very shallow waters where you can walk out a long way and the sea will still only be waist high. In the evening Alykes has a huge choice of restaurants and bars but still retaining a village atmosphere. There are no clubs in Alykes. Our favourite restaurant is Asteria which has a lovely beachfront location and our favourite bar is the Iris Bar, after being in there for 10 minutes you feel that you have known everyone for years!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Timmy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    30
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We took time with a travel agent studying every aspect of our holiday even checked trip advisor ! What a nightmare ! Our appartment at pothos was filthy . No way could i stay there ! I asked the owner if he had another room . No . I told him i was ringing the rep . We had to pay to move not happy ! He wasnt interested and didnt try to help us .
The cooker was covered in grease and dirt . The floor was dirty numerous damp patches were on the walls as well as dirty marks . Fixtures and fittings were old shabby and dirty . The bathroom ceiling was mouldy suite marked and old floor mouldy and dirty . The final straw was urine in the toilet !!! The cleaners i pressume !! How can anybody expect people to pay to stay in a filthy hovel like that . It was digusting !!
This wasnt a cheap holiday i dont want anyone else to pay to go to this filty hell hole !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daren n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Looking for a cheap holiday for my husband, son and myself, I found these apartments and read the reviews as i always do, I was pleasantly surprised how good most of the write-ups on the Pothos were so decided to book, We never expect luxury when we book a cheap basic getaway, but we do expect cleanliness. On arrival we had a quick drink in the bar where dimitri introduced himself to us, after chatting to him for half hour, we was showed to our room, to say i coulda cried was an understatment, the bathroom was filthy and hadn't been cleaned the floor was soaked with a puddle in the middle, the other floors were sticky and hadnt been moped and the worktop had what i can only describe as fried egg yolk stains all over it, there was 1 bed made and some tiles had come away from the floor, we had 1 towel 1 plate 1 fork 1 cup 1 of everything so i spent the next hour running up and down 40 steps collecting things. we had only took cash with us but if i had my credit cards i woulda been outa there like a shot ! no, i didnt complain for the simple fact dimitri had told us during our chat they were fully booked so we would not of got moved regardless and after being up since 2am all my son wanted to do was sleep. in 2 weeks we see the cleaner 3 times and looking at the state of her mop i realized why the floors where so dirty !. our beds were changed twice in 2 weeks which was no fun in 35* heat. we had 1 towel each per week so i spent most of my times with "their" towels in hot boiled water with soap powder scrubbing them. we see many folk come and go in the 2 wks and most of them were returners friends of the management or ex pats that were quite clicky with dimitri and helen, ....
( hmmm no wonder the reviews are so good ) but saying that dimitri was always nice always said hello and always called us by our names, unlike his wife that didn't even ask or know our names and kept calling me sweetheart everytime she passed me. i have never prayed for time to pass so quickly just to get out of there, i was counting down the days to come home, and when i did first thing i did was booked a week away with my son to the canaries for a week. if you insist on going the this dump refuse to stay in number 19. ok the good points, the pool was clean and warm and the beer was cold, beautiful beach and the best restaurant is the ponderosa or the paradise pizzeria.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

just came back from holiday after staying at pothos apts in zante we booked after reading comments on previous webpages and must say what a great place to go,family who run it can,t do enough to make your stay special,kichenette was basic with just a two ring burner to cook on i asked for a toaster which they got us straight away[made life a lot easier]bathroom is tight especially with children and no shower curtain but manage you do,beds and pillows were comfortable with sheets and towels changed twice weekly[towels more if you ask]rooms have a stunning view from the balcony of the mountains,pool is very clean with plenty of sunbeds in the sun or shade if to hot,pool bar makes very tasty snacks at affordable prices,alykes itself has a lovely sandy beach which is great for young children as they can walk quite far out and is still shallow,alykes centre has lots of great resturants and bars offering top quality food at very good prices,for us the best way to get around was to walk everywhere the views from around alykes are stunning and seeing how they live and play is great.we will be there again.

Room Tip: mountain views all around,air con can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12345mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is our 2nd time at the Pothos, first was about 4 yrs ago and we promised to go back as we loved it and with so many other places to see in the world it took us a while, and we are still hoping for another visit! The warm welcome from Helen, Dimitri and Dennis was perfect, we love them all! Appartments are basic, which is quite standard for Greece but we only slept in them so it was fine. There is a kettle and basic utility stuff like cutlery and mugs, glasses, small portable hob with two rings and thats it really. Large fridge is great and also has freezer compartment for ice making and does have one ice tray - however we always take some ice cube bags with us. You will also need to remember hand soap, fariy liquid, tea towels, dish cloths as none of this is provided. We also always take a sharp knife wrapped up in a tea towel in our suitcase for cutting and peeling fruit as its a nightmare with a regular dinner knife! Air conditioning is extra - 7 euros per night and you do really need it in August, altho we just had it on to cool the room when we went to bed and would turn it off during the night as it can get chilly! There are safe boxes in the room which i think is 10 euros per week. To be honest you feel so safe there (pardon pun) and we have never used it but option is available if you want it.

The beach is beautiful with clear water and fabulous beach tavernas - favourites were the Palm Tree for their amazing Club Sandwiches and Antolikos which I call my Shirley Valentine Taverna - for their salads.

The resort is still very traditional with family run tavernas and bars with a family appeal. No discos or anything like that so not ideal for the '18-30' fraternity - Laganas is for them!

Favourite restaurants Ponderosa, Paradise and Ambrosia. You can go on line and print lots vouchers for discounts for places in Alykes and free wine which were passed to us by other guests and they are very useful! They even give you them back to use another night! The Ponderosa gave us a large carafe of wine worth 6.50 euros with a presented voucher and the meal was fab too!

For 2 adults and one 15 year old we paid around 20 euros for lunch and anything between 25 and 40 euros for dinner, which we thought was very reasonable. This was usually only one starter, 3 dinners and a few drinks in the evening. If we ordered anything more we just couldnt eat it all!

The resort is so lovely, Pothos is about 10 min walk across the salt flats to the beach, which are not very attractive but other surroundings more than make up for it, the main part with all the restaurants etc is about the same distance. Paradise is the closest taverna to Pothos.

Several nights we stayed up till 2 or 3am chatting to other guests, as its small place you do get to know everybody which is lovely, and for us this year even met people who were there at the same time as us 4 yrs ago. Pothos gets lots of returning guests year after year. We ddnt bother with transfers as cheaper to get a taxi - fare is around 28 euros each way and takes about 20 minutes.

If you want water sports you will need to walk about 10 minutes up the beach to the next resort in Alykanas where Pedalos are 10 euros for half hour, and there are ringos, flying fish and banana boats.

We have travelled alot and this is still our favourite chill out/relaxing place!

Happy holidays!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Very easy to see why people go to Pothos year after year. Welcomed back like old friends by Helen, Dimitris and Dennis, Still basic clean apartments yet still there are silly people who expect things to be just like home with dish washers etc, they will be disappointed. The real Greek holiday makers like me go back and keep on going back. We love it and just wish that a few more people would meet up in the Pool bar in the evenings, it doesn't hurt to be sociable and the rewards last a lifetime. September when I go back cant come soon enough for me.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NigelGill98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

wonderful atmosphere generated by Helen and Dimitri during the evening and Dennis during the day. Basic apartments but very clean and well cared for..I have been twice and plan to go again in September. The welcome is just so genuine and as long as you want to be friendly you could ask for no better place

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rayhood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
0.0 km away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
385 reviews
0.0 km away
La Sirena Apartments
La Sirena Apartments
#13 of 29 in Argassi
100 reviews
0.0 km away
Panorama Studios Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Montes Apartments & Studios
0.0 km away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 27 in Alykes
391 reviews
0.0 km away
Clio Hotel
Clio Hotel
#1 of 6 in Alykes
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pothos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pothos Apartments

Property: Pothos Apartments
Address: Alykes, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Alykes
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pothos Apartments Hotel Alykes
Pothos Apartments Alykes, Greece - Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing